Greene County, Arkansas

House of Representatives From Greene County 
and other Arkansas Representatives

Arkansas State Council of Defense (1917-19)


The Council coordinated war mobilization in the State of Arkansas. 

Included in the photograph are First Row (left to right): Charles E. Taylor, Mayor of Little Rock 1911-1919; Junius Marion Futrell, Governor of Arkansas 1932-1936 (Paragould); Wallace Townsend, Lawyer (Little Rock); Mrs. Joseph (Ida B.) Frauenthal (Conway); Governor Charles Brough; Adjunct-General Lloyd England (Chairman, Little Rock); John R. Gibbons, Superintendent of the Bauxite mines (Bauxite); J. R. Vinson, Businessman (Little Rock); Moorhead Wright, Businessman and banker (Little Rock); and Harvey Couch, President of Arkansas Light & Power Company (Pine Bluff). 

Second Row: Judge Jacob Trieber (Little Rock); Dr. Charles Willis Garrison, Appointed State Health Officer of Arkansas in 1914 (Little Rock); James L. Bond, Educator (Little Rock); W. G. Brasher (Little Rock); Edwin Thomas Reaves, Businessman (Little Rock); Harmon L. Remmel, Businessman and educator, Arkansas House of Representatives 1887-1888 (Little Rock); Fred Heiskell, newspaperman and private secretary (Little Rock); Frank Pace, Lawyer (Little Rock); and J. W. Dean, General superintendent of the Southern District Railroad (Little Rock).

Third Row: W. B. Sprague (Little Rock); John Clinton Futrall, Ninth president of the University of Arkansas (Fayetteville); John H. Page, Newspaper editor (Little Rock); Joseph W. House, Jr., (Little Rock); W. L. Hemingway, Banker (Little Rock); and Charles L. Thompson, Architect (Little Rock); C. C. Calvert, Arkansas House of Representatives in 1911-12 (Fort Smith); and Ashbel Webster Dobyns, lawyer and educator (Little Rock); Fourth Row: Durand Whipple (Little Rock); J. S. Speed (Little Rock); Dr. Frank Vinsonhaler, Ophthalmologist (Little Rock); R. B. Keating, Banker (Little Rock); W. C. Ribenack (Little Rock); Clio Harper, Newspaper reporter and editor (Little Rock); and C. W. Watson, State Agent of US Dept. of Agriculture Farmers' Co-operative Demonstration Work for Arkansas (Little Rock), and Hamp Williams, Businessman (Hot Springs).


W. A. (William Andrews) Branch was a member of the Arkansas House of Representatives from Greene County. This photograph was taken in 1956 for the composite photograph of the Sixty-First General Assembly, 1957.


R. E. (Rufus Ellis) McMillon was a member of the Arkansas House of Representatives from Greene County. This photograph was taken in 1941 for the composite photograph of the Fifty-Third General Assembly, 1941.


Return to Court Records

Return To Greene County, Arkansas Index Page