Greene County, Arkansas

The Daily Press

August 23, 1947

Transcribed by: Sandy Hardin

Schools Plan To Enforce Attendance

New State Law Requires A Minimum Attendance Of 150 Days During Year 

Most of the larger school districts in Greene County are planning to enforce the new compulsory school attendance law passed by the last session of the Legislature. The law requires a minimum of 150 days  of all children who haven't completed the eighth and are between the ages of seven and 15 years inclusive. The old law requires a minimum attendance of 100 days. All students must enter school within two weeks from the opening date. Each day of absence is a separate offence and is punishable by a fine of not more than $10.

Return To Greene County, Arkansas Newspapers

Return To Greene County, Arkansas Index Page

Return to the Greene County, Arkansas Daily Press