Jacob S. Allison, a farmer and stock raiser whom Lawrence County can feel proud to claim as a citizen, was born in Burke County, N. C., November 12, 1837. He is a son of Bird and Elizabeth (Davis) Allison, of the same State. The elder Allison was a farmer in North Carolina, until the year 1859, when he moved to Cocke County, Tenn., and from there to Alabama, where he now resides with his wife, very near the age of one hundred years. Jacob remained with his parents in North Carolina, until he grew to manhood, and then started in life on his own account. In 1861 he enlisted in the Twenty-second North Carolina Infantry, and served in that company until the close of the war. He took part in the battles around Richmond, at Manassas, Chancellorsville, the seven days' battle, in the Wilderness, the fights and siege at Petersburg, Cedar Creek, and others, besides twenty or more skirmishes. He was wounded twice, through the shoulder, at Shepherdstown, by rifle balls, and had one finger shot off. His service for the cause was brilliant, and there are few that are superior. After receiving his discharge he returned to the State of Tennessee, where he remained up to 1871, when he moved to Arkansas and located at Clover Bend. He first bought some land near Stranger's Home, and has since then added to it on different occasions, until now he owns about 1,400 acres of rich bottom land, with about 200 acres under cultivation. He has ten houses altogether on his land, eight of them being on the home farm. When Mr. Allison first came to Lawrence County, all he possessed was $90 cash, and two beds, and was in debt to the extent of $100, which he has since paid. He now owns a fine farm, and is considered to be one of the most substantial men in Lawrence County. He was married, in 1869, to Miss Sallie Storey, of Tennessee, a daughter of William Storey, and has had seven children by his marriage: William, Clara, Rose, Pearl, Lizzie, Robert Lee and Zola. Mr. Allison is a Master Mason, and he and Mrs. Allison are both members of the Eastern Star Chapter.
Sidney W. Andrews, of Sexton & Andrews, druggists, was born in Jefferson County, Ill., January 12, 1855, and is a son of Seymour Andrews and Martha C. (Hendrickson) Andrews, now residing in Centralia, Ill. The parents had ten children born to them, five of whom are still living, S. W. Andrews being the only one in Arkansas, however. Mr. Andrews was reared in Centralia, and received a common school education. In the year 1871 he learned telegraphy, in Centralia, Ill., and accepted a situation as telegraph operator at Georgetown, Ill. Soon thereafter he emigrated to Arkansas, and in 1874 entered the employ of the St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railway Company as agent and operator at Bradford, remaining in their service at Bradford and Walnut Ridge until January, 1887, when he formed a partnership with Joseph K. Sexton in the drug trade, and has had fair success. He is a Mason, and a member of the Knights and Ladies of Honor, also of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and is treasurer of the town. He was united in wedlock to Mrs. Belle E. (Raney) Matthews, May [p.772] 3, 1883, and has had two children: Sidney Mills, born March 7, 1884, died with whooping cough August 16, 1884; Alonzo Bertrand, born October 29, 1885, died with membranous croup August 24, 1889. His wife is also a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
Joseph Bagley (deceased) was born in Bedford, Penn., February 23, 1802, and is the son of Samuel Bagley, a native of Scotland (who came to the State of Pennsylvania at a very early day), and Martha (Bentle) Bagley. He was reared in the neighborhood of Bedford, or Bedford Springs, Penn., and in his younger days drove a hack, and did considerable freighting between Philadelphia and the above-named places. When between the age of twenty-one and twenty-two he enlisted in the United States regular army for five years, and, on one occasion, was sent with his company up the Missouri River, as far as the mouth of the Yellowstone. After his five years' service was up he was discharged from the army, at Jefferson Barracks, and came to Illinois, where he resided one year. From there he traveled down the Mississippi to Jacksonport, Ark., about the year 1829 or 1830, and was there married to Miss Annie Gibson, of Lawrence County, daughter of Jacob Gibson. Within a short time after his marriage he moved to this section, and commenced farming, until his death, April 6, 1872, at the age of seventy years. His grave is on Col. Ponder's farm, at Old Walnut Ridge. He was among the early settlers of this section, and lived, until his death, about five miles northwest of Walnut Ridge. He and wife were the parents of nine children, only two of whom are yet living, Lavira, the wife of Thomas C. Hennessee, and Isam J., both residents of Campbell Township. Isam J. was reared on the homestead farm, and was born December 18, 1847. He led a placid life on the farm, with nothing eventful occurring to disturb the serenity of his existence until March, 1864, when he enlisted in Company F, Thirteenth Missouri Cavalry, and was a gallant soldier through the remainder of the war. He was married to Miss Elizabeth Salling, of Crawford County, Ark., and out of nine children has five still living: Estella, Charles, John, Alfred and Edward. Mr. Bagley first rented his land for three or four years, near Walnut Ridge, and then bought 120 acres north of that town. Since then he has added to it, and now owns 460 acres. He also operates a cotton gin upon the farm, and deals very largely in stock. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and in polities a Democrat, holding the office of justice of the peace for one term.
William W. Baley, farmer and cotton ginner, was born in McNairy County, Tenn., in the year 1835. His parents were Benjamin and Nancy (Holman) Baley, of North Carolina, who had settled in Tennessee with their parents when children. Later in life they married and moved to Henderson County, remaining there until the war commenced, when they transferred their home to Ballard County, Ky., where the father died in 1867, at the age of seventy-four years. After his death the mother came to Arkansas with one of her sons and a daughter, and settled in Searcy County, where she died in 1870, aged sixty-eight years. She was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, in which she had been an earnest worker all her life. Mr. Baley is the oldest of five children yet living. Seven were born to his parents, but two of them have died. He was reared in Tennessee, and commenced farming for himself in Henderson County in the year 1855, where he remained until 1862, when the call to arms was issued, and on June 17 of that year he enlisted in Company K, of the Seventh Kansas Cavalry, and served three years and two months. He was in the foremost ranks of every battle in which the Seventh Kansas was engaged, and can recount some of the narrowest escapes a soldier ever had in time of war. Twenty-eight different times he was shot through the clothes he wore, the bullets not even scratching his skin, and on four occasions had the horse he rode shot from under him. His service through the war was honorable and brave, and the lustre of his valor can never be tarnished by time. He received his discharge from the army in November, 1864, at St. Louis, Mo., and joined his family in Kentucky. Five years later he moved to Thomasville, Mo., and from thence to Arkansas, coming here in 1870, and locating on Big Creek, in this county. He came to his present [p.773] home in 1872, which, at that time, was but very little improved. Since then a great change has taken place in the condition of the land. He owns 160 acres, 125 acres of which are under cultivation. He also has a cotton-gin set up on his place and in 1888 ginned 312 bales of cotton. Mr. Baley's wife was formerly Miss Jane C. Wadey, of Tennessee, born in 1829. They have a family of four children living: Richard M., Mary E., John G., Robert L. Mary E. is the wife of William B. Doyle, and the others are all married except the youngest. They have lost two children–Sarah Ann and Jeanette E. Mr. Baley and wife are members of the Christian Church, and the former of Dry Creek Masonic Lodge No. 453. In politics he is a Republican.
William J. Ball, retired merchant and farmer, was born near Murfreesboro, Rutherford County, Tenn., September 13, 1825. He is a son of W. T. Ball, an Englishman, and a native of Worcestershire, whose histories and adventures would fill a volume. The elder Ball was a soldier in the English army, and fought under the famous Wellington. He took part in seven battles against the great Napoleon, and fought under Blucher on the memorable field of Waterloo. He was a member of the British army at the battle of New Orleans, but the principles of liberty were so strongly instilled in his mind that he found it impossible to fight against them, and deserted the ranks to join the younger nation in its struggle against the mother country. After the war had ended, he came to the State of Tennessee and settled in Rutherford County, where he was married to Miss Jane Jordan, a native of that State, whose father was one of its pioneers. He resided in Rutherford County, one mile from Murfreesboro, up to the year 1835, when he moved to Bradley's Creek, of the same county, and lived there till 1851, then selling out and moving to Gibson County, where he lived until 1867. He then moved back to Rutherford County, where he died in 1873. W. J. Ball remained with his father in Rutherford County until his eighteenth year, and then received the contract for carrying the mails by stage coach through that section until the fall of 1858. He then moved to Lawrence County, Ark., and bought a farm in Spring River Township for farming purposes, but shortly afterward entered into business at Powhatan, and was a dealer in general merchandise up to the time of war, and during that period had charge of a distillery, on Martin's Creek, for the government. In January, 1866, he moved to Gibson County, Tenn., more for the purpose of giving his children the advantages of a good schooling than anything else, but while there, engaged in the general merchandise business. At the expiration of a year he returned to Lawrence County, and settled upon the place he now occupies, and began selling goods. He had been an active business man up to the year 1886, when he turned the business over to his son, who continues at it with the same enterprise that characterized his father. In 1868 Mr. Ball was appointed postmaster at Opposition, and still has charge of the office. He owns 320 acres of land on his home place, with about 180 acres cleared, and has eighty acres in clover and meadow, and about 100 acres under cultivation. Mr. Ball was married on September 13, 1846, to Miss Mary Crouse, of Rutherford County, Tenn., a daughter of Harmon G. Crouse. There are five children living by this marriage: George W., Samuel H., Joseph, now carrying on the business here; Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Hallowell; Hattie, wife of F. M. Graves, and William T. and John, who are deceased, the former in 1882 and the latter in 1889. Mr. Ball and his family are all members of the Christian Church, of which he is clerk, and he is also a Royal Arch Mason.
Sam. H. Ball, a prominent merchant of Ravenden, Lawrence County, was born in Rutherford County, Tenn., in November, 1850, and is a son of William J. Ball, whose adventurous career has been portrayed in the sketch preceding this. Mr, Ball remained with his father in his store until he reached his twenty-eighth year. He then established a store for himself in 1879, at Opposition, Ark., and carried on a profitable business up to the year 1882. In 1883 he moved to Ravenden, built a magnificent residence and a large, commodious store, and put in a large stock of merchandise, where he has been holding forth [p.774] ever since. His store is two stories in height, the upper story being devoted to furniture, under-takers' goods, clothing, etc.; the lower, dry goods, boots and shoes, groceries and general plantation supplies. He handles both cotton and stock to a great extent, and altogether does a business of $35,000 to $40,000 annually. He is also interested in a large cotton-gin, and besides owns two large farms, situated on Spring River, one in Lawrence and the other in Randolph County, being a farmer as well as a successful merchant. The third business house opened in Ravenden, after the location of the Kansas City, Springfield & Memphis Railroad, was by Mr. Ball, and he is the leading man of the place. In November, 1878, he was married to Mrs. Margaret Williford, of Randolph County, a charming widow. Since then five children have been added to the family: Cleo, Luther, Marvin, Ernest and Lillian. Both Mr. and Mrs. Ball are consistent members of the Christian Church. The former is a Democrat politically, a Mason and a member of Ravenden Lodge No. 451, of which he is Junior Warden.
Joseph M. Barlow, farmer and stock raiser, came from Illinois to the State of Arkansas in the fall of 1879. His occupation on his arrival was simply farming until the year 1888, when he moved to his present place, known as the Cross Roads farm, which consists of 342 acres of land, with about 140 acres under cultivation, and now has a good frame residence, a cotton-gin, gristmill and blacksmith shop, besides his interests in stock raising. Mr. Barlow also owns a farm near by, which he rents out. This place consists of 120 acres, of which forty acres are under cultivation, and contains a fine orchard of about 100 peach and apple trees, besides a great number of small fruits. There are also a good frame and a log house on the land, which is situated one mile southeast of Portia. Mr. Barlow is a son of John and Sinah (Finley) Barlow, of Illinois, and was born in Montgomery County, Ill., July 14, 1841. His father died while still a young man, in 1854, and he remained with his mother until his nineteenth year, when he married and commenced farming on his own account. In the spring of 1861 he enlisted in the army and served until expiration of enlistment, and in July, 1862, he once more enlisted, in the Third Illinois Cavalry, and was discharged shortly afterward on account of general disability contracted in service. In June, 1864, he entered the army again for the third time, and served until he was mustered out, October 19, 1865. Mr. Barlow first entered the ranks as a private, but soon afterward was promoted to be a sergeant, and his record through the war is one that can be placed among the best of that period. He took part in the battles at Haines' Bluff, Arkansas Post, and a hot scrimmage at Memphis, in 1865. He was also in the campaign against Hood at Nashville and in the fight at that place. Mr. Barlow was married, November 17, 1859, to Miss Catherine Chapman, of Montgomery County, Ill., who died in that locality in 1868. The children by this wife are Dora A., wife of John Davenport, and a son, who lived until his seventeenth year. He was again married on February 18, 1869, to Mrs. Nancy L. Klutts, a widow lady, of Montgomery County, and this union has given them two children: Sinah J. and Clara E. Mr. and Mrs. Barlow are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which the former is district steward, and Mr. Barlow is a member of G. A. R., Lawrence Post No. 8, and is adjutant of that post. He is also a Master Mason and senior deacon of his lodge, and belongs to the Knights of Honor. In politics he is a Republican, and was elected justice of the peace for his township, and at the expiration of his term was elected county coroner. At the end of that term he was nominated for county and probate judge by the Wheel, and endorsed by the Republicans, as the latter made no nominations. Mr. Barlow has adopted Arkansas as his future residence, and expects to live and die in Lawrence County.
Clark S. Beach, an extensive stock raiser, farmer and fruit grower, of Lawrence County, was born in Wayne County, Mich., on March 27, 1843. His parents were Arctus and Esther (Gibbs) Beach, of New York State, who moved to Michigan about the year 1840, and settled at Detroit, where the elder Beach's occupation was farming and dealing in stock. He remained at that place for twelve [p.775] years, and then moved to St. Clair County, where he continued his previous occupation and also kept a hotel. His death occurred at the latter place in 1886, leaving a name that was widely known and highly respected. C. S. Beach grew to manhood in Wayne and St. Clair Counties, and remained with his father until he had reached his twenty first year. April 8, 1865, he enlisted in the Eighth Michigan Cavalry, and served until the close of the war, taking a brave part in many engagements and small skirmishes. He was mustered out September 22, 1865, after the South had been conquered and returned home and rented his father's farm for eight years in St. Clair County. He then bought a farm in that county, and went to work upon it, and, after several years' labor, with fair success, he sold out and moved to Arkansas, locating in Lawrence County. He bought the land upon which he now resides, in 1880, which consisted of 200 acres, unimproved, and at the present time has seventy five acres cleared and under cultivation. The land has a comfortable house upon it, with out-buildings and all conveniences, and a fine orchard of about 600 trees of different varieties. Mr. Beach was married in St. Clair County, Mich., April 4, 1871, to Miss Hannah M. Shears, a Canadian lady, and they now have six children: Sarah Esther, Mark A., Henry H., Emma L., Mary A. and Eva E. Mrs. Beach is a member of the Seven Day Adventist Church, and Mr. Beach belongs to Aurora Lodge No. 423, A. F. & A. M., at Walnut Ridge, being a Master Mason.
George B. Borah is a minister of the Gospel, who has followed in the footsteps of his father Chesterfield G. Borah, a physician of note and a minister. Mr. Borah's father was born in Caldwell County, Ky., in 1814, and by his earnest endeavors in that direction was made a professor of religion when quite a young man. He found a faithful partner in the person of Miss Samarimus Perkins, also a native of his State, a young lady well fitted to assist him in his chosen field of labor. In 1845 Mr. Borah and his wife, seeking new pastures for their work, came to Arkansas and settled on Reed's Creek, in Lawrence County. He preached the Gospel and practiced medicine until death ended his labors in March, 1863. He was a prominent man in his time and one who took an active part in the affairs of his county. His wife still survives him and makes her home with her son, George B. Borah, the eldest of six children, of whom two only lived to the age of maturity, the other being Samarimus A., now the wife of N. E. Judkins. When George B. Borah arrived at the age of manhood he enrolled himself in the ranks of the Confederate army under Gen. Price, and took part in the raids through Missouri and Kansas. During a lull in the war he was given a sixty days' furlough to go home, and afterward went to Jacksonport, where he surrendered June 5, 1865. He adopted the profession of religion in 1874, and was ordained to preach in 1876. Since then he has had charge of four churches, besides assisting at others whenever his services were called upon, and has been an indefatigable worker. His efforts have been appreciated, and he is now recognized as one of the ablest ministers in that county, and is beloved by all with whom he comes in contact. He was married in 1866 to Miss Melissa Wayland, a daughter of Sisco Wayland, one of the pioneers of Arkansas, and nine children have blessed their union. Six of them are living: Willie L., John N., Joseph H., Richard P., Florence and Mary Ethel. Those deceased are Samarimus M., Josaphine and Milton A. Mrs. Borah is a valuable assistant to her husband in church work, and a lady whose Christian influence is manifested in many ways. Mr. Borah is a member of the A. F. & A. M. He is the owner of eighty five acres of land under cultivation, besides considerable unimproved lands in other sections.
George W. Brady, merchant and postmaster, of Smithville, is a son of Jeremiah Brady, of North Carolina, who came to Arkansas in his childhood, with his father, James W. Brady, one of the pioneers of Lawrence County. Jeremiah Brady was reared and grew to manhood in this county, where he was also married to Miss Nancy McCarrell, a native of the same place, and where their son, George W., was born, October 3, 1853. Mr. Brady, the father, was a farmer and blacksmith, [p.776] and resided here until the war, when, fired with a desire to battle for the cause of the Confederacy, he left the peace and quiet of his family for the turmoil and dangers of war. He died at Mulberry. berry, Ark., and previous to his death his faithful wife had passed away, thus leaving George bereft of both parents in quick succession. George W. Brady received a good common school education in his youth, and, after his school-days were over, entered into commercial life at Smithville, for two years. He next made a trip to Texas, in 1876, and remained about eighteen months in the Lone Star State. On his return to Smithville he again occupied a position in one of the business houses. and in 1878, after obtaining a thorough knowledge of commercial affairs, he established a business of his own, which. by his enterprise and fair dealings. has won for him a large patronage. Previous to 1885 Mr. Brady had been appointed deputy postmaster, but in that year he received his appointment as postmaster, and has held the office since then. He was married September 7, 1879, to Miss Lee L. Raney, a daughter of Morgan Raney, of Lawrence County, and by this marriage has had two children: J. Clarence and Claud Carter.
George W. Bridges is a son of John and Jane T. Bridges, the former of whom was a native of Missouri, and his mother a Virginian. He was born in that portion of Lawrence County, now known as Randolph, in 1856. His parents settled in Arkansas when they were children, about the year 1829, and were married when they reached the age of maturity. They have always made Lawrence County their home, where the father died in 1858, at the age of thirty eight years, with the proud consciousness of having performed his duty to his country, having been a survivor of the Mexican War, through which he served with the eulogium of his commanding officers upon his bravery. The mother contracted a second marriage with William Ferguson (now deceased), and had one child by her second husband, who was a captain in the Confederate army. Mr. Ferguson died in June, 1865, shortly after he returned home from the war. Mr. Bridges is the third child of his parents, and was reared in Randolph and Sharp Counties, returning to the former in 1869, where he remained until February 28, 1888, and then moved to his present place of abode. He has upward of 100 acres of land under cultivation, and has also turned his attention to cotton planting. He was married to Miss Bettie A. Glenn, in 1879, a young lady of Ballard County, Ky. They have had six children, one of them deceased. Those living are: Charlie Emma, Mamie Ann, Sallie H., Andrew O. and George William. Mr. Bridges is a member of the A. F. & A. M., of Ravenden, and is a popular resident of Lawrence County. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
Thomas F. Buchanan, an enterprising farmer and stock raiser, of Spring River Township, was born in Lawrence County, Ark., November 14, 1854. He is the son of Thomas, and Eliza (Welthy) Buchanan, of Missouri, who moved to Arkansas after their marriage and settled in Lawrence County, where the older Buchanan died in 1854, in the prime and vigor of his manhood. Thomas F. remained with his mother until he had attained his maturity, and then commenced to take his own part in the world. He has been farming the greater portion of his life, and the experience gained during that time has made him one of the best farmers in his county. When still a young man, he visited the city of Memphis, Tenn., with a view of making it his future home, but after a residence of fourteen months, he decided to come back to Lawrence Country, and has remained here ever since. On August 20, 1876, he was married to Miss Sarah Huffman, daughter of John Huffman, and two years after his marriage he bought the tract of land upon which he now resides, and commenced cultivating the soil. He now owns 120 acres, with about thirty five acres cleared, and has built a large double house upon it, besides giving his attention to a small but wells elected orchard of two acres, with several different varieties ties of fruit. Mr. Buchanan and his wife have four daughters: Effie, Ruby, Ella and Orlans, and all four of the girls are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. He takes great interest in education and is a member of the school board.
Benjamin R. Bush, farmer and stock raiser, of Lawrence County, was born in Wilson County, Tenn., February 19, 1838. His parents were S. L. and Elizabeth (Tate) Bush, of the same State, who im migrated to Arkansas in 1840, and settled in Lawrence County, where the father practiced medicine up to the time of his death, about the year 1852. He reared a family of three sons and one daughter, all of whom lived until their maturity. Benjamin R. remained with his mother until his twentieth year, when he married and purchased a farm of his own. His bride was Miss Mary Orr, a young lady who was reared in this county, who proved a useful helpmate and faithful wife. Mr. Bush farmed on his land for several years, and then bought more and added to it from time to time, until he now owns about 400 acres of the best land in Arkansas, with 150 acres cleared, and all of it situated four miles west of Minturn. There is a good residence, two barns, two cribs, and all other necessaries upon the land, besides a fine orchard of three acres, with peach and apple trees. He had almost nothing he could call his own when he first started in life, and has accumulated his fine property by shrewdness, good judgment and industry, and has set a worthy example for others to follow. In 1862 he enlisted in Col. Lindsay's company (afterward Col. Baber's), and served one year. He then joined Col. Reeves' regiment, and remained with it until the close of the war, when he surrendered, and was paroled June 5, 1865, at Jackson port. He took part in the engagements at Cane Hill, Ark., and Price's raids through Missouri, also the fight at Pilot Knob, besides numerous other sharp encounters, bearing himself in a soldierly manner through the entire campaign. Mr. Bush lost his first wife in 1880, and afterward married Miss Ellen Guthry. Five children were born to him by his first wife: Joseph W., George R., Sanford, Charles, and Mary Elizabeth, wife of William McClure; also two children by his second wife, whose names are Clarence and Katie. Both parents are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Bush is a member of the K. of H. and the Agricultural Wheel.
M. V. Camp, physician and surgeon of Walnut Ridge, has been a resident of Northeast Arkansas for the past twenty-one years. He was born in Bibb County, Ala, June 11, 1836, and is the son of James Camp, of South Carolina, who was one of the first to manufacture the ore into wire in the iron furnaces of Birmingham, Ala. He was married to Miss Mary Looney, of South Carolina, who died in Mississippi about the year 1870, aged eighty years. Eight girls and four boys were born to them, four of them still living. Martin Van Buren Camp was the youngest of this large family, and was reared on a farm. He had been given a liberal education at the city of Birmingham, principally at “Old Elyton,” and was the leader in Greek and Latin in his class. After his college days were over he embarked in the newspaper business at Butler, Choctaw County, Ala., and bought the plant of the Southern Democrat. This paper he edited from 1837 to 1860, and his ability pushed it to the first place among the newspapers of Alabama. It was the second paper in that State to advocate secession, and the Doctor still has copies of his first literary effort in his library at home. In 1861 he enlisted in Capt. Maner's regiment, and was created a sergeant (Mississippi troops) and then under Col. (afterwards Maj.-Gen.) Lowry, with whom he served three months. He afterward organized a company of volunteers, with Dr. R. B. Stephens, of Tupelo, Miss., of which he was captain, while Dr. Stephens was made surgeon. The company formed part of Col. W. M. Inges' Twelfth Regiment Mississippi Cavalry, in Gen. S. W. Ferguson's brigade, and did excellent service all through the war. Dr. Camp came to Jonesboro, Ark., after they had disbanded, and was engaged in teaching school in Craighead County. He then attended a course of lectures at the University of Louisville, and when through moved to Gainesville, where he practiced for fourteen years. In 1885 he located in Walnut Ridge, where he has succeeded in building up a fair practice. He has no desire to accumulate a large amount of property, but believes in giving his children a good education under his own supervision, so that his money will be judiciously expended. The Doctor is a member of the Masonic and Odd Fellows' fraternities, and of [p.778] the Cross Roads Baptist Church, near Portia. He is a Democrat in polities, but has never held any public office excepting that of county examiner of public instruction, in Greene County. He was married May 2, 1860, in Sumter County, Ala., to Miss Sarah C. Sheid. of that State, a daughter of Jesse G. Sheid. Her parents had three girls and two boys born to them. one of them deceased. Those living are Lizzie I., the wife of Rev. James F. Jernigan, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and residing in Walnut Ridge; James Sheid, now studying medicine with his father; Mary Ann, who graduated in June, 1880, from the Bellevue Collegiate Institute, of Caledonia, Mo., and Alice E., at home. Mrs. Camp's mother died July 17, 1888, aged fifty-one years. She was a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and came from what is known throughout South Carolina as the “Old Horseshoe Robinson Stock.”
John N. Campbell, treasurer of Lawrence County, Ark., is a native of Cumberland County, N. C., where he was born April 3, 1820. His father was Murdock Campbell, of Scotland, born of Scotch and Irish parentage, who was raised and married in North Carolina. After his marriage the eider Campbell moved to Lawrence County, Tenn., and settled on a farm, where he began the cultivation of the soil and rearing his children. From there he moved to the State of Arkansas in 1843, settling in what is now Lawrence County, where he resided up to the time of his death, about the year 1852. John N. Cambell reached his maturity in the State of Tennessee, and came to Arkansas in 1843, where he settled, in Lawrence County, on a farm, and tilled the soil for a number of years. In 1872 he was elected county treasurer and at the expiration of his term was re-elected, serving from 1872 to 1878. In 1888 his party, seeing the fitness of the man for the position and recognizing his abilities, once more elected him to office. He previously discharged the duties of justice of the peace for twelve years, and also served as deputy sheriff and constable. Mr. Campbell was married, in 1846, to Miss Mary J. Childers, of Virginia, and they are now the parents of three sons and one daughter, all of them having attained maturity and married. Their names are: William M., John D., Alex C., and Sarah A., wife of John C. Overstreet, the entire family residing in Lawrence County. Both Mr. and Mrs. Campbell are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and stand high in the regard of those surrounding them.
John Casper, farmer and blacksmith, whose work at the forge and anvil has placed him as an expert in his trade, was born in Rowan County, N. C., May 5, 1827. He is a son of George and Naney (Leonard) Casper, both of the same county and State, who died in their native place. Mr. Casper is one of a family of four sons and four daughters, of whom five are still living, three brothers and two sisters, the latter residing in North Carolina, and the former, David. Jacob Alexander and John, living in Lawrence County. John Casper is the oldest of the three brothers living, and was reared in Rowan County, N. C., where he remained with his father until his twenty-sixth year. He moved west in 1853 and settled in Lawrence County, Ark., where he bought a small section of land and commenced clearing and improving it. On March 8, 1854. he was married to Mrs. Sarah M. Blackwell, a widow lady, of North Carolina, who also possessed a small improvement on government land. Mr. Casper immediately set to work clearing his land, and they now have about seventy-five acres under cultivation. The home place comprises about 380 acres altogether, with a good log house and other buildings built upon it, and an orchard. He also owns 240 acres in other sections, and from the fact that he commenced on almost nothing at all, has done remarkably well. He owes it all to his own thrift and business tact, and is now considered as one of the substantial farmers of Lawrence County. Mr. Casper enlisted in the Confederate army in 1863, and was a member of the Seventh Missouri Cavalry, and afterward transferred to the Seventh Arkansas Infantry. He took part in many a hard fought battle—at Little Rock, Pilot Knob and in Gen. Price's raids through Missouri, besides several battles of lesser importance. He was paroled at Shreveport. La., at the close of the war, and [p.779] returned home to resume his labor upon the farm. In 1877 Mr. Casper lost his faithful wife, who died October 4, leaving him one child. George W. He again married, his second wife being Mrs. Harriet E. Harris, a widow, of North Carolina, and has one child by this marriage, Etter E. Mr. Casper is a member of the Old School Presbyterian Church, in which he is elder, and is also a member of the Agricultural Wheel, being vice president of the local Wheel. He has been unfortunate in the loss of his second wife, who died February 13, 1884, leaving behind her a record of usefulness and many virtues.
John A. Cathey, one of the oldest merchants in Lawrence County, was born in Shelby County, Tenn., in the year 1810. He is the son of John A. Cathey, of Maury County, Tenn., who was reared on a farm, and finally adopted the tailoring trade, which he followed until his death occurred, in 1851. at Jacksonport, Ark, in which place he had settled in 1848, for the purpose of working. He was married to Miss Narcissa Turnage, of Tennessee, who died shortly after the decease of her husband at Jacksonport. Five sons were born to them, two of them yet living: James H. and John A., both living in Arkansas. The children who have died are William T., David L. and an infant. David was killed by accidentally shooting himself during the war. John A. Cathey, for whom this sketch is intended, is the youngest member of the family living. He came to Arkansas with his parents, and remained with them. until he grew to manhood, in Jackson County. He enlisted in the Confederate army in 1861, and was enrolled in Company G. First Arkansas, and served until the close of the war, when he surrendered at Jacksonport. He participated in the battle of Bull Run, at Shiloh, and was so severely wounded in that engagement that he lay disabled for some two months. He also took part in the battles of Perryville (Ky.), Murfreesboro (Tenn.), Chickamauga, Chattanooga, and then a three mouths' campaign from Dalton to Atlanta. He was at Franklin, Tenn., during the lerrible slaughter (Hood's) at that place, and afterward in another hot campaign at Nashville. He has been wounded at different times, and bears a war record that few men can equal at the present day. When the war was over, it would naturally seem that after witnessing and taking part in the terrible carnage of his numerous battles, he would prefer a peaceful life, but, strange to say, his occupation was butchering while in Jacksonport, as though he had not yet been satiated by the sight and smell of blood. From Jacksonport he moved to Newport, and lived there for eight years, then settled down in Lawrence County, where he is now considered the oldest established merchant in that section. He carries a large stock of general merchandise, and is noted for his square dealing throughout the county. In fact, he is the founder of the town that bears his name. He was appointed postmaster from 1881 to 1885, and has held several local offices. His wife was Miss Sarah W. Roberts, of Alabama, who died in 1869. Mr. Cathey afterward married a sister of his first wife, Miss Eliza Roberts, and they have had two children by this union, Eliza I. and Bertha Lee. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Cathey is a member of Dry Creek Lodge No. 453, F. & A. M.
Burrel M. Childers, a well-known and popular farmer and stock raiser, was born in Madison County, Ala., October 9, 1821. His father, John Childers, was a native of Georgia, who moved to the State of Alabama when a young man, and was there married to Miss Rutha Cown. The parents remained in Alabama until the year 1824, and then settled in Tennessee, where they resided up to 1838, when they selected Arkansas as their future home, and located in Lawrence County. The elder Childers had an eventful history in his younger days, and was a soldier in the Black Hawk War. He reared a family of eleven children, five sons and six daughters, of whom Burrel M. Childers is the only survivor. Burrel remained with his father until he was of mature age, and then enlisted in the Mexican War of 1846. After the war was over and the treaty had been made, he received his discharge, and returned to Lawrence County. He settled on his present place in 1849, when this portion of Arkansas was nothing more than a wilderness, and has lived to see it grow up [p.780] into a populous and thriving community. Mr. Childers has since then cleared up about seventy-five acres, and put them under cultivation, besides owning 160 acres adjoining. He did, at one time, own over 1,000 acres, but has divided up with his children. When war was announced between the North and South he gave his services to the Confederacy, and joined Col. Shaver's regiment. He was elected lieutenant, and held that rank until the close of hostilities. During that time he took part in the fights at Pilot Knob, Independence, Kansas City, Big Blue and Miner's Creek, where Gen. Marmaduke was taken prisoner. After the war he returned to Lawrence County, and has since then been occupied in farming. His first marriage was to Miss Narcissa Beavers, of Illinois, who died in 1856. This wife left two children, who grew to maturity, were married, and left children of their own. Mr. Childers next married, in this county, Mrs. Hopkins, a widow lady, of Indiana, who died in 1883. There are three children living by this wife, whose names are: C. F., wife of Joseph Lollar; Julis, widow of A. B. Hogard, and Hezekiah. His present wife was united to him in 1884, her former name being Aveline Grider, a daughter of Martin Grider, one of the pioneers of Randolph County. There are three children by this marriage: Maxie, Stonewall Jackson and Chaldon. Mr. Childers is a member of the Masonic order, and is a Royal Arch Mason, belonging to the Eastern Star. He attends the Christian Church, while his wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and also of the Eastern Star. In the early days of his settlement in Arkansas, Mr. Childers was a hunter of no mean pretenses. He made a regular business of hunting for ten years, and together with his brother, killed thirty-six bears, six panthers and a great number of wild cats, in one spring, besides a quantity of deer. He has a record of killing eleven deer in one day, while a companion of his, a Frenchman, killed eleven deer and two bears the same day. Mr. Childers is a genial and active gentleman, though well advanced in life, and is very much thought of by his neighbors. He is full of anecdote, and it is a pleasure to listen to the reminiscences of his early days, which none can tell so well as an old settler.
William Childers, a well-known boniface and liveryman of Imboden, was born in this county in the year 1844. His parents came to Arkansas in childhood, and were located in the southwestern part of Lawrence County. He is descended from an old family of Virginians; his grandfather, Isam Childers, moving from that State to Arkansas, with his family, in 1824, where he reared his family of four boys and two girls, Alexander C. Childers, his third son, being the father of William Childers. Isam Childers was a veteran of the War of 1812, and died in 1858 at an advanced age. Alexander C. Childers was born in Virginia, in 1815, and moved to the State of Arkansas, with his father, when in his childhood. When war was declared between this country and Mexico, he was one of the first to follow the lead of Gens. Scott and Taylor in the land of cactus, and distinguished himself on many a battlefield. He died in 1860 while in the very prime of life, and left a shining example behind him for his sons to follow. James Childers, one of his brothers, represented this county in the legislature for several terms, and was one of the prominent men of Arkansas. The mother of Mr. William Childors was a daughter of Jacob Fortenberry; her name was Matilda, and she was born in Virginia in 1819, and died in 1844, when he was an infant. She left four children: Elisabeth, the wife of D. Christian; Nancy, the wife of Lee Holt, now residing in Texas; Absalom F., a Baptist minister in Alabama, and William Childers, of Lawrence County. Mr. Childers commenced to make a career of his own at the age of sixteen years, and entered the army during the war. He was a member of Company E, First Arkansas, and gallantly upheld the reputation of his forefathers as model soldiers. On August 10, 1861, he was dangerously wounded and forced to desist from fighting. He lay idle for three months, but the old fighting instinct compelled him to enter the ranks again, and he joined McCorvess' regiment, Fourteenth Arkansas, in which he fought until his capture at Port Gibson. He regained his liberty three months later, and after the fall of Vicksburg [p.781] re-joined the army at Washington, Ark. He was again made prisoner and taken to Little Rock, Ark., and transferred from there to Rock Island, Ill., where he was kept until Lee's surrender. After his release he went to Leavenworth, Kas., and made a trip across, the plains to Denver City, Col., remaining in that place six months before his return home. He has, since that time, resided in Lawrence County, where he is engaged in farming, stock raising, and as a hotel keeper and liveryman he enjoys a well-deserved reputation. He is one of the most extensive stock dealers in the county, an occupation to which he has given much attention since the war, and his was the first shipment made over the St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railroad. He has devoted himself largely to trading in horses, mules, cattle, hogs and sheep. Mr. Childers is prominent in all political matters, and was twice elected treasurer of Lawrence County by the Democrats. He was also nominated for sheriff, but was beaten by his opponent. His first business venture in this county was with W. Childers & Co., at Smithville, Ark., and the second with a firm composed of W. C. Sloan, Q. C. Jones and himself, dealers in merchandise, of which Mr. Childers was the manager. He sold his interest to W. C. Sloan two years later, and since that time has had charge of the widely known Delmonico Hotel and a well-equipped livery stable attached. He was married, January 15, 1865, to Miss Clara A. Wells, a lady of Lawrence County, Ark., and daughter of John Wells, of Virginia, who was one of the principal stock dealers in Arkansas, before his death in 1858. Mrs. Childers' mother was Eliza A. Grayson, of Louisiana, before her marriage. She died in Imboden in the year 1886, aged sixty years. Nine children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Wells, all of them deceased excepting the wife of William Childers. Mr. Childers and his wife have had eight children, three of whom are dead, namely: Robert E. L., Nancy S. and Doney Belle. Those living are: Charles O., Mollie May, William Sloan, John Crockett and Grover Cleveland. Mrs. Childers is a charming lady and universally beloved for her kindness of heart and gentle disposition. Her husband is a Master Mason and a leader in the affairs of his county. They are generous and liberal in all their undertakings, and respected by everyone.
Hon. Charles Coffin is one of the principal Democrats of Northeast Arkansas, and a man well known over the entire State. He has all the antecedents which combine to produce a man stanch and true to the real Democracy, and for several years past has been an earnest advocate of Democratic principles in this State. He was born at Rogersville, Hawkins County, Tenn., on the 23d of April, 1842, and, with his parents, removed to Knoxville, Tenn., when but five years of age. He there remained until December, 1865, when he removed with his mother and brothers to Memphis, and resided there until July, 1869, when the family came to Lawrence County, his present home. The ancestry of Mr. Coffin goes back over 200 years to Tristam Coffin, an English yeoman, who came to Newberryport, Mass., in 1642, but being driven from there on account of his religious belief – a sympathy for persecuted Quakers went and settled the Island of Nantucket. He is the ancestor of all of that name in America. The family celebrated the two hundredth anniversary of his death in 1881. Mr. Coffin, with a brother and two cousins from Tennessee, were the only representatives present from the Southern branches of the family, and there were nearly 600 present. Mr. Coffin's grandfather, the Rev. Charles Coffin, D. D., a Presbyterian minister, and a graduate of Harvard, emigrated from Newberryport, in 1804, to Greeneville, Tenn., where he founded and was president of Greeneville College until 1827. He held the same position in the East Tennessee University, at Knoxville, from 1827 until 1836, and died at Greeneville, in 1852. He was the educator of many of the most prominent, influential and distinguished men of the South, of the last generation, one of whom was the late Gen. Grandison D. Royston, of this State. His portrait is frescoed in the ceiling of the library room in the capitol at Nashville, as one of the pioneer literati of Tennessee. Mr. Coffin's father, Charles Hector Coffin, was born on the 24th of April, 1804, at Newberryport, Mass., and was a [p.782] merchant of Knoxville, an active railroad man, and under Gov. Campbell's administration was president of the branch Bank of Tennessee, at Rogersville. He died at Columbia, Tenn., on the 19th of June, 1854. He had married Miss Eliza Park, a native of Knoxville, Tenn., born on the 22d day of September, 1811, and the daughter of James Park, who was of Irish birth, and a merchant by trade. Mr. Park died in 1853, at the age of eighty four years. His wife, who was formerly Sophia Moody, of Wilmington, Del., died in 1862, when over eighty years of age. She was the mother of twelve children, of whom Rev. James Park, D. D., a distinguished Presbyterian minister at Knoxville, is one. Mrs. Coffin (mother of the subject of this sketch) died in this county, in 1874, and lies buried at Knoxville, Tenn. Charles Coffin has been not so much a student of books as an independent thinker. He went through the freshman and sophmore years in the Tennessee University, at Knoxville, and the junior year at Princeton, N. J., but the war closed his school life. He was a Southerner by birth, his home was there, all his interests and his heart were with “his people.” He believed neither in secession nor coercion, but seeing his people in trouble and danger, his warm heart went out in sympathy for them, and he left the college, gave up all that promised to be a brilliant literary career, for he had all the requisites which only needed to be molded, cultured and trained, and resolutely set his face homeward, where he was eagerly welcomed. He enlisted as a private on the 10th of August, 1861, when but nineteen years of age, in Capt. Ben M. Branner's cavalry company (at Cumberland Gap), afterwards Company I, Second Tennessee Cavalry, under Col. Henry M. Ashby. Mr. Coffin was in Gen. Zollicoffer's command, and participated in all his engagements until the latter's death at Mill Springs, Ky., on the 19th of January, 1862. Mr. Coffin was afterwards in the campaigns in Kentucky, under Gen. Kirby Smith, participating in the battle of Murfreesboro, December 31, 1862, and North Carolina, January 1, 1863, and on the 19th, 20th and 21st of March, 1865, he was at Bentonville, N. C., where Gens. Joseph E. Johnston and Sherman fought their last great battle. He was in the fight between Wheeler and Kilpatrick, February 11, 1865, at Aikin, S. C., and with Johnston in Wheeler's cavalry corps during the campaigns of the Carolinas in the last mentioned year. He was captured at Somerset, Ky., under Brig. Gen. John Pegram, March 31, 1863, and exchanged at City Point, Va., on the 22d of April; was captured again at Lancaster, Ky., on the 31st of August, 1863, while under Col. John S. Scott, of Louisiana, and was a prisoner at Camp Chase, Ohio, for seven months, and the eight months following at Fort Delaware. He was exchanged at Savannsh, Ga., on the 12th day of November, 1864. He was sergeant major of his regiment, but surrendered and was paroled at Charlotte, N. C., under the cartel between Johnston and Sherman, May 11, 1865, as adjutant, in which position he was then acting. Mr. Coffin was a grocery merchant at Memphis, Tenn., from March, 1867, to July, 1869, and was engaged in mercantile pursuits at Clover Bend, in this county, from July, 1869, to March, 1871. In 1873 he edited the Observer, at Pocahontas, Ark., until August, 1874, and also taught school in that time. In September, 1874, he was licensed to practice law and located at Walnut Ridge, where he has since resided. In 1876 he was co-editor of the Little Rock Gazette, but one year later he resumed the practice of his profession, at Walnut Ridge. Mr. Coffin is a Democrat, of Whig antecedents, having been reared by Whig parents. He became a Democrat after the war, and in 1873 was elected from Randolph County, as a Democrat, to the extraordinary session of the legislature, and served eighteen days during the Brooks-Baxter war, at the call of Governor Baxter. In 1878 he was elected prosecuting attorney, and re-elected in 1880 for the Third judicial district. In the summer of 1888 he was a candidate for the Democratic nomination to Congress for the First Arkansas district, against Hon. W. H. Cate, of Jonesboro, and gave the latter a close and exciting race. He was afterwards given an unsolicited and unanimous nomination as representative to the State legislature (being not even a candidate) by the Democratic convention of his [p.783] county, and won the fight by a good majority. He made the canvass as a “straight Democrat,” against the combined Republican, Union Labor and Wheeler opposition, and wears the laurels of a hard earned victory. In the legislative session following (1888-89) he was a strong advocate and leader of the effort to organize the Democratic members of the legislature for Democratic purposes. His heart was in the work and he labored indefatigably and gallantly for the sake of all the principles he holds most dear. He was chairman of the house committee on penitentiary, also a member of the house committee on railroads, ways and means and education. Mr. Coffin introduced several important bills, among them the following: To regulate the practice of pharmacy; to inspect cattle for butchering purposes in cities of first and second class; to repeal features of the labor contract law (Mansfield's Digest, Section 4441), which makes valid contracts for labor made beyond the limits of State. He also had the honor of framing the State Democratic platform of 1888, in which the State canvass and victory were won from the Union Labor and Republican parties combined. Mr. Coffin owns a farm of eighty acres near Walnut Ridge, and is a strong advocate of grass farming, being one of the first to introduce clover into this section of the State. He was baptized in infancy, but is not a member of the Church, though a Presbyterian in his views, and assists in maintaining ministers and church enterprises. Mr. Coffin is a member of that large class of mankind who have never seen fit, from various causes, to enter the “conjugal state of felicity,” although a previous biographer has dryly remarked that “he is young enough to reform.” He has been known to say, in reference to his loneliness and absence of a life companion, that “a Coffin is the last thing on earth a woman wants.” Mr. Coffin has for his motto: “Never do anything to be ashamed of.” His style of oratory is earnest, fluent and pointed, speaks impromptu and gets at the “meat” of the question. He is an honorable, upright citizen in all that the terms imply.
Joseph W. Coffman, a prominent farmer of Duty Township, was born in McLean County, Ky., in 1833. His parents, Benjamin and Elizabeth (Gossett) Coffman, are natives of Virginia, and of German descent. Some of the family were extensive farmers in Virginia, while others had various occupations. The father was born in the year 1802, and came to Kentucky with his parents in 1804, where he grew to maturity, and was married. He died in 1856, from a very painful accident, having his head mashed while moving a hogshead of tobacco. He was a firm adherent of the Universalist Church, and a member of the A. F. & A. M., while his death was a source of sincere regret among a large circle of friends. The mother, who was some ten years younger than her husband, died in 1844. Benjamin Coffman and Elizabeth (Gossett) Coffman were the parents of eight children: William A., Nancy, Ephraim A., Benjamin F., Daniel M., Elisha, Elizabeth, and Joseph W., of whom William A. and Elisha are deceased. Joseph W. Coffman was the third child, and remained on the farm in Kentucky with his parents until his twenty-first year, when he accepted a lucrative position with a large tobacco firm, and commenced his own career. On October 19, 1856, he was married, and moved to the State of Arkansas, where he settled in Hempstead County, on a farm which he rented the first year, but at the expiration of that time was able to purchase a farm of his own. A few years later, that announcement of war, which broke up so many happy homes, also filled him with the desire to aid the Confederacy, and he enlisted in W. H. Prescott's company, and served for three years. He took part in a great number of engagements, and carried himself through that bloody epoch in history in a manner that won the admiration and respects of his comrades. After the war had ended, he returned to Lawrence County, in 1866, and settled at a point within one mile and a half of where he now resides, and, in 1878, moved to the present place, where he has been employed in agricultural pursuits ever since. Mr. Coffman was married to Miss Rebecca Bowen, a daughter of John W. and Ann (Kenerly) Bowen, natives of South Carolina and Virginia, respectively, who were prominent farmers and large slave-owners [p.784] before the war. The father was born in 1805, of English descent, and died in the year 1869. while the mother, who was of Dutch origin, was born in 1804, and died in 1864. They were the parents of five sons and three daughters, three of them yet living, and Mrs. Coffman is the sixth child of that number. Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Coffman, of whom seven are still living. Their names are: F. Warren, Mary C., wife of B. A. Welbon, living in the State of Washington; John B., Elizabeth, who died in her thirteenth year: Benjamin A., at home; William M., who died at thirteen years of age; Jennie, also dead: Flora, Lena and Josie at home. Mr. and Mrs. Coffman are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in which they are active workers, while Mr. Coffman is a trustee, steward, and also superintendent of the Sunday-school, and has represented the church in several conferences. He is a prominent man, and a leader in all enterprises concerning the welfare of his county, and one whose advice and judgment are sought for on many occasions. He is a member of Lodge No. 450, and has belonged to that organization for over thirty years. Mr. Coffman's father contracted a second marriage after the death of his first wife, and by this wife had nine children: John T., Jacob B., Samuel R., Solomon E., George P. (who met his death at the hands of an assassin), Frank P., Susan F., James Lewis, Ezekiel. Ezekiel, George, Frank, James and Samuel are deceased.
James W. Coffman, M. D., a gentleman well known throughout Northeastern Arkansas as one of its leading physicians, and a fruit grower of well-deserved reputation, was born in 1847 on a farm in what is now known as McLean County, Ky. He is the son of Jacob N. and Nancy (Gish) Coffman, both natives of Pennsylvania, who removed to the State of Kentucky in 1808, when they were children. In 1857 Mr. Coffman and his family removed to Arkansas, and settled in Lawrence County, where he entered into the cultivation of cotton on an extensive scale. His death occurred in 1879, at the age of sixty-seven years, fourteen years after the demise of his wife. Ten children were born to them, of whom two only are living, one of them being a daughter. Mrs. Mary S. Bennefield. and James W. Coffman. Mr. Coffman resided in Lawrence County until the age of sixteen years. when he enlisted in the Confederate army under Gen. Price during the declining years of the late war. participating in some of the daring raids through Missouri and Kansas. At the close of that conflict he returned home, and engaged in the more peaceful avocation of cotton planting. In 1868 he commenced the study of medicine, with his brother (now deceased), who was a graduate of the University of Louisville, Ky., as his preceptor. He entered the same university in the fall of 1869, from which he graduated in 1871, and later on entered the Jefferson Medical College, of Philadelphia, graduating in 1883. He commenced the practice of medicine at Powhatan in 1871, and removed to Black Rock in 1883, where his personal popularity and large practice attest to his efficiency as a skillful physician. His wife, a pleasant and attractive lady, was formerly Miss Mollie F. Warner. The Doctor embarked in general merchandising in 1883-84 at Black Rock, and has been deservedly fortunate, being the owner of considerable property in that town and the outlying district. He has one of the finest fruit orchards in the northeastern portion of this State, comprising twenty-five acres of young trees just producing fruit, which he planted in the fall of 1885 as an experiment, and which have proven a success beyond his most sanguine expectations. They will yield on an average one and one-half bushels to the tree this year. Besides this, he has planted out small fruits in proportion, and has been equally successful with them. He is a strong Democrat; one of the most industrious and energetic citizens of Black Rock, and takes a active part in all public and private enterprises that tend toward the advancement of his county.
J. Bowen Coffman, deputy clerk of Lawrence County, for the Eastern District, was born in Hempstead County, Ark., November 17, 1861. He is a son of Joseph W. Coffman, of McLean County, Ky., who came to Arkansas in 1856, and located in Hempstead County, where he resided until the war was ended, and then settled in Lawrence [p.785] County, his present residence. The elder Coffman was married to Miss Rebecca Bowen. of Alabama, and this union gave them ten children. Seven of them are now living. six of them in this county. J. Bowen Coffman was five years old when be came to Lawrence County. He received a good district school education. and also attended school at Powhatan. He then taught school in Lawrence County for three terms, and in Fulton County for the same length of time. He was appointed deputy clerk under Clay Sloan. February 14. 1887, and when the district was divided he came over to Walnut Ridge, in April. 1887. to take charge of the Eastern District. He fills the position in a highly creditable manner, and enjoys the confidence of his fellow citizens. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. and also of the Walnut Ridge Silver Cornet Band. Mr. Coffman has hosts of friends, and well merits the respect and esteem accorded him.
Rufus M. Dail. farmer and stock raiser, is a son of William and Nancy (Overton) Dail, natives of North Carolina and Virginia, respectively. William Dail moved to the State of Tennessee, and was there married when a young man. He settled on a farm in Anderson County, where Rufus was born, July 11, 1828. and remained there until his death, in 1877. at the age of eighty four years. He served in the War of 1812, and drew a pension for his heroic performances during that event. Rufus M. Dail grew to manhood on the farm, and remained with his father until that time. He was married in June, 1853. to Miss Christina Skaggs, of Knox County, Tenn., and settled on a farm with his wife, up to the year 1879. when he moved to Arkansas, and located in Randolph County. He remained at that place for six years. and had brought his farm up to the highest grade of perfection. when he sold out and came to Lawrence County, arriving here in 1886. He has resided here ever since, and cultivates the soil, farming. on an average, seventy acres annually. Mr. Dail was elected and served as justice of the peace in Anderson County, Tenn., for eight consecutive years, and was also elected deputy sheriff. in which capacity he served four years. He was an old time Whig originally, and since the war has become identified with the Democratic party. His family is composed of six children: Nancy J., wife of James Hill, of Lindseyville; Sarah Ann, single; Martha I., wife of Charles Basket; Naomi, wife of Thomas Howard, and Eden S. He has lost three other children: Leroy, who died at the age of twenty-five years; William R., who died in his twenty-fourth year, and James M., at the age of fourteen. Mr. and Mrs. Dail are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and Mr. Dail was formerly a member of the Masonic fraternity. He is highly respected, and his valuable advice and aid in all enterprises regarding the advancement of his community are very much appreciated.
Greene P. Dean, an enterprising and prosperous farmer of Dent Township, was born in Lawrence County, in the year 1848. He is the son of William and Hettie (Roney) Dean, natives of Tennessee and Arkansas, respectively. His father settled in the latter State at the age of eighteen years, having started in life for himself at an early age, and established a good blacksmith trade, which he followed until the time of his death, in 1861. He was an active politician and a noted temperance worker in his day, and was a member of the society known as Sons of Temperance. He was one of the main pillars of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and also filled the office of justice of the peace for a number of years. The mother died in 1854. She was a descendant of one of the oldest families in Arkansas, and a lady universally loved for her many excellent qualities. This couple had nine children, seven of them living to maturity, since which time two have died. Mr. Greene P. Dean was the fourth child, and has grown right up with the county he resides in. He started in to learn his father's trade at the age of fifteen, and after his death he worked with Madison Smith, of this county, for three and one-half years. He is a self made man, and even during the busiest portion of his younger days found time to apply himself to his books. He hired himself out on a farm after leaving the blacksmith trade, and attended school for several years, and, in the fall of 1867, [p.786] turned tutor himself, and opened a private school. He met with splendid success, and continued his teaching until 1871. He also had charge of a school in Duty Township, this county, in 1877. Mr. Dean was married in December, 1870, to Miss Elizabeth T. Phillips, of Arkansas, whose parents came to that State from Tennessee, in 1849, and settled in Lawrence County. Mrs. Dean's grandparents were at one time the most extensive iron dealers in Tennessee, controlling several of the largest foundries in that State. Ten children were born to this couple: William A., Thomas Oscar, Nettie Oberia, Eugene D., Asa Belle, Francis Marion, Mary Edna, John Foster, Homer Lee and Ernest D. Mr. and Mrs. Dean are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and Mr. Dean of the Farmers' Alliance. He takes a deep interest in politics, and is a Democrat. The office of justice of the peace has been filled by him in Duty Township, and he has also occupied several local positions, besides being a director in the schools. Mr. Dean is one of Lawrence County's most influential and prosperous men. He has 300 acres under cultivation, and owns considerable other land in different sections.
William Deeter is a farmer of Lawrence County, and was born in Miami County, Ohio, in 1831. His parents, Jacob and Elisabeth (Williams) Deeter, came from Ohio in 1839, and settled in Clay County, Ind., where his father cultivated the land, and also followed his occupation as a stonemason. They resided here until the father's death, in 1885, at the age of seventy-three years. Both parents were members of the Christian Church, in which faith the mother died in 1876 in her sixty sixth year. Mr. Deeter is the second of seven children, and grew to manhood in the State of Indiana, with the exception of a short time served in apprenticeship at the carriage and wagon making trade, in Ohio, when in his eighteenth year. On his return to Indiana he followed that trade until the war commenced, but for the greater part as a journeyman worker. He enlisted in the army July 15, 1862, and was a member of Company I, Eighty-fifth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, serving until 1865, when he received his discharge at Washington, D. C. Mr. Deeter did considerable guard duty in the army, and, after the battle of Chickamauga, was detailed for repair duty. He returned to Clay County, Ind., after the war had ended, and purchased a small farm, on which he lived until the fall of 1878. He then came to Arkansas and settled on the place he is now occupying, having cleared about 100 acres of the land with his own hands, and getting it under cultivation. Mr. Deeter's first marriage occurred in 1852 to Miss Mary E. Congleton, a young lady of Clay County, Ind., who died, a member of the Christian Church, on the 14th of March, 1863. By this marriage he was presented with three children, two of whom died in infancy. The one living is Martha I., now the wife of C. R. Moon, a resident of Wilton Springs, Mo. His second marriage took place in September, 1865, to Miss Catherine New-port, an Ohio lady, who is now the happy mother of nine children, namely: Elisabeth, wife of J. H. Still; Mathias, Henry, Clara, wife of Isaac Wells; Laura, Isaac, David J., Barton W., George W. Mr. Deeter and his wife are members of the Christian Church, of which he is the organizer. He is also an elder of that church, and a director of the schools, being a strong advocate of the latter. He is a man well appreciated for his good qualities, and is beloved by his flocks to whom he preaches regularly.
Swan C. Dowell, dealer in drugs, books and stationery, Walnut Ridge, Ark. It is to the skill and science of the druggist that suffering humanity look for alleviation from pain. The physician may successfully diagnose, but it is the chemist who prepares the remedy. Mr. Dowell has been engaged in the above business since 1880, and in that time a trade has been built up second to no other drug house in the city. His birth occurred in Breckinridge County, Ky., on October 26, 1856, and he is the son of Christopher M. Dowell, also a native of the Blue Grass State, who came to Arkansas in February, 1867, and who located near Clover Bend, in Lawrence County, where he remained for four or five years. He first rented land, but afterwards bought 160 acres, and subsequently (in 1876) went to Minturn to live near his two [p.787] sons, J. T. and Swan, who were there in business, and there he passed the remainder of his days. He was a pioneer settler and a member of the Masonic fraternity. He was married to Miss Elizabeth Ann Brandenburg, a native of Brandenburg, Ky., and the daughter of Solomon Brandenburg, who was a native of Hampshire County, West Va. To them were born five children, two now living– John Thomas, proprietor of an hotel in Minturn, on the Iron Mountain Railroad, and Swan C. (the subject of this sketch). The latter became familiar with the duties on the farm in early life, and received his education in the common schools. When fifteen years of age, he went to Clover Bend and engaged as a clerk for his cousin, J. H. Dowell, by whom, subsequently, he was promoted to book-keeper. Five years later he went to Minturn, and with his brother formed a partnership in a general store under the firm name of J. T. Dowell & Bro. In 1880 they dissolved partnership, and Swan C. came to Walnut Ridge, where he engaged in the rug business. He has been fairly successful in his calling, and for the last three years has been engaged in the real estate business with J. P. Coffin, of Powhatan, under the firm name of Coffin & Dowell, and they control about 2,500 acres of land for sale. Mr. Dowell individually owns 5,000 acres. He is a Democrat in politics, and at pres. present is mayor of the city. His marriage was consummated in 1878 to Miss Alice Wall, a native of St. Louis, Mo., and the daughter of William Wall (deceased). The fruits of this union were five children, Walter, Mamie, Agnes, Oliver and Alysius. Mrs. Dowell is a member of the Catholic Church.
Andrew C. Estes, deputy sheriff for the Eastern District of Lawrence County, was born in O'Brien County, Ala., October 10, 1859. He is a son of Thomas and Elisabeth (Belcher) Estes, of Alabama, who settled in Arkansas, when their son Andrew C. was very young. They located in Carroll County, where they resided until the war, when the elder Estes enlisted in the Confederate army, and was killed near Smithville, Ark., during the latter part of that period. Four children were born to the parents, two of them still living. After the father's death, his wife removed to Lawrence County, and settled on a farm three miles west of Walnut Ridge, and lived there until the month of October, 1888, when she moved to Scott County, Mo., where she is at present residing. Mr. Andrew C. Estes was reared on a farm and received only an ordinary education in his boyhood. His avocation was farming until the year 1882, when. he was elected constable of Campbell Township. He served four years in this position, and was then appointed deputy sheriff for the Eastern District, in November, 1888, by C. A. Stewart, sheriff. That entire portion of Lawrence County, is now under his jurisdiction, and he fills the bill to perfection in every way. On November 20, 1861, Mr. Estes was united in marriage to Miss Amanda McGuinnis, of Illinois, and four children have been the result of this union: Elizabeth, Eliza Ann, Thomas Edward Jefferson and Maudie May. They are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, at Old Walnut Ridge, and in politics Mr. Estes is a Democrat.
John T. Evans, farmer and stock raiser, of Black River Township, was born in Tippah County, Miss., June 23, 1837. He is a son of Thomas Jefferson and Miriam (Rainey) Evans, who, after their marriage, first moved to Fayette County, Tenn., and then to Tipton County, and on March 1, 1851, arrived at Batesville, Ark., where they settled on a farm. The elder Evans was a Union soldier during the war, and died at Batesville, Ark., while in the service, his two sons, John T. and David F., also belonging to the same regiment, although John first enlisted in the Confederate army. After joining the Union forces, John remained with them until his company disbanded, and then went to Illinois, where he resided until the war was over. When peace had once more been assured he returned to Arkansas and located in this (Lawrence) county. He first settled on a portion of land belonging to the railroad, but afterwards bought the tract of land upon which he now resides, and shortly after its purchase added forty acres more, having now about seventy acres under cultivation, with several substantial dwellings on the land. Mr. Evans has also given a great deal [p.788] of his attention to fruit growing, and can now boast of a splendid peach and apple orchard. After his marriage he started in life with very little, so far as worldly wealth was concerned, but being the possessor of a stout heart and a determined spirit, he soon lifted himself above want and now owns a fine farm, a comfortable home, and is looked upon as one of the best farmers in Lawrence County. He was married in Lawrence County, on May 3, 1868, to Mrs. Mary E. Craig, an amiable and pleasant widow, of Union County, N. C., who came to Arkansas with her father, Jason Hargett, in 1851, when a young girl of eighteen. Mrs. Evans has one daughter by her first marriage, Fannie C. Hargett, who is now the wife of William H. Leonard; and two children by her second husband, Miriam Emmeline and John William. Miriam Emmeline is now the wife of Lewis H. Richey, who is a renter on Mr. Evans' place. They are the parents of one child, Fannie Ella. Mr. and Mrs. Evans are both members of the Christian Church.
Hartwell B. Farmer is a son of Capt. John Farmer, of North Carolina, and Nancy Farmer, of the same State, who moved to Tennessee in the year 1829, and settled on a farm in Williamson County, where Hartwell was born on December 20, 1830. The father was a carpenter and wheel-wright, but also cultivated the soil. In the latter years of his life he moved to the State of Kentucky, and located in Graves County, where he died about 1862. He was a captain of militia, and a survivor of some of this country's earlier wars before his death. Hartwell B. remained with his father until his eighteenth year, but being fired with the ambition to make his own way in life, he started out with that worthy object in view, and located at Haywood County, in the western portion of Tennessee, where he learned the blacksmithing trade. By close application to his duty he soon became an expert, and thereafter followed that occupation for several years. In 1860 he moved to Lawrence County, Ark., and bought a tract of land, the same upon which he now resides. It comprises 120 acres of rich bottom land, and is situated two miles from Portia. He has cleared about sixty acres upon which stands a good double log house, also an orchard of 200 peach, apple, plum and pear trees, besides smaller fruits. Mr. Farmer enlisted in the Confederate Army in 1862, becoming a member of Col. Shaver's regiment of infantry, and served until his capture, on December 25, 1863, when he was taken prisoner to Rock Island, and held until near the close of the war. He was paroled June 5, 1865, at Jacksonport, Ark. Mr. Farmer was first married, in 1852. to Miss Martha King, and has one daughter by this wife, Margaret Ann, wife of Hiram Corkins. He was married again, in Tennessee, to Miss Sallie Cook, and has two children by this marriage. Their names are Napoleon P. and Lee Thomas. Afterward he was married a third time to Miss Martha Ogden, a native of Lawrence County, and has had six children by this wife: Delilah P., Jennie B., Blunt H., Sarah E. L., Milton H. and Simon Cleveland. Mr. Farmer and his wife are both members of the Missionary Baptist Church, of which the former is a deacon, and also a member of the Masonic order since 1852. He is a Master Mason, and together with his wife is a member of the Eastern Star, a degree in Masonry. Mr. Farmer also served his county as justice of the peace for ten years, filling that office with a dignity that won for him the highest respect.
Joseph Finley (deceased) was one of the oldest settlers in Lawrence County. He had recorded in the county clerk's office the first deed for land east of Black River, in this section of country. His native State was Kentucky, where he was born January 18, 1814. He came to Arkansas at a very early day, and located west of the river, on Strawberry Creek, and, in 1846, came over on the east side of the Black River. Mr. Finley was considered to be one of the best farmers in that portion of Arkansas, and when his death occurred had two splendid farms of 160 acres each. He was noted far and wide for his generosity and good-heartedness, and, at the time of his death, was mourned by not a few. Stock raising was also part of his business, and his knowledge as a breeder of cattle enabled him to make considerable money in that line. Mr. Finley's grave is on the home farm, three miles west of Walnut Ridge, a [p.789] place selected by himself for the repose of his ashes. In politics he was a Democrat, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mrs. Nancy (Childers) Stuart became his wife. Her parents were also among the earliest settlers of Arkansas, and had nine children besides berself, four of whom are living: Elizabeth (wife of William Shelton), living in Southern Texas; Amanda (wife of Rev. B. A. Morris. a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church), residing three miles west of Walnut Ridge; Joseph B., in Walnut Ridge, and L. D., residing near Portia. The mother died about the year 1854. and is buried near what is now “Ponder's Chapel,” three miles west of Walnut Ridge. Elizabeth, the wife of William Shelton, a resident of Southern Texas. is the youngest of the four children living. Joseph B. Finley was born in this county December 13, 1848. He has received but very little schooling, and has been farming all of his life, excepting at odd times when he clerked during the dull agricultural season. On January 12, 1871. he was united in marriage to Miss Emma Montgomery. of Tennessee, and this couple have been the parents of five children. of whom three are living: Ida, George and Orto. The wife and daughter are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. South. In spite of the disadvantages he labored under. Joseph B. is now the owner of a farm four miles from Walnut Ridge. He is a stanch Democrat in politics, forty years of age. and hopes to live to see another Democratic president in power.
Dr. S. L. Fisher was born in Lawrence County, Middle Tenn., May 30. 1836, and is the son of Fredrick Fisher. a native of North Carolina, whose wife was Elizabeth McWhirter before her marriage. She was a native of South Carolina. They were among the first settlers of Middle Tennessee, and the father was in the mercantile business for a number of years in that State. on Duck River. The establishment is still conducted under the name of the Fisher stand. After raising their family, Mr. and Mrs. Fisher moved to Harden County, West Tenn., where the mother died at the age of about fifty years; after this the family came to Arkansas. There were seven children in the family–John P., William G., H. P., C. J., A. M., M. E., and S. L. John P. died in Randolph County, Ark., W. G. died at Metropolis City, Ill.; A. M. died in Kentucky; C. J. died at La Crosse, Izard County, Ark., and H. P. died at Smithville, Lawrence County, Ark.; all between the ages of fifty and sixty, except A. M., at the age of sixteen. Only two are living, S. L. and Mary E., widow of Green Ruby. After coming to Arkansas, S. L. commenced the study of medicine under the guidance of his brother, John P., and entered upon the practice of his profession in 1857, being located the first two years in the wild mountains of Izard County, Ark., where panthers, bears, and other wild animals were numerous. Later, he moved to Randolph County and practiced his profession until the war commenced, when he enlisted in June, 1861, and served in Col. Lowe's regiment, Price's brigade, as assistant surgeon. He was wounded twice during the war, the last time being fiddled with a bomb-shell at Kansas City, on Price's raid. This ended his services in the war, and he returned home, and after recovering, came to Smithville, Lawrence County, where he resumed his practice, March, 1885. Here he has since remained. He was married November 15, 1886, to Miss Mary Ann McKnight, who was born in Lawrence County, Ark., in 1846, and died August 20, 1872. They were blessed with three children, all living; the eldest, Martha L., is the wife of J. N. Barnett (and they have two children); and Charlie F. and Gertrude are now grown. After the death of his first wife, Dr. Fisher lived single three years and three months. and was married to Miss Mary E. Barnett, October 10, 1875. They have two children, Ada L., twelve years old, and Myrtle A., two years old. The Doctor has been a member of the Masonic fraternity thirty-three years, having gone as high as the Royal Arch degree. Both wives were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and devoted Christians.
Jesse P. Gibbens, farmer and stock raiser, of Spring River Township, was born in Rowan County, N. C., January 11, 1831. He is a son of John and Patsy (Winders) Gibbens, of the same State, who moved to the State of Tennessee, about the [p.790] year 1836, and settled in Shelby County, on a farm where they resided until 1846, and then changed their home for one in Lawrence County, Ark. Jesse P. Gibbens remained with his father, until he reached his majority, in this county, which was also about the time of the elder Gibbons' death, and then went back to Tennessee. After an absence of three years he returned, and was married in Lawrence County, in 1861, to Miss Mary J. Hamrich, of Tennessee, a daughter of John Hamrich. Mr. Gibbens had cleared up and improved his farm before his marriage, and he now owns 140 acres of valuable land, with over 100 acres ready for cultivation, besides having a small but select orchard and a comfortable house. In 1862 he enlisted in the Confederate army, and joined Col. Baber's regiment, serving until the final surrender. He took part in a number of sharp skirmishes at close quarters, and was always to the front in battle. He was paroled at Jacksonport, June 5, 1865, and returned home to his farm work and a more peaceful life. Mr. and Mrs. Gibbens have one daughter, the wife of F. Lee, a resident of Lawrence County. They are lovers of children, and have reared eight orphans to maturity, and started them in life with the exception of one. Both Mr. Gibbens and his wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and the former a member of Rock Cave Lodge No. 847, A. F. & A. M. They are well known for their benevolence and generosity, and are highly esteemed by their neighbors.
Hon. John K. Gibson, attorney, and real estate dealer, Powhatan. This man, whose name is synonymous of success in his profession, was born in Richmond County, N. C., August 15, 1845. His parents were John K. and Elizabeth (Watson) Gibson, natives of the same State. Early in life Mr. Gibson began to show traces of what his future course would be through the world, and the occupation he would follow. He obtained a knowledge of men and things beyond his years, and even when a boy at school, often surprised his elders at the correctness of his ideas regarding different events and his knowledge of human nature. This talent he has fostered up to the present time, and it has stood him well in many a hard-fought battle before the bar. Mr. Gibson attained his maturity in North Carolina, and attended the common schools of his county. Subsequently, he went to the higher schools and academies of North and South Carolina, and for a period of three years later taught school himself. In 1867 he became a freshman in the University of North Carolina, at Chapel Hill, and in the fall of 1868 commenced reading law at that place under a well-known and prominent jurist of that State. He was admitted to the bar in 1869, and shortly afterward departed for Arkansas, where he first located at Jacksonport, unknown and unheralded. On the 15th of December, 1869, he left Jacksonport, and came to Powhatan, where he soon won the confidence of his fellow-citizens, and built up a fair practice. He has brought several cases to a successful issue in the Superior Court, and always given his personal at attention to his clients' grievances, not trusting them in the hands of subordinates. In connection with his law practice he is engaged in the real estate business, and has been highly successful in the latter, owning about 4,000 acres of land, besides holding the agency for an immense amount. Mr. Gibson has been elected to several local positions, and for a number of years was county superintendent of schools. He also held the office of county examiner for several years, and it is not only said, but is an established fact, that he has done more toward advancing the public school interests, and aiding the cause of education, than any other man in the county. In 1876 he was a candidate for and elected representative of his county, and served with distinction for two years. In 1873 Mr. Gibson was married to Miss Faunie Peebles, and after a short period of happy wedded life his wife died. He was again married in 1881, his second wife being Miss Lizzie M. Moore, a relative of J. M. Moore, the prominent Little Rock attorney. This union has given them three bright children: George M., Maggie M. and John K. Gibson, Jr., besides an infant, which the parents had the misfortune to lose. Mr. Gibson and his wife are members of the Old School Presbyterian Church, in which the former is a deacon. In summing up [p.791] Mr. Gibson's career, it would not be inappropriate to touch upon the causes of his success in life. As shown in this sketch, he began life with comparatively nothing, but has, by untiring energy and the strict application of business principles, coupled with the brilliancy of his mind, won for himself the eminent success he has achieved.
John S. Gibson, attorney at law, one of the brightest of the legal talent in Lawrence County, was born in Fayetteville, N. C., October 12, 1857. He is a son of Green S. and Sarah (Evans) Gibson. Mr. Gibson received a common school education in his youth, and was a close student of every subject that came under his notice. He studied law with Chief Justice Pearson, of Richmond Hill, and was granted a license by the Supreme Court of North Carolina in 1879. He came to Arkansas immediately following, and was granted a license in that State in March, 1879, locating at Walnut Ridge. He has had very fair success as a lawyer, and can proudly point to the fact that he has won every suit brought to the court by him. When Mrs. Mary A. Boas came to Hoxie, he took charge of her business as manager, and March 9, 1887, he was united in marriage to Miss Annie Boas. He is a Democrat in politics, and was a delegate to the State convention that nominated Gov. Hughes. He resided in Colorado for eighteen months, and in the fall of 1888 delivered several speeches in behalf of the Democratic party in that State. Mr. Gibson was the first man to predict the election of Wade Hampton, if nominated, for governor of South Carolina. Mrs. Mary A. Boas at one time owned the land on which Hoxie now stands. The Iron Mountain Railroad was already here at that time, and she gave twenty acres to the company on which to build their side-tracks, depots, etc. The road runs about as near through the center of her 400 acre farm as it is possible to locate without measurement. Mrs. Boas has since then laid out the town site, and is selling the lots. This lady is a native of Alabama, whose parents were Henry and Sarah M. Stephens, the former from Georgia, and the latter a South Carolinian. She was reared in the city of New Orleans, and was there united to Henry Boas, December 27, 1864, a gentleman who had been engaged in railroading almost all of his life until he came to Moark, Ark., and opened up the railroad eating house at that place. Two years later he came to Walnut. Ridge, and established a very fine eating house, which was burned down in May, 1877. In the interval between the 10th of May (date of fire) and September 6, he had built and moved into the present eating house, which he conducted for three years and a half, and then retired from active life for about four years. September 20, 1883, he came to Hoxie, and erected the present hotel, which he operated until March, 1887. At this period the health of their youngest child, Harry, began to fail, and Mrs. Boas and her family made a visit to Colorado, where they remained eighteen months. Her oldest son, William Edgar, graduated from the Brothers' College, St. Louis, Mo., but died August 21, 1885, and she lost her husband in Panama, in September, 1886, where he had contracted malarial fever. Those of her children who are now living are: Anna E., wife of John S. Gibson, and Harry. There are two churches and a public school building in course of construction at Hoxie, the site of these improvements having been donated by Mrs. Boas, and the newly projected Walnut Ridge & Hoxie Street Railway Company is through her farm, as also the right of way for the Pocahontas & Hoxie Railroad. Mrs. Boas is widely known for her liberality and kindliness, and is held in high regard by all acquaintances.
George W. Goodwin is the oldest of four children, and has resided in Lawrence County since his twelfth year. He is a native of Alabama and was born in 1839. His parents left Alabama in 1849 and came to Arkansas, where they settled in Independence County and cultivated the land for two years. In the fell of 1851 they removed to Lawrence County, and settled in the neighborhood of where Mr. Goodwin is now living. Here the father purchased an unimproved farm and commenced to model it into better shape, when death interrupted his labors in 1852, while yet in the meridian of life. The mother is still living at the age of seventy years and has never ceased to mourn the loss of her husband. Eight children were [p.792] born to them, of whom four are deceased, and the four remaining are George W., Mark, Peter, Emily, wife of D. A. Price. Those deceased are: Francis, Samuel, Pleasant, Mary E. Mr. Goodwin remained at home until the year 1862, and in March of that year entered the army under Capt. Sloan, of the Twenty-fifth Arkansas. He fought in all the battles in which the company participated when able to do duty, and was commended by his superiors for the bravery he displayed on several occasions. He was taken prisoner at Baldwin, Miss., in 1862, but was only held a short time and then released. He surrendered at Greensboro, N. C., in April, 1865, and when paroled, returned home and resumed his work on the farm. In 1870 he was married to Miss Leah Williams, of Arkansas, who was born and reared in this county, and who died March 1, 1878, at the age of thirty two years and eleven months. Their union was blessed with four children, one of them now deceased. Their names are James, Charles J., Absalom (deceased), and John L. Mr. Goodwin again contracted a marriage with Miss Martha B. Dawson, born in Independence County, and a daughter of I. F. Dawson, one of the representative farmers of this county. Three children were born to Mr. Goodwin and his second wife, namely: George F., Oas May and Lena. Mr. Goodwin is a member and the clerk of the Missionary Baptist Church, and has taken an active part in school work, having held several offices on the school board. He has taken one degree in Masonry, and is a leading spirit in the community, being held in high esteem by his fellow-townsmen and neighbors. He has upward of ninety acres of land under cultivation.
Mark Goodwin, a well-known farmer of Lawrence County, was born in Jefferson County, Ala., in 1843, and came to Arkansas with his parents, Wyche and Maria (Sharp) Goodwin, when very young. Mr. Goodwin has resided in Arkansas ever since, and on reaching his twenty second year he married and settled on the farm where he is at present living. He is a practical farmer, and thoroughly versed in the details of cotton ginning, which business he operates in conjunction with his brother, George Goodwin. They purchased a gin in 1887, and in the following year ginned 160 bales of cotton, with marked success. Mr. Goodwin at one time devoted his attention to cabinet making, but finding that his farm would claim all of his energies, he turned in that direction and has since followed the occupation of farmer. His first marriage was with Miss Frances Roney, of Arkansas, who died, leaving two children, Samuel and Laura, the latter now dead. His second wife was Miss Sarah Saffell, also a native of Arkansas, who shortly followed in the footsteps of his first wife, leaving one child, an infant, that did not survive her long. Mr. Goodwin was married in 1867 or 1868 to his present wife, Miss Margaret Williams, a daughter of Samuel Williams, a farmer and extensive stock dealer, of Lawrence County. The fruits of this union were eight children, six girls and two boys, whose names are: Ida, Joseph, Milton, Ella, Lena, Addie, Mandie, Nora, all of them living. Mr. Goodwin is a member of A. F. & A. M. Lodge No. 453, and also of the Missionary Baptist Church. He has creditably filled several offices on the school board and local positions, and is a man of great popularity in his vicinity.
George Graff & Sons, wagon manufacturers, blacksmiths and repairers, Walnut Ridge. George Graff, who established the business in 1877, was born at Frankfort-on-the-Main, Germany, October 18, 1825. He learned the wagon trade in his native country and came to America in 1854, locating at St. Louis, where he established himself in business at the corner of Clayton and Manchester roads, remaining there twenty six years. Having been compelled to pay a big security debt, and being a heavy sufferer from fire, he was induced to settle in Arkansas, in the year 1877, when he bought 200 acres of land at Lindsay, five miles south of Walnut Ridge. Shortly afterward he came to the latter place and opened up his present business, while fortune seemed to smile on him once more. In 1879 he had seven men in his employ, and manufactured all kinds of wagons, and in 1880 he brought his oldest son, Benjamin F., into partnership, changing the firm name to George Graff & Son, which continued under [p.793] this head until the time of his death, January 7, 1888, when the other son, Fritz F., became a partner. The father, George Graff, was a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and was buried in the Catholic cemetery at Little Rock, the services being conducted by Rev. Father Fitzgerald. His two sons have since carried on the business of wagon manufacturing, and have added an undertaking establishment to it. The father was married to Miss Anna Mary Graeber, also a native of Germany, ten children having been born to them. Six of them are still living, four boys and two girls: Josie M., wife of John J. Pace, of Las Vegas, N. M.; Fritz F., Jacob T., of Las Vegas; Benjamin F., Julius and Mary. The mother is now deceased. Benjamin F. Graff was married August 5, 1884, to Miss Ida F. Israel, of Walnut Ridge, and the couple have had two children: Ruby Archias and Bennie. Fritz F. was married October 19, 1884, to Miss Susie Kirsch, at Ravenden Springs, Ark. They have twin girls: Josie Ruby and Jessie Lee.
William C. Harris, of Hazel Grove, comes originally from North Carolina. His parents are both North Carolinians, but were married in South Carolina, from which place they moved, in 1835, and settled in Walker County, Ga. His father, William G. Harris, was a tanner by trade, and had followed it for a number of years, but later in life embarked in agricultural pursuits. He was one of the number who assisted in transferring the Cherokee Nation into the Indian Territory. After locating in Georgia he turned his attention to farming, and also devoted part of his time to a tanyard, until the Union was divided, when he moved to Catoosa County, where he died in 1854, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His wife moved to Missouri, after his death, and settled in Maries County, where she lived until the time of her decease, in 1862. Twelve children were born to them, seven living to maturity, and two dying since then. The names of those living are Mary Ann, Sarah N., Martha, Cicero F. and William C. Those dead who lived to maturity were James F. and Fletcher; the others died in infancy. William C. was the third child and the eldest son. His younger days were passed upon a farm in Georgia, and at the age of twenty-one years he commenced life for himself. His first venture was on a farm in Georgia, and, in 1857, he came to Arkansas, and settled in Jefferson County, where he dealt in stocks. In the year 1860 he moved to his present home, where he has lived ever since, except in the interval when he enlisted in Dobbins' regiment, during the war. He was present at the surrender, on June 5, 1865, at Jacksonport, Ark. On his return home he resumed his work on the farm, and was shortly afterward married to Miss Mary Sinierd, of Walker County, Ga, a daughter of James Sinierd, an old resident of Georgia. Mrs. Harris came to Arkansas with her parents, in 1857, and settled in this county, where the father died in 1861, at the age of fifty two, and the mother in 1874, aged sixty two. Both of them were members of the Missionary Baptist Church. Two children were born to them: Joseph G., who died in 1859, and Mary, now the wife of Mr. William C. Harris. Mr. Harris and his wife have three children living: Martha E., the wife of William Allen; Thomas M., and Amanda G., the wife of Bishop Morris, justice of the peace of this township. When Mr. Harris first settled in this place there were only five acres of land cleared; but he now has upwards of 100 acres under cultivation, most of it being done by his own labor.
Thomas C. Hennessee is a son of G. C. and Sallie (Smith) Hennessee, of Warren County, Tenn., who emigrated to Wright County, Mo., in 1842, where Thomas was born March 20, 1844. In 1863 the family moved to Arkansas and located in Lawrence County, where the father died in 1880. He served in the Confederate army through the war, and was one of the raiders under Price during that general's daring exploits. The family consisted of four sons and three daughters, who grew to mature years, of whom two brothers and three sisters are yet living. Thomas C. Hennessee remained with his father on the farm until the latter joined the Confederate army, in 1861. In 1862 he enlisted in the Second Missouri Battalion of Cavalry, and served in that company until the close of the war. He was paroled and discharged at [p.794] Shreveport, La, on May 10, 1865, and returned to his home in Lawrence County. During his career in the army Mr. Hennessee has, no doubt, seen about as much fighting, and also done fully as much as any soldier at that period. He took part in the fights at Poison Springs, Marks' Mill, Jenkins' Ferry, and a great many skirmishes and fights of lesser note, but equally as hot as their predecessors. When he first joined the army, the battalion of which he was a member was composed of 476 men, and out of that number only seventy-four lived through the horrors of war to be paroled at its close. Mr. Hennessee received a gun-shot wound in one of his limbs, which disabled him for a time; and, on another occasion, was wounded by one of the guards, after being taken a prisoner, while walking over a log to cross a creek. On December 21, 1865, he was married to Miss Levira Bagley, of Arkansas, and then settled to a farm life with his bride. He came on his present place in December, 1870, and has cleared up about 160 acres, and built a fair house, out-buildings and all necessary adjuncts, besides a small orchard of well selected fruits. He also owns another farm of 187 acres, with about sixty acres cleared up and a comfortable house built upon it, owning altogether some 400 acres of rich bottom land, situated about five miles northwest of Walnut Ridge. Mr. Hennessee was elected justice of Cache Township in 1874, and held the office continuously for twelve years. He is a Democrat in politics, and a strong adherent to the principles and doctrines of his party. Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and Mr. Hennessee is also a member of the Knights and Ladies of Honor. They have had five children born to them, all living. Their names are Martha, wife of J. S. Childers; Laura, wife of W. G. Duty; Joseph G., John H. and Sallie Anna. Mr. Hennessee started in life, after the war, without a dollar, and has accumulated his fine property by industry, economy and good management, and is now one of Lawrence County's solid men and enterprising citizens.
Samuel Henry, farmer and stock raiser, is a son of Reuben and Elizabeth (Yates) Henry, of Polk County, Tenn., where Samuel was born on the 10th of August, 1837. His father bore arms for this country in the War of 1812, and also fought under Gen. Jackson, at the battles of New Orleans and Horseshoe Bend. After the death of the elder Henry, which occurred while in his prime, the government granted a land warrant to the family, in recognition of his services. Samuel remained with his mother until he grew to manhood, and then commenced farming for himself. When war was announced between the North and South, he enlisted in the Confederate army, and became a member of the Ninth Tennessee Cavalry, first as a private, but later on promoted to the rank of orderly sergeant. He was present at the battle of Shiloh for three days, and at the first siege and bombardment of Vicksburg for thirty days; then at the battle of Baton Rouge, La., and at Corinth, Miss., where he was captured and taken prisoner. Ten days after his capture he was paroled, and in nine months' time from that date re-joined his regiment in time to take part in the battle at Jackson, Tenn. His last fight of importance was at the battle of Chickamauga, but he afterward fought in a great many skirmishes and smaller battles. In the fall of 1864 he was taken prisoner at Charleston, Tenn., and held at Paducah, Ky., until the close of the war, when he was paroled at Union City, Tenn., in June, 1865. He then returned to his home in that State, and farmed for several years, and in the fall of 1872 moved to Missouri, where he remained for two years. He again changed his habitation in 1874, coming to Lawrence County, Ark., and settling on a farm. In 1882 he moved to Texas, and was gone one year, when he returned to Lawrence County, and bought a small tract of land, upon which he commenced farming. Shortly afterward he went to Randolph County, Ark., bought land, and later on returned to Lawrence County, and settled upon his present place of residence, where he has almost 200 acres of land, and about fifty acres cleared and under cultivation, all of it being on bottom land, and composed of very rich soil. In politics Mr. Henry is a Democrat, and, before he went to Texas, had been elected justice of the peace and served one term. In the [p.795] fall of 1888 he was again elected justice of the peace, and is still holding that office. He was married on July 22, 1860, in Bradley County, Tenn., to Miss Adaline Clark, a daughter of Henry Clark, of Georgia, and has three children: Miranda, Elizabeth and Margaret, all single. Mr. and Mrs. Henry have lost a son, Reuben Napoleon, who died in July, 1884, at the age of seventeen. Mrs. Henry is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is well-known for her charitable nature and interest in church work.
J. F. Hildebrandt, farmer, has been a resident of Campbell Township for thirty-one years, and was born in Dallas County, Mo., in 1857. His parents were Thomas and Mary (Potter) Hildebrandt, who died while he was very young. They moved to Arkansas in the year 1858, and settled in Randolph County, where the father followed his occupation of farming until 1861, when he enlisted in the Federal army, and was taken sick and died. The mother survived him eight years, leaving three boys at her death, of whom only one is living at present, J. F. Hildebrandt. Mr. Hildebrandt was reared on a farm, and after his mother's death went to live with his uncle, William Potter, until the time of his decease, when he transferred his home to that of Uncle Claiborne Pinnell, an old settler of Lawrence County. December 5, 1876, he was married to Miss Elizabeth Hennessee, a daughter of Gideon Hennessee, one of the old residents of Campbell Township, who presented his daughter with forty acres of land, as a marriage gift, and upon which Mr. Hildebrandt and his wife are at present living. He is an energetic and successful young farmer, and will soon add to his prosperity, from present indications. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and Mr. Hildebrandt is also connected with the Knights and Ladies of Honor, at Walnut Ridge. They have had five children, two of them deceased. Those living are Nancy Artabell, Mary Alvira and William Thomas.
P. B. Hill, a well-known farmer of Campbell Township, was born in Iredell County, N. C., July 8, 1852. His father, who was Robert H. Hill, was a native of North Carolina, of Scotch and Irish ancestry, who married Miss Sarah Adeline Hall. The father of Mr. Hill died in North Carolina, and the mother in Fayette County, Tenn. P. B. Hill received a liberal education at home, his parents taking pains to provide him with every facility for learning, and was subsequently at the University of Mississippi, where he completed the junior and sophomore courses. He then studied law at Somerville, Tenn., with H. C. Moorman, and attended a course of law lectures at the Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn. He was admitted to the bar in Tennessee, and later on in the State of Arkansas. He came to the latter State in 1886, and settled in Lawrence County, and has been a resident of Campbell Township for about three years. He was married in June, 1886, to Miss Victoria Lester, a daughter of P. K. Lester, and has one child, Annie P. Hill.
Dr. A. B. Hogard, a prominent citizen and a farmer and stock raiser of Marion township, was born in Louisa County, Va., on the 27th of August, 1827. He is a son of Austin and Sarah (Hamilton) Hogard, of that State, the father being of Scotch descent, and the mother a daughter of Capt. Hamilton, of Virginia. The elder Hogard was a physician and also a preacher, and was noted for his great oratorical powers and strong delivery at that period. He moved to Missouri in 1833, and settled in Perry County, where he practiced medicine, and was also occupied in farming and milling. His death occurred in 1862. During his life he fought in the War of 1812, and took part in the battle at Norfolk, Va. Dr. A. B. Hogard remained with his father in Perry County, Mo., until he grew to manhood, and received a good common school education. He also attended the Washington Seminary at Cape Girardeau, and afterwards studied medicine with Dr. Glenn, of Perry County, a widely known physician of that period. In 1858-59 he took his first course at the St. Louis Medical College, and afterwards took a graduating course at the Kentucky School of Medicine at Louisville, in 1860-61, graduating in the spring of 1861. He then returned to Perry County, and practiced until 1864, when he enlisted in the Federal army, and served until the end of the war. [p.796] He first entered as a lieutenant, but was afterwards transferred to the regiment hospital of which he had full charge, and was promoted to surgeon general. The Doctor then located at Pinckneyville, Ill., in 1866-67, and was appointed pension examiner by Gen. Grant. He held the office for two years, and then resigned, but continued his practice at that place up to the year 1875. In 1878 he moved to Arkansas, and located at the place upon which he now resides, and practiced for a number of years. He finally gave up his profession, and bought a section of land, with some slight improvements on it and commenced farming, and he now owns about 450 acres of land, with about 240 acres cleared. The Doctor also built a cotton-gin in 1883, which was at first worked by horse-power, but is now run by steam, and gins a large portion of the cotton in that vicinity. In 1850 he was married to Miss Ellen Burgee, in Perry County, a daughter of Judge Burgee, of that place, but lost his wife in 1866. He has one daughter by this wife, and two sons and one daughter by his second wife, who was Mrs. Mary Steel, a widow lady of Illinois. Their names are Martha, wife of John Mosley; John, Ellen, wife of H. R. Childers, and Thomas. The Doctor and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, and he himself is a Master Mason. In the full of 1884 he was elected justice of Marion Township, and at the expiration of his term was re-elected in 1888, and is at present filling that office with dignity and wisdom.
John Holmes (deceased), one of the former citizens of Walnut Ridge, was born in Coshocton, Ohio, April 18, 1858. His parents were A. Jackson and Mary (McDaniel) Holmes, of the same State, who died when their son was very young. Mr. Holmes was reared on a farm in Coshocton, Ohio, by his uncle. Felix Butler, and on reaching his twentieth year, he left him and settled at a point near St. Mary's, Kas., where he learned the carpenter's trade. He followed this for two years, and then worked on a farm for one year. In the spring of 1884 he came to Walnut Ridge, and worked at his trade until his death occurred, in 1888, aged thirty years. Mr. Holmes was not a member of any society. He was a Republican in politics, and served one term as marshal of Walnut Ridge, gaining the reputation of being an efficient officer. He was married January 1, 1881, to Miss Maggie Van Syckle of New Jersey, whose parents, A. Jackson and Catherine (Hibler) Van Syckle, were natives of the same State. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Holmes, three of them living: Ada, Bertha and Otto. Mrs. Holmes was appointed postmistress of Walnut Ridge, on May 16, 1889, succeeding Capt. James C. Cannon, on June 9, 1889, and fulfills the duties of her office to the satisfaction of Lawrence County's citizens.
Henry T. Holt, one of Lawrence County's leading farmers, and a blacksmith whose reputation extends to all parts of that county, was born in 1844, in the State of Arkansas. His parents were Henry and Patsy (Logan) Holt, of Kentucky, who came to this State and settled near the Missouri line, in 1830. The following year they moved to Carroll County, Ark., where the father is still living, in his seventieth year. Mr. Holt's parents had eight children, and seven of them are yet living, Henry T. being the fourth child born. He was reared in Carroll County, and lived there until better opportunities seemed to present themselves in Lawrence County, to which locality he moved. In 1863 he enlisted in the Confederate army, and was one of Gen. Price's raiders through Missouri. He was also a member of the Sixth Cavalry, and while with that company was engaged in several sharp skirmishes. Before raiding through Missouri he took part in an engagement in this county, and played an active part. His surrender was made at Buffalo, in Newton County, in 1865. He returned home in 1866, and came to this county, where he located on Cooper's Creek. He lived there five years, and then purchased his present home, near Smithville, and has been there ever since. He was married to Mrs. C. Campbell, nee Sloan, of Tennessee, and the couple are happy in the possession of three bright children: URA, Ameba, and Clo. Thomas. Mr. Holt learned the trade of blacksmith from his father, when a boy, and has followed it up to within the last few years. He is the largest stock dealer in Smithville [p.797] Township, and also has 100 acres of land under cultivation, besides some good farms. In politics, he is a Democrat, and one of Lawrence County's leading citizens.
Dr. William H. James, of the firm of James & Wayland, merchants and lumber dealers, was born in Gibson County, Tenn., in 1844. He is the son of John W. James, of Virginia, who was born in 1819, and came to the State of Tennessee in his young days, where he was graduated from the Nashville Medical College, being in his after career a successful physician. He was also a minister of the Baptist Church, of which denomination he died a member in 1863. The mother, Lucinda D. (McWhirter) James, was born January 4, 1817, in the State of North Carolina, and died in 1860. They were the parents of five children, three of whom lived to maturity, but only one, Dr. William H. James, is living at present. Dr. James came to Arkansas with his parents in 1858, where he remained until the war commenced. He enlisted in the Confederate army in 1861, and served until the close of hostilities, when he surrendered at Jackson, Miss. He was severely wounded at the battle of Bentonville, N. C., while making a charge upon the enemy, and slightly wounded at Murfreesboro, Tenn. When the war was over he returned home, and was engaged to oversee a plantation near Memphis, and afterward accepted a position in a mill near that place. He commenced the practice of medicine under Dr. Boardman, of the Missouri Medical College, St. Louis, and entered that college in 1866. He returned to Arkansas, and commenced practicing at Smithville, and from there came to Powhatan in 1869. He now resides on Flat Creek, between Smithville and Powhatan, and enjoys a large practice. The Doctor was first married, in 1869, to Miss Temperance A. Wesson, of Virginia, who died August 1, 1884, leaving five children to survive her, Ada L., Ella L., Ida L., Ora L., and Ula L., of whom the first letter in each name makes the five vowels. His second wife was Miss Virginia Brady, of this county, who is still living, and by whom he has had three children –Willie V. (a girl), Yancey V. (a boy), and Edward, all of them living. The Doctor and his wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and the Doctor himself of the A. F. & A. M., in which he is a Chapter member. He entered into mercantile life in 1879, and one year later formed a partnership with F. M. Wayland, now the manager of the firm. Dr. James is one of the most successful men in Lawrence County. He owns a large farm, well under cultivation, besides several large tracts of timber land, and is engaged in sawmilling to some extent. He is very popular, both on account of his business and personal qualifications, and is a man of fine physique.
Wiley C. Jones is a native of Alabama, and was born in Jackson County, in 1824. His parents both came originally from Georgia, and settled in Alabama, where they were married, and in 1829 or 1830 moved to the State of Tennessee. In 1834 they settled in Illinois, locating in the southern portion of that State, and remaining six years, and in 1840, the prospects of a brighter future presenting itself in the State of Arkansas, they turned their attention in that direction and settled on Big Creek, now situated in Sharp County. Farming and milling were their occupations until 1856, when the father died at the age of fifty-two years, after a busy and useful life. Four children were born to the parents, Mr. Jones being the second child. He grew to manhood in this county, and commenced in business for himself in Sharp County, in 1847, and afterward in Lawrence County. He followed the business of his father until the first alarm of war penetrated into his home, and, leaving the old mill and its boyhood memories behind, rushed to the front like a gallant soldier to fight for his country. He was enrolled in Coleman's regiment, and after two months' hot work, was captured in Sharp County, and conveyed to St. Louis, Mo., where he was forced to lay six weeks in captivity. From St. Louis he was taken to Alton, where he was held a prisoner for three months, and thence to Memphis, Tenn., from which place he daringly made his escape by swimming the river, with the bullets of his captors singing about his ears. He returned to his regiment, then at Pocahontas, Randolph County, and obtained his release. He remained at home for a short time, [p.798] but inactivity was the bane of his existence, and, in the fall of 1862, he joined Capt. Dye's regiment, which had been re-organized, and was then called Newton's regiment. One year later he was sent home on a recruiting expedition, and succeeded in organizing what was known as Baber's regiment, in honor of Col. Baber, and remained with them until the surrender at Jacksonport, June 22, 1865. At the close of the war he returned home and resumed his business of farming and milling, and has devoted a portion of his time to cotton ginning. He has various interests in Lawrence County, and is one of the influential men of his section. He was married, in 1848, to Miss Rebecca Lingo, one of the former belles of Arkansas, and their marriage has been blessed with two children, who brightened their home until death claimed them. After the death of his first wife Mr. Jones met Miss Sarah Endeley, an attractive lady of Tennessee, and after a brief struggle love was once more the victor over grief, and they were united in 1853. They have had seven children, of whom four are deceased. Mr. Jones was fates to lose his second wife, and remained a widower until January 11, 1884, when he succumbed to the charms of Miss Sarah Snider, his present wife. He is a member of A. F. & A. M., and was appointed postmaster at Canton in this county before the war, and has also held several local offices.
William Jones, justice of the peace, and a wellknown farmer and merchant, was born in Williamson County, Ill., November 29, 1849. He is a son of L. A. Jones, of Indiana, who moved to Illinois in 1841, and was married in that State to Miss Ridley J. Moore, of Tennessee. After their marriage the couple made Williamson County, Ill., their home, where the elder Jones still resides at a very advanced age. His mother, Mrs. Ridley J. Junes died in March, 1862. William Jones remained with his parents until his sixteenth year, and with a strong reliance on his own abilities he commenced in life for himself. He came to the State of Arkansas in 1867, and located at Clover Bend, in Lawrence County, where he farmed for a number of years, and then moved to his present residence. When he first purchased the land it was all new and unimproved, but since then he has cleared about fifty acres, built some very fair houses upon it, and cultivated a small but well-selected orchard. He also built a store in 1888, and put in a good stock of general merchandise, and by his upright and honest methods of doing business has established a fine trade. He was married in the spring of 1868 to Miss Mary Stephens, of Tennessee, and has three children living by this marriage, Nettie Jane, Charley A. and Arthur W. Allie D. and Willie A. died in early childhood. Mr. Jones was elected justice of the peace in the fall of 1884, and is now serving his third term. He is a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and one of the most substantial citizens of Lawrence County.
Hon. Joseph B. Judkins, a name well known and
respected throughout Lawrence County, was born in what is now De Kalb County, on
March 1, 1837. He is a son of Hon. William H. and Sarah (Roberts) Judkins,
natives of Virginia, where the elder Judkins was a farmer of considerable
magnitude. The father first moved to North Carolina, and from there to the State
of Tennessee, and about the year 1850 he settled in Lawrence County, Ark., where
his son, Joseph B., now resides. He was elected to the State senate of Arkansas,
and was a member of that body at the time of his death, in 1854, and previous to
that event had held the office of justice of the peace for twelve years. Joseph
B. Judkins came to Arkansas
with his father when fourteen years of age, and remained with him up to the time of his death. He then lived with his mother until he had attained his manhood, and bought the land upon which he now resides. When he first came upon it the land was entirely new, and he immediately set to work clearing and building upon it, so that now he has some 150 acres cleared and under cultivation, owning altogether about 520 acres. Mr. Judkins also owns two fine orchards of apples and peaches, upon which he has spent a large amount of time and care to bring to a state of perfection, and thus far his labor has been rewarded. In 1862 he enlisted in the Confederate service, becoming a member of [p.799] the Twenty fifth Arkansas Infantry, and gave valuable and efficient aid to the cause until the close of the war. He was at the battles of Richmond, Ky., Stone River and Chickamauga, and was also present at the siege and surrender of Atlanta. Altogether he was engaged in about twenty-five battles, besides several minor skirmishes. On his first entrance into the army he held the rank of orderly sergeant, but by his bravery he soon won the ranks of lieutenant and captain, respectively. He commanded the regiment as senior captain in thirteen engagements, and was twice wounded, each time while gallantly leading his men before a superior force. After the war was over, and his surrender at Jacksonport, he returned to his home and farm, and on July 8, 1856, was married to Miss Susan A. Phillips, a daughter of Alfred and Ann Phillips; she had captured the gallant soldier's heart, and found for him a haven of peace after his stormy career through the war. Seven children were born to this happy union: Alfred L., William H., Josie W. (wife of George A. Dungan), all of them married, and Charles F., Augustus H. G., Horace H. and David W., single. Mr. Judkins is an Odd Fellow, and in politics is a strong believer of Democratic principles, supporting his party on every occasion where his valuable aid was needed. He was elected sheriff of his county in 1869, and on the expiration of his term was re-elected and served four consecutive years. Two years succeeding he was elected and served as assessor, and then represented his county in the legislature. In 1876 he was elected to the State senate, and after serving in that body four years, was re-elected as a member of the Arkansas legislature, and for ten years comprised one of that body. He retired from political life in 1886, but still takes an active part in the affairs of his county. His record in the political field is one of brilliancy and honor, and few men have ever served the interests of their party to a better advantage than did Mr. Judkins.
John W. Kelley is the son of Marvel and Sally Kelley, of Georgia, in which State he was born in the year of 1830. He is the youngest of eight children, and lost his father when only two years old. His mother was afterward married to Ed. Kitchens, and removed to Arkansas in 1857, locating in Newton County. They remained there several years and then settled in Texas, where they lived until the time of their decease. Mr. Kelley reached his manhood in the State of Alabama, having gone there when quite young. At twenty-three years of age he went to Dent County, Mo., and finding the locality satisfactory, remained there until 1854, when he returned to Alabama, and lived there three years. He then moved back to Dent County, Mo., and in 1863, when the first alarm of war was sounded, he joined Col. Mitchell's regiment in the Confederate army, and served until the fall of 1864. They were disbanded when near the Indian Nation on account of the ravages of small-pox in that territory. He fall a victim to this dread disease, and remained in Ozark County, Ark., until his recovery. In the spring of 1865, he came to Lawrence County, Ark., and settled at a point near Powhatan, where he remained six years. From there he moved to his present home and commenced farming and improving the land. Mr. Kelley was first married to a young lady of Alabama, Miss Nancy Lawson, who died in 1866. By this marriage he had seven children (four of them dying since): Rebecca J., the wife of Thomas Hederick; Marvel Jackson, and Mary Ann, the wife of James C. Smith living; and those who have died are: Sarah, who was the wife of William McLaughlin, leaving three children, and Nancy, William and Cassandra, the latter dying in childhood from the small-pox. Mr. Kelley was married the second time to Mrs. Mary Woodson, nee Lawson, a sister of his first wife. They had one child by this union, Andrew, who died August 22, 1887. This lady died in 1882, and Mr. Kelley's third wife was Mrs. Cynthia Cravens, nee Johnson. He has had one child by this wife. Mr. and Mrs. Kelley are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. They have three children by her first husband, whose names are Maggie Cravens, Thomas G. and Martha E. Their father died in March, 1882. Mr. Kelley's son, Marvel Jackson, is married and teaching school near the home of his father.
Jarrett W. Kendall, a widely-known farmer of
[p.800] Strawberry Township, was born in Henry County, Tenn., in 1834. He is a
son of Jephtha A. and Elizabeth J. (Harvey) Kendall, of Tennessee, whose parents
settled in Tennessee in the year 1800. Mr. Kendall's grandfather fought in the
War of 1812, and was also a soldier in the old Revolutionary War. He lived to a
very advanced age, as did also his wife, Rachel, who was one hundred and twelve
years old at the time of her death. They were the parents of a very large
family, the father of J. W. Kendall being their youngest child, who was born in
Tennessee, in 1806, where he grew to maturity and married. His wife, the mother
of J. W. Kendall, was born in Tennessee, in the year 1812, and both parents were
of English descent. They remained in Tennessee until the death of the father, in
1838, when the mother came west and located in Independence County, Ark., where
they lived until 1865, when they removed to a point in Jackson County, near
Jacksonport. In 1869 they came to this county, where Mr. J. W. Kendall has since
lived. He enlisted in Capt. Gibb's company, First Arkansas Regiment, and served
four years. During that time he fought at Wilson's Creek, and Elkhorn, Mo., also
at the battle of Corinth, Miss. He took part in several small engagements, but
the next battles of note in which he was present were at Murfreesboro (Tenn.)
and Chickamauga (Ga.), and was with Sherman on his famous march to the sea. Some
of his hottest fighting was at Franklin, Tenn., and at Nashville, where he was
disabled by a ball through the left hip, and was also shot through the bowels
and kidneys. He was taken to the hospital at Franklin, where he was captured,
and taken to Nashville. He was held in the hospital for thirty days, and taken
to Columbus, Ohio, where he was kept a prisoner until his exchange, just before
the war was ended. He then went to Rock Hill, N. C., where he was taken care of
by a citizen of the town until the surrender, when he returned home and resumed
his farm work. Mr. Kendall must certainly have received as many wounds as any
survivor of the war. For two years afterward he could pick small pieces of bone
out of his body, especially in his back, where he was struck by a bursting shell
at Murfreesboro; and at Dock Hill, Mo., his legs were riddled with small shot.
His war record is an honorable one, and the country he served certainly had no
braver man. One of the saddest episodes of his career was during the battle at
Franklin, Tenn. He saw his brother John shot down before his eyes, but was
unable to reach him until the smoke and thunder of that terrible slaughter had
cleared away, and left the battlefield to the dead. He returned at the earliest
opportunity, and found him lying among the slain, and, far away from home and
kindred, he buried him in a secluded spot near where he fell, with the vast
field of battle as a monument to his bravery. At the close of the war Mr.
Kendall was left without a cent in the world, but by exerting himself he
received $30 from the A. F. & A. M., with which to make a new start in life.
He now owns 446 acres of land, and has 150 under cultivation, with a substantial
building upon it. He was first married, in 1866, to Miss Mary G. Box, of
Tennessee, who died in 1880, leaving two children: Felix Susan and George A.,
the latter dying in December, 1888. His second wife was Miss Harriet I. Reed, of
Arkansas, who has borne him two children: John W. and William S. Mr. and Mrs.
Kendall are members of the Missionary Baptist Church; the former also of the A.
F. & A. M., in which he is Past Master. He takes an active interest in
politics, and is a Democrat, having held the office of justice of the
Daniel Ketner, farmer and stock-raiser, is a son of David Ketner, of North Carolina, whose father was one of the soldiers of the Revolution. David Ketner married Miss Mary Izehom, their son, Daniel, being born November 25, 1825. The latter remained with his father until he reached the age of twenty-four years, and in the spring of 1849 moved west, and settled in the State of Illinois. He labored on a farm in Union County for eighteen months, and then, thinking the prospects brighter for him in Tennessee, he moved to that State, where he was shortly afterward married to Miss Catherine Bour, of North Carolina. After his marriage, he settled on a farm in Weakley County, Tenn., where he remained three years, [p.801] and at the expiration of that time, moved to Union County, Ill., residing there until the fall of 1858. He then came to Arkansas and bought eighty acres of new land, which he cleared and put under cultivation, and, meeting with success in his new home, he bought more land on different occasions, until, at the present time, he owns considerable. His home place consists of 160 acres, with about eighty acres cleared and a comfortable house upon it; an adjoining farm of eighty acres, with fifty-five acres cleared; one of 160 acres, with about thirty-five acres cleared, and another of seventy-three acres, with thirty-five acres ready for cultivation. Mr. Ketner can feel proud of his possessions, as he has made it all by his own exertions and good management since the war. He is one of Lawrence County's representative farmers, and a man much thought of and respected in his community. In 1863 he enlisted in the Confederate army, and served until the final surrender, when he was paroled at Shreveport, La., in June, 1865. His record through the war is one of the best, and he was always in the thick of battle at Pilot Knob, Pine Bluff, Little Rock, Independence and Price's raids through Missouri. Mr. Ketner returned to his home after the war had ended, and was there married to his present wife, a widow lady, of Tennessee, formerly Mrs. Mary Lawson. He is the father of seven children by his first marriage: George H., J. Daniel, Mahala, wife of Clay Holden; Jesse A., Jane, wife of George Caspar; Margaret, wife of James Nunley; Amanda, wife of Elihu Davis; and there is also one child by the last marriage, Nettie, a miss of five years. Mr. Ketner is a member of the Old School Presbyterian Church, and also of the Agricultural Wheel, while Mrs. Ketner attends the Baptist Church.
Henry L. Lady, farmer and stock raiser, is a son of Henry and Irene (Fried) Lady, of Tennessee and Germany, respectively. After their marriage the parents moved to Lyon County, Ky., where their son, Henry L., was born, December 26, 1848. The elder Lady has resided in that county ever since, with his wife, both having reached an advanced age, and is one of the most prominent men in that section. He held the office of coroner for sixteen consecutive years, and at the present time he is still a vigorous, active old gentleman. Henry L. Lady remained with his parents until he had reached his twenty-fourth year, having, in the meantime, all the advantages of a good common school education, and also attending the Eddyville Academy. He left his native place in 1874, and came to Arkansas, where he remained the first year with an uncle, and then located on the place upon which he now resides. On March 29, 1876, he was married in Lawrence County to Miss Alice A. Cunningham, of South Carolina, and settled on a farm with his bride, who died on November 23, 1879. He was married a second time, his next wife being Miss Emeline Kenion, of Lawrence County, who owned the place upon which Mr. Lady resided on his arrival with the first wife. They have 100 acres of fine land under cultivation, and since his arrival, Mr. Lady has greatly improved and built up the place. He also has 200 acres of other land under cultivation and six tenement houses, besides his own residence. Mr. and Mrs. Lady have no children of their own, but have adopted two orphans, one of them thirteen years of age and the other three years, and are giving them a comfortable home and all the advantages that can be had. They are generous, kind-hearted people, and much respected by their neighbors. Mr. Lady is a member of the Knights of Honor, and also an active man in all enterprises working for the welfare of his community.
Isaac Less, of Walnut Ridge, farmer and real estate dealer, was born in Germany in the year 1849. He was thoroughly instructed in mercantile branches in early life, and when in his seventeenth year, he left his native country for America, where he entered into partnership with Marcus Berger (now of Jonesboro), at Greenville, Ill. In 1875 he came to Walnut Ridge with Mr. Berger, and established a general store under the firm name of Berger & Less, at a time when that town had a population of about 200. They continued under that name until 1880, when the stock and trade were purchased by Mr. Less, who remained in the business for eight years, when fire burned him out; fortunately, however, it was covered by a [p.802] fair amount of insurance. He owns between 9,000 and 10,000 acres of land, and is quite an extensive dealer in that commodity, and out of this amount has about 1,200 acres under cultivation. Mr. Less was married, in 1880, to Miss Augusta Isaacs, of St. Louis. Mo., and four children have been born to them. For natural ability, fair dealing in all commercial transactions and activity in business life, Mr. Less takes rank with the foremost. He is one of the largest landholders in the eastern part of the county, and has acquired it all by his own labor. The names of his children are Mary, Alex, Alexander, Morris and Jacob.
Philip K. Lester (deceased) was a resident of Greene and Lawrence Counties for a period of fifty years or more. He was a native of Middle Tennessee, born in the year 1819. His parents were John and Nancy (King) Lester, the former a Virginian and a farmer by occupation. who came to the State of Arkansas in 1831 or thereabouts. The elder Lester was one of a party who camped on Manmelle Prairie, Mo., the night of a great celestial phenomenon, when multitudes of stars were seen to fall from the heavens; a sight so grand and inspiring that he had occasion to remember it for a lifetime. He settled on Crowley's Ridge (now the site of Lorano, in Greene County, where P. K. Lester was reared. When the latter reached his eighteenth year he attended school. and employed the greater part of his nights in studying. He was an apt pupil and a diligent student, and mastered his task with such success that eventually he taught school himself. While still a young man, he went into the real estate business and followed that until the war broke out. He enlisted, but served only six weeks, and in the winter of 1861, he came to Lawrence County, where he resided until his death occurred. He bought and sold stock quite extensively after the war was over, and was very successful in business. owning at the time of his death about 7,000 acres of land. He was a hearty, active man, but was stricken down with pneumonia and died January 28, 1877, at the age of fifty-eight years. His grave is on the old home, stead farm, where it was his desire to be buried He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and also of the Powhatan Lodge of Masons, In 1855 he was married to Miss Mary Ann Rogers, of Shelby County, Tenn, whose parents were Magilbra and Nancy (Stations) Rogers, of North Carolina, who had, besides this daughter, six other children, three of them still living, John M., Nancy V., the wife of P. B. Hill, and Robert L., of Little Rock, Ark. Mrs. Lester resides with one of her daughters, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Col. John A. Lindsay, farmer and stock raiser is a native of Kentucky, and was born in what is now Carroll County, on the 7th of July, 1820. His parents were Gen. Jesse Lindsay and Priscilla (Ficklin) Lindsay, of Kentucky, who lived in that State, and were married there in its earlier days. They settled in Carroll County as soon as the Indians were moved from that section, and commenced farming and stock raising. The elder Lindsay served through the War of 1812, and was afterward militia general for a large district in Kentucky. He also filled the office of sheriff of both Gallatin and Carroll Counties, and at one time was elected magistrate; and by virtue of being the oldest magistrate in the county, held the first term as sheriff, in accordance with the laws of the State. Gen, Lindsay. in his day, was one of the best known men in that locality, and as an official was fearless in the discharge of his duty. As sheriff, he was held in the highest respect by the entire district he covered, and his name was a check of the strongest kind on the law breakers of that community; as a magistrate, his fame was widespread. He died March 6, 1875. greatly mourned by all who knew him. Col. John A. Lindsay remained in Carroll County until he had attained his eighteenth year, and then moved to the State of Arkansas, in 1838. locating in Lawrence County. As Washington was called the father of his country, so might Col. Lindsay be called the father of Powhatan, as he laid out that town, and established the ferry across Black River. Upon his arrival in Lawrence County he cleared the land, and commenced farming where Powhatan now stands, and at one time owned some 10,000 acres of land in this county. He now possesses [p.803] about 2,000 acres, and six valuable farms, and is one of the wealthy men of Ashland Township. In 1861 the Colonel received the captain's commission of an independent company, who were armed, mounted and equipped at their own expense, and requested to report to the nearest command for home protection on special duty. This company afterward entered the Confederate army, and performed good service for the Southern cause, their captain being promoted to colonel. In 1864 he joined Gen. Price, but more in the capacity of guide than for actual battle, as he was thoroughly acquainted with the country in which they were traveling. The war was an occasion of heavy losses to Mr. Lindsay. on account of his having credited an immense amount of goods previous to its advent, and then not being able to collect. He was married at Powhatan, in 1840, to Miss Martha A. Ficklin, of Missouri, a daughter of Asa P. Ficklin, who died in 1878, after a faithful and happy married life of almost forty years. One son was born to them, who lived until his thirty-seventh year, and died in 1879, Asa T. Lindsay. The Colonel is a member of the Masonic order, being a Royal Arch Mason and Knight Templar, belonging to Powhatan Lodge No. 72, besides being a member of Hugh DePayne Commandery, at Little Rock.
James M. McCall,(chart) farmer and stock raiser, and a popular resident of Duty Township, was born in Weakley County, Tenn., March, 29, 1839. He is a son of Robert J. and Eliza McCall, who were the parents of five children, four boys and one girl. One of the brothers was killed in the last war, and another met his death in a runaway team, while the remaining three are still living: James M., John M., and Elizabeth, wife of F. Gillespie. The family moved to the State of Arkansas in 1850, and settled at a point in Lawrence County, near Walnut Ridge. They remained here one year, and then located on a farm near Portia, where the father died, in 1861 or 1862, and the mother several years later. The elder McCall, up to the time of his death, had been a veteran of the Mexican War, and had done good service for his country during the campaign in Mexico. He was married a second time, and James M. is the oldest son living by that marriage. James M. McCall came to Arkansas with his parents when in his twelfth year, and remained with them until he came of age. He enlisted in the Confederate army at the commencement of the war, and was a member of Col. Baber's regiment, in which he was one of its most gallant fighters in the numerous battles participated in by that regiment. On December 25, 1863, he was captured in Ripley County, Mo., and taken a prisoner to Rock Island, Ill., where he was held until the close of the war. After being liberated he returned to his home, and resumed his work upon the farm, this having been his occupation ever since, and he now owns one tract of 120 acres, some three miles from Portia, of which twenty-five acres are cleared and under cultivation. He has a good frame residence and stables on his home place, and also an orchard, from which he expects good results. Mr. McCall was married in Lawrence County, March 14, 1861, to Miss Martha C. Jeffrey, a native of this county, and a daughter of Jesse Jeffrey. Five children were born to this union, who are still living: James E., F. O. McCall, wife of John Freer; Martha Selma, wife of D. Finly; Robert J. and Laura Jessie, and two who died in childhood. Mr. and Mrs. McCall are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and Mr. McCall is one of Lawrence County's brightest men. He is active in promoting the interests of the county, and is held in high esteem.
John R. McCarrell, an extensive stock raiser and farmer of Black River Township, was born in Lawrence County, Ark., December 24, 1834. His father, James McCarrell, was a native Kentuckian, who came to Arkansas with his parents when eight years of age, being among the first settlers of Lawrence County. They settled at a point near Smithville, in the year 1808, where James McCarrell grew up and lived the greater portion of his life. His occupation was farming, and at one time he owned two of the finest farms in that section of Arkansas. He also served as county treasurer of Lawrence County, for a number of years, filling the office with honor and credit. His death occurred in 1872, after a long and useful career. [p.804] John R. McCarrell remained with his father until December 22, 1852, when he was married to Miss Elizabeth Davis, of Tennessee. This wife died January 24, 1884, after a faithful and happy married life of over thirty-three years. They were the parents of sixteen children, ten of them yet living. After his marriage Mr. McCarrell commenced farming near Smithville, and in 1876 he moved to the present place, which he has greatly improved since his arrival, having about 150 acres under cultivation, on the Flat Creek Bottoms. In the fall of 1861 he enlisted in the Confederate Army, and served until the close of the war, performing in that time many a deed of valor. He was present at the battle of Pilot Knob and several others, and a great part of the time was on detached duty. He surrendered at Jacksonport, Ark., June 5, 1865, and shortly afterward returned home to attend to the cultivation of his farms. On March 10, 1886, he was married to Mrs. Emma Rutledge, a widow, of Lawrence County, who formerly resided in Tennessee. They have two children by this marriage: James P. and Sarah E., the latter the wife of Frank Hastin; and those by Mr. McCarrell's first wife are John H., Susan (wife of Robert Eddy), George W., William T., Martha (wife of Mr. Harroll), Fannie (wife of W. Taylor) and Cora Belle.
Robert McKamey is a son of Robert and Jemima (Parks) McKamey, of Tennessee, where young Robert was born, on the 29th of November, 1845. The elder McKamey held several local offices, and was quite a prominent man in Tennessee, and was also one of the survivors of the Mexican War. He moved with his family to Arkansas in the fall of 1858, and purchased a farm in Lawrence County, where he resided until his death, on the 12th of October, 1870, six days after the demise of his wife. Robert McKamey, Jr., came to Arkansas when in his thirteenth year, and remained with his parents until the last year of the war, when he entered the Federal army, and was attached to the Sixth Missouri Volunteer Cavalry. He enlisted first as a private, but was made sergeant, in which capacity he remained until the war had ended. After he was given his discharge, in September, 1865, he returned to his home, and on the 6th of January, 1867, was married, in Randolph County, to Miss Barbara Wells. He remained in that county four years, farming upon a piece of land he had purchased, and then sold out and bought the place upon which he now resides. At the time of its purchase, there were about 100 acres cleared, and the buildings on it were unfinished, but since then he has cleared some seventy-five additional acres, fenced it in, and greatly improved the place. He owns altogether about 500 acres of land, situated two miles from Imboden, and one-third rich bottom and second bottom land. This is one of the best farms and most desirable pieces of property in Lawrence County, and Mr. McKamey has shown thrift and energy in securing it, from the fact that he started on comparatively nothing after the war. He also has a fine orchard of seven acres, consisting of different varieties of fruit. Mr. McKamey's first wife died in Lawrence County, leaving two children to her husband's care. His present wife was Miss Susan Ann Bragg, of Independence County, by whom he has had seven children. Their names are James L., John, Leona, Robert, Naida, Abbie and Anna, the last two being twins; and those by his first wife are Margaretta, wife of William York, and Emily, who died in her seventeenth year. Mr. McKamey has also lost three children, who died in childhood. Mrs. McKamey is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. McKamey an Ancient Odd Fellow. He is a Republican in politics, and upholds the principles of his party. His wealth, while not of mammoth proportions, has grown to ample size, and he is one of the most substantial men of his county.
Simon McLeod was born in Harnett County, N. C., March 3, 1843, and is the son of Murdoch and Barbara (Matthews) McLeod, who came to Arkansas in 1858, settling on a farm in Lawrence County. His grandparents, on his father's side, emigrated from Scotland to this country during the latter half of the eighteenth century. On his mother's side, he is a descendant from a local family of merchants and farmers. The elder McLeod died in 1862, and his wife followed, December 20, 1888. Eleven children were born to them, and the family came to Arkansas unbroken, but death has cropped them out one by one until but five remain. Their names are James, John A., Simon, William and Hector, all farmers and mechanics. Simon McLeod, the seventh child, came west with his parents, with whom he remained until 1861, then leaving a comfortable home to fight for a cause he thought was right. He enlisted in the First Arkansas Battalion, and served to good advantage for the principles which he had undertaken to defend. He was present at the battle of Corinth, and at the siege of Port Hudson was among the most valiant in action. He did the duty of a private soldier until the end of the war, and surrendered at Shreveport, La., in 1865. He then returned to his home, and was married, in 1867, to Miss Sally C. Judkins, a Tennessee lady. In 1868 he and his companion moved on to the farm where they still live, with a happy and prosperous family. Mrs. McLeod is the descendant of a wealthy and influential Virginia family. She also is of Scotch descent. She is the daughter of William H. and Sarah D. (Roberts) Judkins. Mr. Judkins was elected to the State Senate of Arkansas, in 1854, and died at Little Rock, Ark., in December of the same year. Mrs. McLeod is a sister of Hon. Joseph B. Judkins, who was president of the Twenty-fourth Arkansas senate. Mr. McLeod and wife have been blessed with nine children, all living with the exception of two. Their names are: Walter E., Maggie D., Lettie M., Bessie C., Joseph H., Luther H., Eva A., (and one not named, deceased), and Laurence S. Mr. McLeod and his wife and his three oldest children are members of the Misssionary Baptist Church, and are people that command the respect of the entire community. He is a Democrat, and takes a deep interest in politics, though he has never aspired to any public position, preferring rather the pleasures of rural life.
John D. McMillen, a widely-known farmer and stock raiser of Duty Township, was born in Tippah County, Miss., October 21, 1850. He is a son of W. W. McMillen, a native of Alabama, who moved to Tennessee when a boy of seven years, and was reared in that State. W. W. McMillen was married in Mississippi, to Miss Mary A. Gunnell, of Jefferson County, Ala. (who moved to Mississippi when thirteen years old), and after his marriage settled on a farm in Tippah County, where John D. was born. He moved to Arkansas County, Ark., in 1855, and, after residing there for nine years, came to Lawrence County, where he remained until his death, in 1879. He fought for eight months in the late war, and bore a splendid record for his bravery. John D. McMillen came to the State of Arkansas with his parents when thirteen years of age, and remained with them until his maturity. He was married, on December 22, 1878, to Miss Laura E. Mitchell, who was born and reared at Clover Bend, Lawrence County, and brought his bride to the present residence. The land was but slightly improved when he came upon it, but about forty-three acres are now cleared and under cultivation, and, perhaps, forty acres more, which are still unimproved, but valuable land. He has a comfortable house, barns and all conveniences upon his place, and a good orchard, two acres in extent, of peach, apple, apricot, plum and pear trees. Mr. McMillen is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, taking an active interest in all its affairs. He and his wife are well known for their generosity and sympathy toward all enterprises for the advancement of educational and kindred interests. They are among the most popular residents of Lawrence County, and people who are held in the highest esteem.
Hon. Robert P. Mack, one of the leading attorneys of Powhatan, is a native of Tennessee, and was born at Waynesboro, August 27, 1848. His father is Judge L. L. Mack, whose history appears in another portion of this book. Mr. Mack came to Arkansas with his parents in 1853, when he was a lad of five years, where they located at Marion, Crittenden County. They afterward moved to Bolivar, and then to Gainesville, Greene County, where he grew to manhood. He received a very fair education at the common and high schools, besides applying himself studiously to all subjects which he thought would be of advantage to him in after life, and for one year was assistant teacher at one of the schools. In 1866 he commenced the study of law, under the guidance of his father, [p.806] Judge L. L. Mack, and, in 1868, was admitted to the bar. before he had reached his twenty first year. He was licensed to practice by Judge William Story, and shortly afterward moved to Pow Powhatan to enter into his profession. In 1869 he was associated with his father, under the firm name of Judge L. L. Mack & Son, and his natural talent, combined with the experience of his father. made it one of the most successful firms in that section. His present location is the one selected by him in 1870, which he bas kept continuously since that time. In 1873 the elder Mack with drew from the firm, and, up to the spring of 1887. Mr. R. P. Mack had been associated with various practitioners. when the present firm was organized. He was married. August 29, 1878, to Miss Mollie E. Lyons. of East Tennessee, a very attractive lady, and by this happy union with the lady of his choice, was born three children: Anna M., Vera C. and Lucy. Mrs. Mack is a member of the Old School Presbyterian Church, and a lady whose kindly influence and gentle disposition are made manifest at home and in society.
John H. Martin, merchant and postmaster of Powhatan, is a native of Eldorado County. Cal. born June 17, 1854. He is a son of Josiah Mar tin, one of the veterans of the gold excitement during the early days of California. The elder Martin was born and reared in the State of Missouri, and left his home for California two years after the great gold fever of 1849 had spread its contagion all over the civilized globe. While there he met and married Miss Mary Mincer. of Pennsylvania , and after sixteen years of mining returned with his wife to the State of Missouri. The following year after his arrival he moved to Arkansas and located at Powhatan, where he is now in partnership with his son in the general merchandise business. John H. Martin resided in California until he reached his fourteenth year. when he returned to Missouri with his father. He received a good education, both in California and Missouri. and after completing his studies, in 1868. he moved to Arkansas and settled in Lawrence County. From 1870 to 1875 he was occupying a clerkship in one of the principal drug houses in Lawrence County, and afterward engaged in the same business himself. In September, 1880, he opened up a general stock of merchandise in partnership with his father, under the firm name of Martin & Son, but still continued in the drug business on his own account. The firm of Martin & Son do a business of about $30.000 annually, and enjoy an enviable reputation for fair dealing and honest goods. Mr. Martin was appointed assistant postmaster several years ago, and on the retirement of his superior, in 1875, was given the office, and has been postmaster ever since. In December, 1878. he was married to Miss Lula McLeod, of Georgia, but in June, 1880, he was deprived of the companionship of his wife by death. Charles H., ten years old, is the only child.
James A Martin, of the firm of J. A. Martin & Bros., manufacturers, comes from a family of Missouri pioneers. He was born in Pike County, Mo., December 3, 1854, and is a son of F. G. Martin, of Lincoln County, Mo. The family is one of the oldest in Eastern Missouri, their ancestors settling in that State in its earliest days. The elder Martin was merited in Pike County. Mo., to Miss Susan E. Doyle, a native of that place, and after his marriage resided there for a number of years. In 1867 he came to the State of Arkansas and located at Powhatan, where be carried on the manufacture of wagons up to the year 1880, when he returned to Missouri, and in the spring of 1889 moved to Texas, where he at present resides. James A. Martin came to Arkansas with his parents when fourteen years of age. In his youth he was given a good school and commercial education, and in order to be more thoroughly acquainted with his father's business, he spent some time in black-smithing and wagon making. His knowledge of the business, Issing gained from practical experience, enabled him to build up a large and profitable trade. The firm manufacture spring wagons, buggies, etc., and turn out about 60,000 spokes monthly, besides felloes, plow beams and implements of a like nature. Their trade is one of the most extensive in Northeast Arkansas in their line, and their goods have obtained a well-merited renown. March 12, 1877. Mr. Martin was married [p.807] to Miss Ida Fortenberry, of Mississippi, a daughter of Absalom Fortenberry, of that State, and this happiest of unions has been blessed with three children: Guy R., Carrie and Nina. Mr. Rogers and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the former is a Mason. He is a very popular man, both in business and society, and is also one of the most progressive men of his county.
Samuel A. Massey was born in Knox County, Tenn., in 1838. He is the son of Jacob L. and Ann J. (Gray) Massey, the first named being a native of Tennessee, and the mother coming from Ireland to America with her parents in 1820, and settling in Knoxville, Tenn. His parents were married in Tennessee, in the year 1837, and moved to Arkansas in 1850, where they settled on Strawberry River, and commenced farming until the death of his father, in 1883. His mother died in 1878. Nine children were born to the parents, and two of them have been called away by death. Of the seven yet living, Mr. Massey is the oldest, and came to Arkansas when in his thirteenth year. He passed the younger portion of his days on the farm, and, on attaining his majority, commenced his race with the world with such a degree of success that to-day he is worthy of emulation by the young men of his county. He has 140 acres of land under cultivation, besides other lands in various sections, amounting to some 240 acres in all, which is the result of his own labor. In 1861, when he found that his country needed his services, he enlisted in the army, becoming a member of Company B, Twenty-first Arkansas, and held the rank of second lieutenant. He was captured by the enemy in 1864, in this county, and taken prisoner to Johnson's Island. Ohio, where he was kept until January, 1865. When no longer a prisoner of war he returned to his command and did good service, returning to his home shortly before the surrender, and has continued farming ever since. He was married in 1858 to Miss Elvira Milligan, a young lady born and reared in Arkansas, and a daughter of John Milligan, one of the pioneers of that State. Mrs. Massey died September 1, 1866, leaving four children as the result of their happy married life. Their names are Edia J., Samuel J., Jacob L., and Elvira E. Mr. Massey lives with his son Jacob on the home place, and though ofttimes beset by the snares of his widower's state, has always remained true to the memory of his beloved wife. He is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, to which his wife also belonged, and is also a member of Lodge No. 144, A. F. & A. M., of Reed's Creek, Sharp County.
Benjamin F. Matthews, a popular citizen of Powhatan, is a native of Georgia, and was born in Madison County, August 12, 1823. His parents were the Hon. Allen and Margaret (Elton) Matthews, who were married and resided for awhile in Jackson County, Ga., and then moved to Madison County. After a short residence in the latter locality they moved back to Jackson County, where the elder Mr. Matthews practiced law during the greater portion of his life, and attained an eminent place in his profession. He represented the county several terms in the legislature, and died in Gainesville, Ga., in 1843, after a successful career. His son, B. F. Matthews, grew to manhood in the State of Georgia, and during the earlier portion of his life had but a limited amount of education. This, though an obstacle in his path, was easily overcome by his perseverance and natural ability. He first came to Arkansas in 1854, and located at Powhatan, which place has been his residence ever since. In 1876 he commenced his commercial career, and up to the year 1886 was actively engaged in mercantile life, controlling a business of from $30,000 to $40,000 a year. In 1863 he was elected sheriff of Lawrence County, and served until 1867, and for four years acted as collector and assessor. Previous to that, in 1860. he was deputized census enumerator, and took the census of Lawrence and Sharp Counties. On October 24, 1844, he was married to Miss Catherine McElroy of Cherokee County, Ga., and this union has given them nine children, of whom only three are living at the present time: William, Catherine, wife of Clay Thorn, and Ella. Those deceased are Josephine, Bettie, Phineas, Alice, Thomas and Henry. Mr. Matthews lost his [p.808] first wife October 30, 1871, and after her death was determined to spend the remainder of his days single, but after meeting Miss Mary C. Clisby, of Massachusetts, he succumbed to that lady's charms, and was again married. They are both members of the Presbyterian Church, and Mr. Matthews has been a Mason for forty years.
Willis B. Matthews, of the firm of Weir & Matthews, is another representative of that class of men, who, by their energy and pluck, have won the esteem of their fellow-citizens. He was born in Lawrence County, Ark., on the 1st day of November. 1857, and is a son of William J. Matthews, a native of Tennessee. whose father, John L. Matthews, was one of the pioneers of Arkansas. His father, W. J. Matthews, married Miss Eliza J. McGhehey. of Lawrence County, a daughter of George McGhehey, one of the early settlers of this State, and his interest in the State of Arkansas is thus doubly strengthened by the fact of both parents being born on the same soil. His father turned his attention to farming until 1885. and then moved to Black Rock. to engage in mercantile pursuits. Mr. Matthews remained with him until he attained his majority. educating himself in the meantime, and then taught school for a period of twelve months. He gave up this occupation to accept a position at Powhatan, where he became thoroughly versed in mercantile affairs, and received excellent business training. He then returned to farming again, and continued in that business until October, 1883, when he re-entered into mercantile life at Black Rock. He established himself in the grocery and drug business at that point, and, in 1885, his father was brought into partnership, and remained with him until the time of his death, in 1887. In the spring of 1889, the present firm of Weir & Matthews was established. They carry a large stock of general merchandise, dry goods. groceries, clothing, drugs, hardware. etc., and by their fair dealing and integrity, have earned a reputation second to none in the county. Mr. Matthews has served on the town board, and is a Master Mason. He is treasurer of Black Rock Lodge.
James Cabell Minor, physician and surgeon. Walnut Ridge, Ark. In a comprehensive work of this kind, dealing with industrial pursuits, sciences, arts and professions, it is only fair and right that that profession, the medical profession, on which in some period or other of our lives, we are all more or less dependent, should be noticed. It is the prerogative of the physician to relieve or alleviate the ailments to which suffering humanity is prone; and as such he deserves the most grateful consideration of all. A prominent physician and surgeon, who by his own ability has attained distinction in his profession, is Dr. Minor. He was born in Albemarle County, Va., on the 10th of October, 1858, and is the son of Dr. Charles Minor. and nephew of Prof. John B. Minor, present professor of Common and Statute Law in the University of Virginia, and the author of “Minor's Institutes.” Dr. Charles Minor was a physician, and in the early part of his life practiced his profession, but in later life was principal of a high school at Brook Hill, six miles north of the University of Virginia. He died in 1861, at the age of fifty-eight years. He married Miss Lucy Walker Minor, a native of Virginia, who died in that State, at Bellevue, in 1881, at the age of fifty-two years. They were the parents of a large family of children, thirteen in all, eight now living, two in this state, Lancelot, attorney at law, Newport, Ark., and James Cabell. One brother, Charles (now deceased), was an attorney at law at Jacksonport, and at one time represented Jackson County in the State legislature. James Cabell Minor was reared in Virginia, and first took an academic course, but subsequently entered as a student the University of Virginia, from which institution he graduated in the class of 1882, in the study of medicine. Going to Louisville, Ky., he there took a clinical course at the Hospital College of Medicine. He then came to Newport, Ark., in 1883, practiced there three years, and, in 1886, located at Walnut Ridge, where he has since resided. His marriage to Miss Emma Smith occurred on the 6th of February, 1885, at Newport, Ark. She was born at Brownsville, Tenn., and by her marriage became the mother of one child, Lancelot Minor. Jr. Dr. Minor and wife are members of the Episcopal [p.809] Church, parish of Newport. He is a Democrat in politics, and has for the past six years been local surgeon for the Missouri Pacific Railroad Company.
William Park Mitchell, farmer and stock raiser, is a son of William and Sallie (Ross) Mitchell, of North Carolina, in which State William Park Mitchell was born on December 25, 1836. The family resided in North Carolina until 1847, when they moved to Benton County, Tenn., and settled on a farm. Here they resided, a happy family, until the father's death, in 1872, and then the mother following him in 1875. William P. remained with his father until his majority, and then entered into the grocery business at Dresden, where he remained for fourteen months. He next commenced farming in Tennessee, up to the year 1870, and, thinking that Arkansas offered a better field for that business, he moved to the latter State, and settled in Lawrence County. On his arrival he bought 120 acres of timbered land and an additional 150 acres, with slight improvements upon it. He at once began to improve and cultivate his farms, and at the present time has about eighty acres under cultivation, with two fair residences and two tenant houses, besides a substantial double log house, in which he resides. He also owns a fine bearing orchard of peaches and apples. Mr. Mitchell was married in Benton County, Tenn., on July 27, 1862, to Miss Sarah F. Summers, a native of that State, and a daughter of Zachariah Summers, of Virginia. This union has given them six children, all of whom are living and in the best of health. Their names are Willis L., Zula, wife of H. D. Lawson; Emma, wife of Elijah Roberts; Anna and Maggie, both young ladies, and Katie. They have also lost three children: George, who died in his sixth year; Laura, dying at three years of age, and John, who died in his second year. Mr. Mitchell is a Democrat in politics, and is always loyal in his support of the principles and men of that party. He was appointed deputy sheriff and served in that capacity for a number of years, and is held in the highest esteem by the entire community. He has a splendid farm, a comfortable home, and is considered to be one of the most successful farmers in Lawrence County, all of which he has accumulated by his own good judgment and industry. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Mitchell also of the Agricultural Wheel, being president of the local Wheel.
J. E. Moore is a firm believer in the soil upon which he was born, having remained in this county since his birth. His occupation is that of farming, but he is also an exponent of the advantages of a good education, and finds time for instilling knowledge in the minds of Lawrence County's future men and women. He is the son of William Moore, one of Arkansas' pioneers, who is now residing near Powhatan, and his mother was Miss Martha A. Judkins, of Tennessee, who met, and was united to her husband, in Arkansas. Ten children were born to them, five boys and five girls, and three have since died. Those living are Henry A., Joseph E., Nathaniel A., Robert C., Margaret I., Leonard H. and Laura C. Lizzie, Susan A. and Clara S. are deceased. Mr. Moore received the first rudiments of his education in the common schools of this county, and studied the higher branches at Irwin's Institute. After being thoroughly equipped for the duties of a school teacher, he went to Big Lick, in 1882, and opened up his first school. He has since then followed that profession, with steadily increasing success, holding two terms each year. He was married, in 1887, to Miss Josephine Childress, a daughter of Col. R. A. Childress, one of the old settlers of Independence County, and a hearty old gentleman, in his seventy-eighth year. Mr. Moore is a member of the Baptist Church, and his wife of the Presbyterian. He is an active politician.
John H. Morgan is a Georgian, and was born in Walker County, that State (now Catoosa County), in the year 1838. He is a prosperous farmer of Morgan Township, and is a son of Henry Morgan, of Georgia, who was killed in a distressing manner, in 1864, by being thrown from an unruly mule. The elder Morgan came to Missouri with his family, in the year 1856, and settled at a point in Wayne County, about ten miles from Greenville, the county seat, where he farmed and cultivated the land, until the time of his death. His wife, [p.810] Polly (Blackwell) Morgan, of Georgia, died in about 1877. John H. Morgan is the fourth of ten children, and was in his sixteenth year when his parents came to Missouri. He attained his manhood in Wayne County, and in 1858 returned to Georgia, where he established himself in the grocery business. In 1862 he answered the call for men, and enlisted in Company A, of a Tennessee regiment, and fought under Captain White, until the close of the war. He afterwards went back to Missouri, and was there married to Miss Surilda Smith, of Wayne County, but a native of Hamilton County, Tenn. The couple have eight children living: Henry H. D., Joseph L., George W., Savanah J., William Jackson, Tennie C., Martha S., Laura Alice. They have lost three children, namely; John Morgan, born September 28, 1869, died September 7, 1886; General Robert Lee, born November 28, 1885, died March 15, 1889; and an infant daughter, who died, when eight days old, March 4, 1872. Mr. Morgan and his family came to Arkansas in 1869, and settled in Independence County, at a place some ten miles south of his present residence, where they lived until the year 1881, when he moved to where he now is. He and his wife are members of the Free Will Baptist Church, and are earnest workers in the religious field.
Capt. J. M. Phelps, senior member of the firm of Phelps Bros., general merchandise, was born in McNairy County, Tenn., July 17, 1841. His father came to Arkansas when twelve years of age, and located at a point near Dardanelle, in Yell County. Four years later he went to Northwest Missouri, where he remained a year, and then came back to Randolph and Greene Counties. He entered into mercantile life at Gainesville; thence to Southern Missouri, and from there to Lawrence County, Ark., in the latter part of 1860. His son, Capt. James M., received only a common school education in Tennessee and Arkansas, but his natural aptitude made up for any loss in that direction. When war was announced he was a resident of this county, and first joined the Seventh Arkansas Infantry, Company F, in April, 1861, Joseph Martin, captain. He was discharged in February, 1862, and returned home, where he remained until Hindman's call for volunteers, and, in April, 1862, he was captured, after having raised a cavalry company in response. That entire summer was spent by him in prison at St. Louis, Chicago and Johnson's Island. In 1862 he was exchanged, and joined Tim Reeves' company of Missouri cavalry, and served with them until the spring of 1864, when he raised a cavalry company, which he commanded until he surrendered, June 6, 1865, Company F, Fourteenth Missouri Cavalry. At the close of the war he returned to Lawrence County, which has been his home ever since, and embarked in farming and merchandising. Later on he spent three or four years traveling through Texas and Mexico, and in the spring of 1876 came to Walnut Ridge and established the business of Z. Phelps & Sons (J. M. & A. C.). The firm continued under that head until the year 1880, when it was merged into Z. Phelps & Son (J. M.). The present firm of Phelps Bros., was started up in 1884, with J. M., A. C. and Z. C. Phelps as partners. They do a heavy business in general supplies, their transactions in 1888 amounting to $125,000, and are one of the largest firms in their line in the county. J. M., the eldest, has practically retired from active business. Capt. Phelps owns probably 1,500 acres of land, divided into several fine farms, and, in conjunction with his father and brother, has a great amount of other lands in Lawrence and adjoining counties. He is a member of the Knights of Honor, and the Blue Lodge, Chapter and Commandery of the Masonic order, belonging to Hugh DePayne Commandery at Little Rock; is a member also of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. This year (1889) he was a delegate to the district conference at Corning. He is a Democrat in politics, and was mayor of Walnut Ridge for several years. In 1864 (February 18th) he was married to Miss Victoria Kinian, of Lawrence County, Ark., whose father, Henson Kinian, was a pioneer settler of Lawrence County. They have had one child, Virgil D., a little boy, who died in November, 1876, aged about nine years; and, having no other children of their own, the Captain and his wife are rearing a niece, Jessie Vinson.
Abram C. Phelps, of the firm of Phelps Bros., Walnut Ridge, general merchandise and supply house, was born in McNairy County, Tenn., January 4, 1848. When six years of age he came to Northeastern Arkansas, and has been reared principally in Lawrence County. He received a somewhat limited education in his youth–a disadvantage which the majority of our substantial men at the present day seem to overcome–and worked on his farm until the year 1868. On March 7 of that year he was married to Miss Sarah Fallin, who breathed her last ten months afterward. Mr. Phelps, shortly after the death of his wife, traveled with his brother, J. M., through Texas, Mexico and the greater part of the western country. When his trip had been finished he returned to Lawrence County, and in February, 1874, was united in wedlock to Miss Mattie Ammons. During that period he went into business with his father, establishing the firm known as Z. & A. C. Phelps, which he conducted for two years. The firm was then changed to Z. Phelps & Sons, and has since continued under that name. In 1884 he sold out his interest in the business, and went to Fort Smith, where he started a grocery, but one year later he returned to Walnut Ridge, and entered actively into mercantile life at that point again, and now has exclusive control of the firm's business. Besides his interests in the firm, he owns 660 acres of land, 500 acres of which are under cultivation. Mr. Phelps is a member of the Knights of Honor, and Blue Lodge, Chapter and Council of Masonic fraternity, and also of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Walnut Ridge, of which his wife is a regular attendant. They have three children: Flora, Walter and Claude.
Zaccheus C. Phelps, a partner in the house of Phelps Bros., well-known merchants of Walnut Ridge, was born in Greene County, Ark., November 21, 1858. His early life was spent on a farm, and, at the age of seventeen years, he entered the employ of his father and brother, where he remained three years, obtaining a thorough knowledge of mercantile affairs. Later on he formed a partnership with N. M. McCarroll, under the firm name of McCarroll & Phelps, which was continued for two years, when he bought out his partner's interest, and combined it with A. C. Phelps & Bros. Mr. Phelps owns 240 acres of good land, and has 130 acres of it under cultivation. He is a Royal Arch Mason, also a member of the Council, and of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His wife was Miss Mattie Brinkerhoff, of Warrensburg, Mo., whom he married on September 15, 1889, and one child has been born to them, Otis B. Mrs. Phelps' father is a minister of the Baptist denomination.
Claiborne Sullivan Pinnell, familiarly known as Uncle “Claib” Pinnell, has been a resident of Northeast Arkansas for about fifty-one years, or over half a century. He was born in what was then called the “New Purchase” of Kentucky, October 27, 1817. His father was Peter Pinnell, who removed to Franklin County, Mo., when the son was an infant, and afterward settled in Greene County, Ark., at Crowley's Ridge, where he remained until his death, in 1842, or thereabouts. His wife was Miss Annie Sullivan, of Kentucky, whose parents, Claiborne Sullivan and wife, nee Harvey, were South Carolinians. This couple were the parents of nine children, C. S. Pinnell being the only one living, so far as known, although his oldest brother, Louis, was living in the Choctaw Nation, I. T., two or three years ago, at the age of eighty-two years. The mother died in Lawrence County, on the Cache River, after the close of the war. Claiborne S. Pinnell was reared on a farm, and as his father always lived in a very new country, where schools were not to be found for love nor money, and teachers were few and far between, his education, as a consequence, was very limited. When nine years of age he met with a painful accident, which has rendered him a cripple all his life; a colt ran away with him one day, and, stepping into a hole, threw him off, breaking his right arm and shoulder, which has prevented him from doing any hard labor ever since. Notwithstanding this fact, he has been an active man all his life; following the plow, farming and raising stock. He came to Lawrence County about thirty years ago, and bought 160 acres on Village Creek, one and one-half miles north of Walnut Ridge, and has made this his home ever since, besides [p.812] owning another farm in this county, the two aggregating 240 acres. He has hunted “bar” all over the State, and about twelve or fourteen years ago he killed the largest panther that had ever been seen in that neighborhood, measuring eleven feet from both tips. Mr. Pinnell has made a lengthy trip to Oregon, and another to Texas, but looks upon Lawrence County as the dearest spot on earth. He was married to Miss Minerva C. Rhea, a sister of M. B. Rhea, and has had nine children. Four of them grew to maturity, but all are now deceased, including the mother. His second wife was Mrs. Amanda E. (Grayles) Moore, and has had no children by this lady, although his wife has a daughter by her former husband. Mr. Pinnell is a member of the Ravenden Springs Methodist Episcopal Church, as are his wife and step-daughter, Mettie Isabelle. Grandfather Claiborne Sullivan married his second wife in his ninety-eighth year, living two or three years afterward, showing the remarkable vitality existing in the family. He was a noted Baptist preacher in his time. Mr. Pinnell was an ardent hunter in his younger days, and has made considerable money in killing wild game and selling the hides and furs. He tanned the hide of the “painter” he killed some years ago, and made a pair of shoes out of it, which were quite a curiosity, on account of the associations connected with them.
Col. W. M. Ponder, farmer and proprietor of saw-mill, was born in Hickman County, Tenn., October 12, 1823. His father was Amos Ponder, of Georgia, one of the early settlers of Tennessee, moving to that State in the year 1800, and subsequently to Southeast Missouri, where he died, in 1868, in his seventy-fourth year. Col. Ponder's mother was Miss Nancy Dudley, of Tennessee, in which State she met and was married to his father. They were the parents of nine children, four of whom are still living. Mrs. Ponder died in the year 1879, aged about seventy-two years. The Colonel was reared on a farm in Tennessee, and received a somewhat limited education in his boyhood days, on account of the scarcity of schools in that section of the State. He applied himself to farm work until he reached his twenty-fourth year, when his father then moved to Missouri. Here he commenced farming and merchandising, and also dealing in produce and stock, shipping the latter to the New Orleans market in flatboats. He continued in this business some four or five years, and was then elected clerk of the circuit, county and probate courts, of Ripley County, Mo., which office he filled creditably for six years. He was formerly assessor for one or two terms in that county. After his term was finished in the court, he began farming and milling on quite an extensive scale, and was rapidly approaching the highest pinnacle of success in his business, when the dreadful news of war came to his ears. He left his interests and enlisted in the Ninth Regiment, Missouri State Guards, under Col. Lowe, of Gen, Jeff Thompson's brigade. His first battle was at Fredericktown, Mo., where he lost several relatives and friends in the fight. Subsequently he entered the Confederate army, where his bravery and knowledge of the tactics of war pushed him rapidly to the front, being promoted from sergeant through the different grades to colonel. He held that rank and commanded the Seventh Missouri Infantry in the Confederate army and served until the surrender at Shreveport, La., about the 25th of June, 1865. After peace had been declared he came to Arkansas and bought 200 acres of land, a couple of miles from the present town of Walnut Ridge. He then went to work with a vim and energy that were truly heroic, considering the fact that he was bare-footed at the time, and did not even have so much as a bed or a chair for his habitation. Two years later his perseverance began to tell, and success was slowly but surely coming over the horizon of his adversity. He commenced merchandising and farming, and in connection with these operated saw-mills and a cotton-gin, and in 1873 he came to Walnut Ridge, and bought some of the land on which the present town site is situated. He also laid off the town of Doniphan, Mo., and was the first man to build a cabin, and sold the first yard of calico in that place. He remained in Walnut Ridge for ten years, and also laid off the town site of that place on his arrival in 1873. He built the first residence in [p.813] Walnut Ridge, and was instrumental in securing the location for the Eastern district court-house, and also largely assisted in the erection of the Presbyterian and Methodist Episcopal Churches. He is a member of the Masonic order and is a Royal Arch Mason, and also the ruling elder of the Presbyterian Church. The Colonel was first married, in 1846, to Miss Mary Kittrell, of Southeast Missouri, and has had two children, one surviving, Nancy S., widow of Thomas Minton, of Walnut Ridge. Mrs. Ponder died in April, 1856, and he afterward married, in April, 1857, Miss Susan Hudspeth, of Missouri. Two children were born to them, both of them dying since. His wife died in January, 1862, and he was again married, this time to Miss Mary Montgomery, of Virginia. Six children were the result of this marriage, of whom five are living: Andrew, Harry Lee, George W., Edgar F. and Susan. Col. Ponder increased his farm of 200 acres to 2,600, and is also president of the Walnut Ridge & Hoxie Street Car Company. He is one of the best known and most highly respected citizens of Lawrence County; is a Democrat in politics, and in 1882-83 represented his county in the State legislature, and was county judge in 1873-74.
Wilson Price, postmaster and a well-known farmer and stock raiser of Taylor, was born in Union County, N. C., July 27, 1836. His parents are Valentine and Caroline (Hargett) Price, of the same State, who, a few years after their marriage, first moved to Smith County, Tenn., where they remained for three years, and in the fall of 1849 settled in Lawrence County, Ark., at a point near Smithville, where they resided until the father's death, in 1864. Wilson Price was reared and has lived in this county since his thirteenth year. He remained with his parents until he attained his maturity, and then commenced in life for himself. He was married in his twenty-second year, and located on a farm near Smithville, where he cultivated the soil until he came to his present residence, in 1876. Mr. Price has always been a man of industrious and progressive habits, and it did not take him long to obtain a fair competence. He bought land and added to his possessions whenever he saw a good chance to invest, and now owns over 1,000 acres of the best land in Arkansas, with some 300 acres of it cleared. The entire amount is comprised in four tracts, and is all situated in Lawrence County. Mr. Price was married in this county on January 7, 1858, to Miss Susan Ann Davis, a daughter of Ross Davis, of Tennessee, but on October 11, 1879, this lady died, leaving eight children to survive her: Sarah Ann, wife of John Bilberry; Nile A., George L., David P., Fillmore, Charles D., Philip V., and Lutz, a young lady. Nile A. and George L. are both married. Mr. Price has also lost five children, who died in early childhood. His second wife was a widow lady, Mrs. Mary Steadman, whom he married in 1881, this lady dying in 1885, and leaving one daughter, Hattie U. He married his present wife, who was formerly Miss Nancy Rider, of Independence County, on July 3, 1887. Both Mr. and Mrs. Price are members of the Baptist Church, in which the former is a deacon, and they are deeply interested in all matters concerning its welfare. In 1885 he established a general merchandise store, and by his methods of doing business, soon built up a good patronage. A postoffice was opened up in his place of business in April, 1886, and he was appointed postmaster, having had charge of the office since then.
Greene E. Raney, a prosperous and well-known farmer of Smithville, Ark., was born in Lawrence County, near that town, September 20, 1850. He is a son of Morgan Raney, also a native of Arkansas, born March 18, 1818, and died in 1877. Samuel Raney, the grandfather of Greene E., was a Virginian by birth, who married and settled in Missouri, where he reared part of his family. His son, Morgan Raney, was the youngest of eight children, and was born in Arkansas, in which State he lived all his life, never having evinced any desire to go out of it. Morgan Raney was one of the most. industrious and able men of his day, and at the time of his death owned about 1,880 acres of fine land, with a good portion of it under cultivation. At the time of his decease he presented each of his children with $2,000 cash, and a fine farm, since which time the land has doubled in value. He was [p.814] married to Miss Nancy Taylor, of Lawrence County, Ark., ho was born in 1827, and died in the year 1867. meeting her death through a very painful accident while coming from church. They were the parents of seven children, all of them now dead, with the exception of Leah, wife of G. W. Brady, postmaster of Smithville, and Greene E. Raney. His second marriage was with Miss Elvira Janes, by whom he had two children, Loey G. and an infant, both deceased. Greene E. Raney was reared in this (Lawrence) County, and, like his father, prefers to remain on the soil of Arkansas all his life. He began farming for himself after his father's death, and the same energy that characterized the latter was part of his own spirit. as he has demonstrated by his present prosperity. His brother, John W., enlisted in the army, and was killed during the war, while he remained at home to assist his father, who needed his help. After the death of the elder Raney, he took charge of the entire estate. and has brought it up to its present proportions. He was married October 22, 1873. to Miss Sarah Jackson, of Sharp County. Ark., a daughter of Marcus Jackson, of Tennessee. Six children were born to them by this union; Lotta. Ernest and Joseph M., all of whom are living, and three others who died very young. Mr. and Mrs. Raney are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. South, and Mr. Raney is a Dem. in politics. He is a prominent man in all enterprises for the advancement and improvement of his county, and is one of the most liberal, open. hearted men in that section.
Moses Bolling Rhea is one of the oldest settlers
of Lawrence County. and has been here over fifty-four years. There is only one
citizen in the above county. C. S. Pinnell. who has been in this section longer
than Mr. Rhea. He was born in Warren County. Tenn., June 6, 1822. and is the son
of Obadiah Rhea. of East Tennessee. who settled in Arkansas about the year 1835,
and located within fifteen miles of the present town of Walnut Ridge, where he
lived until his death, in 1855. The wife of Obadiah Rhea was Miss Elizabeth
Littlepage. of Tennessee. They were the parents of ten children, six of whom are
still living. Their names are: Moses B., Thomas, a farmer of Greene County:
Elizabeth, widow of James G. Rutherford, residing near the old homestead: Nancy,
wife of James Edward, of Greensboro. Ark.; Mary, the wife of C. C. Grayson. of
Greene County; Emily, the wife of Allan Pierce, a resident of Cache Township.
This is indeed a remarkable showing for one family. Six of the ten children are
living, the oldest being sixty-eight years old and the youngest fifty-four
years. They have outlived every family who settled in Lawrence County, at about
the same time, and have more living members as a proof of their
longevity than any other of the early settlers. The mother of these children died at the age of seventy-two years, in 1871 or 1872. Moses B. was thirteen years of age when he first came to Lawrence County, but resided in Greene County, until his twenty-third year, before he settled on his present farm. seven miles east of Walnut Ridge. He has been a farmer all his life, and a very successful one, owning some 1,200 acres of land, of which 550 acres are under cultivation, and besides his lands. he owns considerable stock. His children have cause to remember him with gratitude, as he has presented each of them with a good farm. He first started in life for himself when twenty-two years of age, with nothing but a mare and colt. The meagerness of his worldly possessions, however, did not disturb him in the least. and it was not long before his industry secured for him almost all of the freighting between Cape Girardeau, Memphis, Powhatan. Jacksonport. Forest City and other points, and no doubt he has hauled more freight than any other man in Lawrence County. He fought under Price during the war, and was in that general's raids through Missouri and Kansas. Hard work never affects him apparently, and he keeps it up steadily on the farm. His principles were toward the Union at first, but he afterward changed to be a strong Southern man. In his early days he was a Whig, and mingled in polities considerably, but under no circumstances would he ever accept an office, although often urged to do so. He was married February 8, 1844. to Miss Sarah C. Lamb. of Alabama, whose parents. William and Mary (See) Lamb, were among the earlier [p.815] settlers of this county. She died in 1867, and Mr. Rhea was again married in 1868 to Clementine Seego. This wife died in 1869, and in 1870 he was married to Miss Mary Slavin, whose death occurred in 1871. His fourth wife was Miss Sarah Daily, who died in 1876, and his present wife is Miss Ruth Kinyon, who has lived in this county about thirty-eight years. Mr. Rhea is the father of sixteen children, only five of whom are living: Murcinda, wife of William Hennessee; John A., of Walnut Ridge; Flavius, married; Laura Daily, who lives near the homestead; James and William, who live at home.
John A. Rhea. proprietor of Walnut Ridge livery stables, was born in Greene County, Ark., September 30, 1854, and came to Lawrence County, when twelve years of age. He received but a limited amount of schooling in his young days. and was reared on his father's farm. On July 3, 1876, he was married to Miss Lizzie Cooper, a daughter of Thomas and Ibbie (Willis) Cooper, early settlers of this county. After his marriage he commenced farming for himself, but shortly afterward gave up that occupation, and came to Lawrence County in the year 1877, where he opened a hotel. Five years later he went into the business of buying and selling horses, and then started a livery, which he has fostered into a complete success. It is the only livery stable in the Eastern district of Lawrence County, and commands quite a large trade. He also buys and sells horses, and is the owner of a farm of 143 acres, of which 133 acres are under cultivation. The bus line running between Walnut Ridge and Hoxie is controlled by him, and he has the mail contract between those points. In politics Mr. Rhea is a Democrat, and was the first town marshal of Walnut Ridge. He has two children, Harry and Annie L.
Dr. J. V. Richardson, whose name is well known throughout Northeast Arkansas, was born in Spencer County, Ind., on the 8th of April, 1838. His parents were J. V. and Elizabeth (Everton) Richardson. of Kentucky and Indiana, respectively, who moved to Arkansas in 1844, and settled in Sharp County, where they lived until the year 1861. They then removed to Texas, but came back to Arkansas in 1866, and located in Fulton County, where the older Richardson still resides at the age of eighty-six years, his wife dying about the year 1870. Dr. Richardson came to this State with his father when a boy of eight years, and remained with him until he had reached his maturity. He then commenced the study of medicine in Jackson and Lawrence Counties, under the guidance of the then celebrated Dr. Hatfield, and in 1860 first began practicing in Jackson County. In 1862 he enlisted in the Confederate army as a private, but was shortly afterward promoted, and sent out on detached duty. He visited his home again in 1863, and in the spring of the following year rejoined his company, and served until his surrender at Jacksonport, in June, 1865. The Doctor fought in the battles at Little Rock, Independence (Mo.), Kansas City, Big Blue, Boonsboro (Ark.), and in Price's raids through Missouri. After the war was over he returned to Jackson County, and resumed his practice and farming until 1873, when he moved to Lawrence County, and located in the neighborhood of where he now resides. He continued in his profession up to 1879, when he built a store-room, and in 1880 began dealing in general merchandise. He has been very active in commercial life and farming since then, giving up his practice entirely, and has now built up a successful business, and is one of the leading merchants of that section. The Doctor was first married June 11, 1865, in Jackson County, to Miss Sarah A. Johnson, who died June 4, 1870. There were two children by this marriage: William D., who died in his twelfth year, and Mahala E., wife of William Beavers, of this county. He married his present wife in Jackson County, in 1875. The lady's name was formerly Miss Elizabeth Brackenridge, a daughter of James Brackenridge, one of the pioneers of Jackson County. There are four children by this marriage: Ada; Gilbert, Aggie and May. Dr. Richardson is a member of Thornburg Lodge No. 371, A. F. & A. M., and is Master of his lodge. He is also a Royal Arch Mason, and a member of Walnut Ridge Chapter, and has represented his lodge in the Grand Lodge on several occasions. He has served as Worshipful Master for six or seven years, and has a lodge-room over his store-room.
Hamilton W. Richey is a son of John Richey, of Virginia, who moved to Indiana in his younger days, and married Miss Polly Woods, of that State, locating in Gibson County, where Hamilton was born December 29, 1829. John Richey followed his occupation of farming in Indiana until the year 1844, when he removed to Arkansas, and settled in Lawrence County. He resided in that place, and reared his family, until the time of his death, in the fall of 1861, when he passed away, regretted by all who knew him. Up to the time of his decease Mr. Richey had been a survivor of the War of 1812, and was at Mobile, Ala., when the battle of New Orleans was fought. He was also a captain of militia during his residence in Indiana. Hamilton W. Richey came to Arkansas when in his fourteenth year, and is the oldest of three surviving sons, out of a family of eight who grew to maturity and had families of their own. He remained with his father until his twenty-third year, and was then united in marriage to Mrs. Sarah Ann Richey, December 12, 1852, the lady being a widow, and a native of Lawrence County. After their marriage they settled on a small farm in Flat Creek, and, in the spring of 1867, moved to their present home. Mr. Richey commenced clearing his land at once, and at the present time has almost 225 acres under cultivation. He owns altogether about 700 acres of land, on different tracts, a portion of it being cleared, and owes his present prosperity to his own enterprise, having but very little property when he first started in life. Mr. Richey is one of the substantial and progressive men to whom Lawrence County can point with pride, and by his industry and economy has placed himself upon a basis where others must look at him with admiration. In March, 1862, he enlisted in the Confederate army, becoming a member of the First Arkansas Battalion, and served until taken prisoner, at Port Hudson, July 8, 1863. The command was again re-organized the following fall, and then Mr. Richey held the rank of first lieutenant, and continued in that capacity until his surrender, at Jacksonport, Ark., where he was paroled in June, 1865. He had two children by his first wife, both of them deceased, and his wife also dying in 1857. He contracted a second marriage, his wife being Miss Mary Wayland, of Arkansas, who died in 1876, leaving six children: David H., John H. and Joseph W., while three others lived to maturity, and two married before their deaths occurred. Their names are Hamilton W., Sarah Ann M. and Amanda J. Mr. Richey was again married, his third wife being Miss Mattie E. Walker, of Gibson County, Tenn., and has had two children by this marriage, Nora May and Mattie Aoms. He was elected justice of the peace of his township, and, at the expiration of his first term, was reelected to a second term. Mr. Richey and his wife are both members of the Christian Church, and he is also a member of the Agricultural Wheel.
James P. Rogers, a well-known farmer of Cache Township, was born in Middle Tennessee, March 10, 1847. He is the son of John B. Rogers, a native of North Carolina, who settled in Tennessee about the year 1846, and from there came to Arkansas and located on Black River, eight miles or more east of Pocahontas, where he resided until his death, two years later. His wife was Miss Ann S. Collier, of North Carolina, a daughter of Henry Collier, who settled in Arkansas about the year 1850 and located on Black River, in Randolph County, in which place he purchased half a section of land. He was one of the first settlers in that region and lived there until his death, in 1855, or thereabouts. Mrs. Rogers is still living and resides in Red River County, Tex., at the age of seventy years. She is the mother of twelve children, seven of them living, whose names are: James P. Rogers, Martha L., widow of William Sutton, a resident of Red River County, Tex.; John C. and Henry C., twins, the former a resident of Fort Worth, Tex., and the latter near Arkadelphia, Ark.; Mary E., the wife of John W. Scoggin, of Red River County, Tex.; Senora, wife of Samuel Daniels, and Robert Lee, also of Red River County, Tex. James P. Rogers spent he earlier part of his life on a farm in Tennessee, and in his twenty-second year went to [p.817] Sherman, Tex., where he worked as a carpenter. He then traveled through the Indian Territory for a short time, after which he undertook the business of freighting between Paul's Valley and Fort Sill. His next trip was back to Texas, along the Red River, and after finding a suitable location he commenced farming. He continued at various occupations until the year 1871, when he came to Randolph County, Ark., and bought 120 acres of land, and on December 23, 1872, was married to Miss Ellen E. Brooks, a daughter of Albert W. W. Brooks, who has the reputation of being the wealthiest man in Randolph County, Ark. Mr. and Mrs Rogers then came to Cache Township, in Lawrence County, and settled on a farm of 240 acres, of which 115 acres are in a good state of cultivation. He owns 440 acres more in two tracts of land in Randolph County. Mr. and Mrs. Rogers are the parents of seven children, five of them living, whose names are recorded as follows: John A., William H., Julia A., Magnolia, Mary Susan. He is a member of the Knights and Ladies of Honor, and a man held in high esteem.
Charles C. Rogers, attorney and county examiner, was born in Madison County, Tenn., April 1, 1852. He is a son of Hon. D. S. and Nancy G. (Taylor) Rogers, of North Carolina and Virginia, respectively. After his marriage, the elder Rogers resided in Tennessee for a number of years, where he farmed to a considerable extent, and for twenty-five years was chairman of the county court of Madison County. In his sixty-fifth year Mr. Rogers was admitted to the bar, but as he had always declined to practice, his membership was conferred more as an honor. Previous to the war he had been elected a member of the legislature, and for almost twenty-five years, continuously, he held the office of justice of the peace. His death occurred in the spring of 1886, leaving behind him a name respected and honored wherever mentioned. Charles C. Rogers grew to manhood on the farm in Tennessee. His facilities for attending school in his youth were very meager, but, knowing the advantages of a good education in order to make a success in life, he applied himself studiously to his books at every opportunity, and now not only is he posted in the common and higher English branches, but is also well versed in Greek and Latin. After mastering his studies, Mr. Rogers taught school himself in Tennessee for five terms, and for one term in Arkansas. In 1875 he commenced the study of law at the Cumberland Law School, Lebanon, Tenn., and completed his full course. He then located at Jackson, Tenn., and in 1881 was offered the editorial chair of a newspaper in that city, which he occupied for eight months, his work during that time attracting widespread attention. In 1882 he moved to Powhatan, where he has resided ever since, and commenced the practice of law. He has been successful from the very beginning, and now ranks as one of the best lawyers in Northeast Arkansas. Mr. Rogers was married to Mrs. Ella Croom, a charming widow, of Tennessee, who had been the companion of his youth. Mrs. Rogers has one daughter by her former marriage, and her union with Mr. Rogers has given them a son–Willie P. Rogers. They are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, of which Mr. Rogers is steward. and the latter also holds the office of county examiner, to which he was appointed in 1888.
Dr. D. B. Rudy, physician and surgeon, is a man of whom it can be truly said that he has reached the top round in his profession. He was born in Henderson County, Ky., December 24, 1851, and is a son of William R. and Jane P. (Smith) Rudy, both of the same county and State, the father being an extensive stock raiser and farmer. The Doctor grew to manhood in Henderson County, and in his youth received the best education to be had. He attended the high schools and also the Cairo Academy, of Cairo, that county. and in 1871 commenced the study of medicine under Dr. Samuel Furman, of Cairo, a noted physician of that period. He obtained his first course of medical lectures at the University of Louisville, and graduated in 1875. His first location was in McLean County, Ky., where he practiced until the fall of 1876, and then moved to Sharp County, Ark. In 1878 he left Sharp County and returned to the University to pursue his studies still further, and graduated on March [p.818] 1, 1879. He then came to Lawrence County, Ark., in May, 1879, and commenced practicing, and is now looked upon as one of the leaders in the medical profession. The Doctor was married at Smithville, Ark., to Miss Belle Henderson in 1880, who died seven years later, leaving three children. His second marriage was to Miss Paralee Fortenberry, of Lawrence County, in 1888, and the result of this happy union has been one child. The names of those children by his first wife are Maud, Anna Belle and William B., and the child of his last wife is James Frederick. The Doctor has built up a splendid practice, and owns considerable property in Lawrence County. He is a very popular man, owing it to both his skill as a physician and his personal magnetism. He also devotes a portion of his attention to stock raising and farming, and has been very successful in both, and is also a member of the Lawrence County Medical Society.
Silas Ruffner, of Walnut Ridge, is one of the oldest citizens of Lawrence County. He was born in New Madrid County, Mo., in 1836, and is the same age as that of his adopted State–Arkansas. His father was Elias Ruffner, of what is now Kanawha County, W. Va., who was a farmer by occupation. The elder Ruffner moved from Virginia to Indiana, and afterward to Illinois, Wisconsin, Arkansas and Texas. He came to Arkansas in 1844, and located at Crowley's Ridge, in Poinsett County, and in 1857 removed to Texas, where he contracted pneumonia, and died the same year, aged sixty years. He was married to Miss Nancy Phillips, of Virginia, and had five children, four of them living in Lawrence County and one in Prairie County. The mother is still living in the former county, at the age of seventy-eight years, and has full possession of all her faculties. Silas Ruffner was reared as a farmer, and had been in that business until within the past three years. He has had but a limited education, but is a man of strong will and a determination that overcomes all obstacles. He has resided the greater portion of his life in Lawrence County, having come here in the year 1850, and can recount a score of reminiscences of the early days of this State. He first lived in Poinsett and Jackson Counties, and remembers when Jacksonport, in the latter county, was merely a canebrake. He can also remember when the Jackson port and Pocahontas country road was opened, which covered a distance of sixty-two miles, and had but one house upon it, which was called the “Stranger's Home,” as that was the only place of accomodation on the entire road. In 1886 Mr. Ruffner established himself in the merchandising business at Walnut Ridge, and has had very fair success. He is a member of Walnut Ridge Lodge No. 19731, Knights of Honor, and also a member of the town council. In 1862 he enlisted in Capt. Henry's company, and served three and one-half years through the war. He was discharged June 5, 1865, and held the rank of second lieutenant at the time of his release. He has been married four times, two of his wives having been sisters, and all four of them cousins. He has had eleven children altogether, and seven of them are still living: Savannah (the wife of John E. Johnson, of Walnut Ridge), Joseph and Nancy Owen (who reside in this county), Williger (the wife of Edgar 'Neal, of the “Stranger's Home”), Julia (the wife of Davis Ruffner, of this county), Henry, George and John. He has married for the fifth time, his present wife having been Rachel Upchurch. Mr. Ruffner is in splendid health, and has never taken a cupful of medicine in the whole course of his existence, nor touched a drink of whisky. In politics, he is a Democrat.
T. A. J. Runyan, M. D., one of Lawrence County's
popular citizens, and a physician of excellent reputation, was born in
Vermillion County, Ind., in the year 1829. He is a son of William and Melinda (Murey)
Runyan, of Tennessee and Kentucky, respectively, who were married in Tennessee,
and moved to the State of Illinois, shortly after. Dr. Runyan received his
education from the district schools in his earlier days, and later on at the
Academy of Georgetown, Tenn. He commenced the study of medicine in 1855, under
the guidance of Dr. John L. Yarnell, a celebrated physician in those day, and is
now one of the leading men in his profession. He also practiced five years under
the care of an elder brother, Dr. M. D. L. Runyan. While at Nashville [p.819]
taking a course of lectures, the Doctor had the misfortune to lose one of his
eyes by erysipelas, which caused him to give up his studies for a time. This,
however, did not deter him from mastering the intricacies of his chosen
profession, and in 1864 he resumed the study of medicine. He came to Arkansas in
1863, and located in what is now Sharp County, and commenced building up his
practice within four miles of where he now resides. He is the oldest physician
residing in this part of the county, and, besides his profession, is the owner
of a large and very productive farm. He has upward of 200 acres under
cultivation, besides other lauds in various sections, all of which he has
accumulated by his own industry. The Doctor was practically penniless at the close of the war, and his present prosperity is a good evidence of his indomitable pluck and energy. He was married to Miss Mary A. Campbell, of Tennessee, and eight children have been given them to brighten the home, four of whom have died. The names of those living are: Ester Jane, wife of Henry Doyle; Martha M., wife of James M. Turner; William, and Josephine, wife of J. W. McLaughlin. The dead are: Marcus, an infant not named, Eliza Ann and Melinda. The Doctor is a member of Lodge No. 126 of the A. F. & A. M.
John J. Sharp, one of the principal farmers and stock raisers in Lawrence County, was born in this county, on the 6th of June, 1846. He is a son of John Sharp, who was born in the same county and State, in 1818, and a grandson of Solomon Sharp, one of the first settlers to till the soil of Arkansas. His grandfather began farming and stock raising on his arrival in this section, and that particular business has been followed by father and son for three generations. Their first location was on the place now owned by Capt. Stewart, near Powhatan. John Sharp was a soldier in the Mexican War, and was the second child of a family of nine. His intrepidity led him to the front ranks of battle, where he sickened and died, without the privilege of bidding his family good bye. He married Miss Luriza Turman, a Kentucky lady, in 1816, who died in 1888. There were three children born to them: Mrs. Jane Smith, Mrs. Mary Williams, a widow lady, and John J. Sharp, of whom we write, Mr. Sharp remained in this county until August, 1862, when he enlisted in the Confederate army, and was one of the raiders through Missouri, under Gen. Price. He returned home the same year, and in 1865 went to Jacksonport, where he was paroled. When twenty years of ago he went on his uncle's farm, at Black Rock. and remained two years. After leaving him he moved to his present place of residence, which he bought from his uncle in 1870. It is one of the oldest places of settlements in the county, and has 100 acres of land under cultivation. Mr. Sharp was married, September 20, 1868, to Miss Lucinda C. McGhehey, a daughter of Judge McGhehey, who has filled that office for fourteen years. They have five children: William Henry, Alice, Albert Redmond, Ernest W. and Lacie B., and are members of the Christian Church. Mr. Sharp has been a member of the school board for a number of years, and has always used his influence to the fullest extent, in the cause of education. He is a firm believer in the maxim that “knowledge is power,” and is always one of the first to advance a cause for the enlightenment and instruction of childhood. He is the owner of a large sorghum mill and a splendid farm. His mill has a capacity of forty five gallons per day.
T. J. Sharum, general marchant of Walnut Ridge, was born in Davices County, Ind., February 4, 1840. His father, H. V. Sharum, is a native of Kentucky, and an early settler of Daviess County, Ind., where he still resides on a farm, at the age of eighty years. The older Sharum was married to Miss Rosa Ann Cisell, of Kentucky, and eight children were the result of this union. One of the sons, James A., was a member of Company I, Twenty-fourth Infantry, Indiana Volunteers, and was killed in the battle of Shiloh. Two of the sons reside in Arkansas, T. J. Sharum and J. C. Sharum, the latter a resident of Portia, Mr. T. J. Sharum was reared on a farm in Indiana, and received a fair education in his youth, He learned the carpenter's trade early in life, and worked at it in the town of Manitowoc, Wis., until the fall of 1860. In 1861 (July 3) he enlisted in Company [p.820] I, Twenty-fourth Infantry, Indiana Volunteers, which was organized at Camp Knox, and in the latter part of that summer went to Missouri, under Gen. Fremont. He took part in the battle of Shiloh, where he was wounded in the left shoulder by a rifle ball. He was granted a furlough of several months after this occurrence, and later on rejoined his regiment at Helena, Ark., and with the exception of skirmishing, was not engaged in actual battle until the siege of Vicksburg. On June 23, he was taken prisoner, and finally landed in the famous Libby Prison. Later on he was exchanged, and rejoined his regiment at New Iberia, La. At Clinton, La., he did some skirmish duty, and in the year of 1864, he was mustered out at Baton Rouge. Mr. Sharum's next occupation was that of traveling salesman for a jewelry house, and then a stock trader. He journeyed through the Choctaw Nation and the State of Arkansas for two years, trading in stock and hides. He then established himself in business in Indiana for seven years, and afterward was a wholesale manufacturer of boots and shoes in St. Louis, Mo., for eight years, in connection with a brother. In November, 1883, he came to Walnut Ridge, his present home, and purchased the business of J. M. Phelps & Sons. His undertakings have all been successful, and he is now the owner of some 3,000 acres of land, besides that part of Walnut Ridge where the court-house and Methodist Episcopal Church stand. He is commander of Lawrence Post No. 72, G. A. R., and is a member of the L. O. O. F., Good Templars and Knights and Ladies of Honor. He was married April 24, 1866, to Miss Lydia A. Loutz, of Indiana, and has had three children, one of them dying since (Edward). The two still living are Monte and Myrtle.
Arthur W. Shirey, a prominent merchant of Ashland Township, comes from an old South Carolinian family, but is of German descent. He was born in Lexington County, S. C., on the 18th of May, 1835, and is a son of Enoch and Martha (Sandford) Shirey, who, a few years after their marriage, moved to the State of Georgia, and from there to Alabama, where they settled on a farm, and proceeded to make their future home. The father died September 6, 1866, while visiting his son, A. W. Shirey, in Texas, giving the family a blow from which they did not recover for some years. A. W. Shirey remained with his father until he had attained his manhood, and then moved to Texas, where he located in Smith County, and afterward in Angelina County. In 1862 he enlisted in the Thirteenth Texas Cavalry, as a private, but his valiant services for the cause of the Confederacy soon won for him the rank of orderly sergeant, in which capacity he remained until the company disbanded at Hempstead, Texas. He fought at the battles of Mansfield (La.), Pleasant Hill (La.), and Jenkins' Ferry (Ark.), besides a great number of others equally as noted. After the war he returned to his Texas home, where he was occupied in farming for one year, and in 1867 moved to Arkansas, and located at Jonesboro. In the latter place he was engaged in business for eighteen months, and in the fall of 1808 settled on Black River, in Lawrence County, where he transacted business for a period of four and one-half years. His next venture was at Minturn, but he sold out his interest at that place, and began farming near by, This he continued four years, then returning to Minturn, and forming a partnership, under the name of Shirey & Henry, for the sale of general merchandise. After a period of one year and a half Mr. Henry withdrew from the business, which Mr. Shirey continued on his own account, and he now does a business of about $30,000 annually, besides handling cotton to a considerable extent. He carries a large and fine stock of dry goods, groceries, queensware and general supplies, and has built up a prosperous trade. He is deemed to be one of the shrewdest business men in that section, and no man in business in Lawrence County has a better reputation for fair dealing and honest goods. Mr. Shirey first commenced on almost nothing, but, by his own good management and legitimate methods of doing business, has accumulated a comfortable fortune. He owns some 4,000 acres of land in this county, on ten different tracts, of which 1,300 acres are cleared and under cultivation. Once before he had been on the road to prosperity, but lost all he possessed while coming [p.821] from Jonesboro to Lawrence County, on the Black River, in 1868. The boat upon which all of his savings and goods had been freighted sunk at Bird's Point, and he was again forced to start in life without a dollar. His wonderful energy and tact have once more placed him upon a solid basis, and now, besides his 4,000 acres of land and large business, he owns considerable other personal property, and is considered to be one of the bulwarks of commercial life in Lawrence County. Mr. Shirey has been a Spiritualist in religious faith for the past fifteen years, and for some three years he has been a magnetic healer. He delights in treating patients after medicine has failed to cure, and many have been restored to health and strength through his aid. People who are poor and destitute receive the benefits of his healing powers gratis.
Capt. William C. Sloan, of Smithville, Ark., was
born in Lawrence County, August 14, 1833. His father was Fergus Sloan, of
Lincoln County, N. C., who was born in December, 1787, and died in November,
1849. The elder Sloan remained in North Carolina until he reached his
twenty-fifth year, and then moved to Missouri, and settled in Washington County,
near Caledonia. He resided there until his marriage to Miss Rosanna Ruggles, of
Otsego, N. C., who was born in 1797, and came to Missouri in 1818. They moved to
Arkansas in 1820, and located in the Spring River district, where they opened up
a large farm (for that time) of 150 acres. Both Mr. and Mrs. Sloan were members
of the Methodist Episcopal Church,
and the elder Sloan's house in early days was often a meeting place for the missionaries of that time. He died, while on a visit to his former home in Missouri, on November 13, 1849, and his wife, the mother of Capt. Sloan, died on the old homestead, August 10, 1860. Nine children were born to the parents, all of them living to be married. William C. Sloan was the seventh child, and the youngest of four boys, and besides himself, has three sisters still living. He grew to maturity in this county, and on arriving at the age of twentyone years, commenced doing business for himself. During the war, he was captain of Company A, Twenty-fifth Arkansas, and was mustered in with his company, March 1, 1862, serving about six months in that command. He next joined Col. Baber's cavalry regiment, the Forty-fifth Arkansas, and was a member of the raiding expedition, under General Price, through Missouri. After the war was over, he returned. home and entered actively into mercantile life, and has resided in Smithville ever since. He is also a partner in the firm of Sloan & Co., at Imboden, Ark., and besides, deals in stock very extensively. Capt. Sloan is a Democrat in politics, and represented his county in the rebel legislature of 1866-67, when they first convened after the war, and was known throughout the county, as a fair-minded and conscientious man in the discharge of his duties. He was first married to Mrs. Susan Sloan, the widow of his brother, who was born in Lawrence County, in 1831, and died in October, 1865. This union gave them two children, William F., and Leona, wife of L. T. Andrews. His second wife was Miss Elizabeth J. Cravens, whom he married in 1871, a native of the same county, but educated at Shelbyville, Ky., and by whom he had three children: Homer F., Eula L., and Fannie, all of them living. The mother died September 29, 1887. Capt. Sloan is a member of Lodge No. 29, A. F. & A. M., of Smithville, and is widely known for his generosity and good fellowship.
Clay Sloan, circuit court clerk, Powhatan, was born in Lawrence County, Ark., August 20, 1861. He comes of a family who have made Arkansas their home for a great many years, his father, James F. Sloan, having been reared in the same county and State, as also his mother, Margaret J. (Raney) Sloan. The older Sloan was, for the greater portion of his life, a prominent merchant of Powhatan, and was one of the most progressive men in commercial circles in that city up to the time of his death, in 1873. His wife still survives him, and is now married to M. D. Baber, an attorney of Powhatan. Mr. Clay Sloan attained his maturity in Lawrence County, and in his youth received a thorough education at Arkansas College, Batesville, Ark. He completed his full course at college in 1881, and was then engaged in teaching [p.822] at Powhatan until the year 1886. His abilities having been tested and recognized by this time, he was elected to the position which he now occupies pies, and in 1888 was re-elected to the same office. Mr. Sloan also filled the office of county examiner from 1884 to 1886, a position in which his actions were reflected with credit. He is a Democrat in politics and is strong in his support of the principles of that party. In the month of October, 1888, Mr. Sloan was captivated by and married to Miss Katie Matthews, a daughter of B. F. Matthews, and they are as happy as two people can be who have made a wise selection in the lottery of life. They are both members of the Old School Presbyterian Church, and are held in high esteem by their neighbors.
Thompson F. Smith, justice of the peace, was born in Washington County, Mo., on the 7th of February, 1828. He is the son of William C. and Jemima (Warner) Smith. His father moved from his native place, Fayette County, Ky., in his nineteenth year, and settled in Washington County, Mo., where he met and married his wife. They remained in this State until the year of 1841, when they were induced to remove farther west, and located in Arkansas, near Smithville. In 1846 a permanent home was established at what is now Black Rock, but what was then almost a barren prairie. Mr. William C. Smith was first justice of the peace in that county, and was afterward elected to the county judgeship, in 1854, by the Democratic party. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was a member of Johnson's regiment. His contributions toward the church were liberal, he besides being a strong advocate in the erection and maintenance of schools. Mr. Smith's mother died July 31, 1886, in the New Hope Baptist Church, one of the oldest churches in the county, of which she had been a member for thirty-nine years. To them were born fifteen children, of whom five are still living. Mr. Smith is their fifth child, and moved with his parents to Arkansas when in his fourteenth year. He attained his-majority on the place where he now resides, and, after reaching that age, his first steps were toward improving the farm, and it is now his great satisfaction in being able to say that, since coming to this point, he has lived to see trees grow from mere shrubs to be over two and one-half feet in diameter. He has under cultivation about 100 acres of land, and is the owner of some 200, with orchards and buildings upon them. His new fruit evaporator is the only one in the county, and since he has been in possession of it, has evaporated over 3,000 pounds of fruit. Mr. Smith was married on the 1st of January, 1863, to Miss Letitia Moore, of this county, a daughter of Jackson Moore, one of the earliest settlers. They have had five children, four of whom are still living: James H., Charles B., Julia A. and William H. Mr. Smith is a member of the A. F. & A. M., o Rock Cave, this county. He has served as justice of the peace for seventeen years, and is the present justice of the peace and notary public. He fought in the late war, and held the rank of lieutenant in the Thirteenth Arkansas, Company D. He had command of Company D in the battle of Shiloh, and his lips give many a thrilling recital of narrow escapes during that period. Mr. Smith is an energetic citizen, a popular official, and a prominent figure in his county.
David C. Smith was born in Lawrence County, Ark., February 10, 1837, and is the son of David Smith, of Vermont, who settled in Kentucky in his earlier days, where he met and was married to Miss Mariah Homby, a native of that State. In the year 1830 Mr. David Smith and his family left their Kentucky home and found a suitable location in Lawrence County, Ark. This section of country was sparsely settled at that time, and Mr. Smith had all the difficulties to contend with that befell the pioneers of that State. However, he cleared up a portion of the timber and commenced farming, which occupation he followed until the time of his death, which occurred on the 12th of March, 1881. Both Mr. and Mrs. Smith were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Seven children were born to them, of whom four are still living, David C. being the youngest. The advantages of education were very limited in those days in Mr. Smith's section, owing to the newness of the country, and he found, quite early in life, [p.823] the necessity of schooling himself. At the age of twenty-two he located on the home place, where he remained until he was able to purchase a home of his own, and, owing to his natural ability and pluck, was not long in attaining his object. He served three years in the Confederate army, being a member of Col. Shaver's regiment, and was present at the surrender at Jacksonport, Jackson County, Ark. At the close of the war he returned home and engaged in farm work, and some years later was elected justice of the pence of Black River Township, filling the duties of that office for two terms. He was then elected to the office of county judge in the fall of 1886, serving two years. Mr. Smith has also been a member of the board of equalization for four years, and has filled several minor offices. He was first married in 1859 to Miss Mary A. Bottoms, a lady of Tennessee, who died on the 19th of March, 1888. He had seven children by this wife, five of them deceased: David W., Elias H., Mary E., Clay C. and Emmett E. Those living are James C. and John R. Mr. Smith was married a second time to Mrs. C. A. Pyland, a native of Tennessee, and this lady had three children: Mary F., Georgia A. and Modena W. They are members of the Baptist Church. Mr. Smith is an active worker in school and church affairs. He is a stanch Democrat, and was a Whig before the reconstruction.
J. C. Starr, M.D., was born in Cannon County, Tenn., on the 2d day of August, 1843. He is a son of John and Celinda (Shumate) Starr. The family settled in Missouri, in 1850, and located in Wright County, where Mr. Starr, the elder, engaged in farming and stock raising. The Doctor remained with his father until he reached maturity, when he began the study of medicine with Dr. J. F. Brooton, one of the leading physicians of Wright County, in 1868. He finally moved to Lawrence County, Mo., and enrolled as physician and surgeon in the clerk's office in Mount Vernon, Mo., in July, 1874, where he remained until moving to Arkansas, when he settled in Lawrence County in 1875. His first place of residence was at Smithville, but in 1887 he selected Black Rock as a more desirable location, and has continued there ever since. He has a large practice, and is a man of high standing in that community, which position has been won by his sterling qualities and skill in his profession, and he is in every way worthy of the success attending him. The Doctor met and won Miss E. J. Smith, a young lady of Arkansas. in 1882. Five children have been born to them– Clara, Tolivar, Webby. Ophelia and Mary. The family are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and the Doctor himself is a member and Junior Warden of Black Rock Lodge of Masons.
Andrew J. Stewart, a well-known and extensive
stock raiser and farmer. was born January 15. 1848, in Phelps County. Mo. His
father, James Stewart, was married in Missouri to Miss Melinda Lane, of Iowa,
who, after their marriage, first settled in Dent County, Mo., and subsequently
in Phelps County, where Andrew J. was born. Andrew remained with the family
until his sixteenth year, and then came to Arkansas, and settled in Lawrence
County, where he has resided since. He was married on September 24, 1872, to
Miss Sarah Thomason, of North Carolina, a lady who has proven herself a devoted
wife and mother. After his marriage Mr. Stewart bought 120 acres of land, partly
cleared, and since then has added to it considerably, now owning some 520 acres
in three tracts, with perhaps 200 acres cleared. He has a good box house on one
place and a log house on each of the others, besides a good many improvements
having been done upon all of his land. Mr. Stewart's position in life is a good
example of what thrift, good management and common sense will do toward building
up a man's fortune, He first started in life with comparatively nothing, but by
the aid of those qualities has accumulated an independent competence, and is now
considered as one of the most substantial men of his county. He has a family of
four children: Fillmore I., James T., Jessie and Charles H.; and has lost one
child. Mrs. Stewart is a member of
the Old School Presbyterian Church, and takes an active interest in all matters pertaining to it.
Joseph Taylor was born in Lawrence County, Ark., January 28, 1823, his parents being William and Mary (Fortenberry) Taylor, whose respective [p.824] places of birth were Tennessee and Virginia . The father was born in East Tennessee, on Clinch River, near Kingston. The grandfather died at an early age, leaving a widow and two children, William and Nancy. His wife married a short time after the death of her husband. and William was compelled to leave home on account of the ill treatment of his stepfather. At the time. being about seventeen years of age and weighing only 104 pounds, he started for the West. He crossed the Mississippi River net far he low the month of the Ohio, and located in Cape Girardeau County. near the southern line. on a small stream called White Water. He was wholly illiterate, being unable to read. save a little. while to write his own name was an impossibility. He remained in this country until about the age of twenty-two, and having grown to be a reasonable sized man, he married. He was in this country in time of the earth's shaking and during the War of 1812. During this time his wife presented him two sons, Milledge and John- and about the year 1816 or 1817 be removed with his wife and family to Arkansas, and located in the woods. on the bank of Strawberry River. a very poor man. He succeeded in procuring lands. on which he erected a building and cleared a farm. and. following the occupation of farming and stock raising through life, he became a well-to-do man. After he settled here his wife bore four other sons James. Wesley. Joseph, and one that died soon after its birth. The mother died at the same time. leaving Joseph a little over two years of age. The father remained a widower about two years. and married a lady named Lear Williams. This wife became the mother of four children. Nancy, William. Eliga and Elie. The father died at about the age of fifty-five or fifty-six. leaving eight sons and one daughter, all of whom became grown. married and bad families, save one son, William, who died single at the age of twenty-two. Joseph was about seventeen years old when his father died. He remained with his step-mother one year, and then lived with his brother until twenty years of age. On November 7, 1843, he married Mary J. Hinderson. They lived together about three years. and she died. During this union they had a son born unto them, named William Alexander (after his grandfather). This son (without consent of his father), at the age of sixteen, joined the Southern army in the fall of 1861. and was killed at Atlanta. Ga. After the death of his wife. Mr. Taylor remained a widower about three years. leading a very reckless life, but, under the influence of his brothers. he was persuaded to marry a second wife. Martha A. Findley, November 7. 1860. This lady was a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. and a devoted Christian. Through the influence of his wife. Mr. Taylor made a profession of religion in September, 1853. The next morning he joined the church to which his wife belonged. Shortly after he was elected and ordained to the office of ruling elder of the Strawberry congregation, which office be has held to the present time. Mr. Taylor lived with his second wife about fourteen years, and she died. after having given birth to five children John W., Margret A., Sarah W., Melissa A., Matilda E. Mr. Taylor again married. a third time, the lady being a sister of his second wife, and the widow of J. M. Barnett. They had three sons. all of whom are living: Joseph G., Benjamin D. and George W. He lived with this wife about eighteen years, when she died. on the 31st of December. 1883. In 1887 he was married to the widow McHenry. who had one little daughter– Allis McHenry. who is now living with them. Mr. Taylor's present wife's maiden name was Crits. Her native State is Virginia. Mr. Taylor is the only one of this branch of the family now living. He is in his sixty sixth year. and lives at the Jack. Jacksonport Crossing. on Strawberry. a place within two miles of where he was born.
Thomas J. Thorn. farmer and stock raiser, was born in Bedford County. Tenn., December 25, 1837. His father. W. Thorn. was a native of North Carolina. who moved to the State of Tennessee, and was there married to Miss Penelope Crumple. of that State. After his marriage the elder Thorn settled on a farm in Bedford County, where he resided until his death. in 1856. His wife still survives him. and is a resident of Lawrence County. He served through the Seminole [p.825] War in Florida, and had never fully recovered from the exposure and hardships brought on while endeavoring to subdue this savage tribe. Thomas J. Thorn remained with his father until he had reached his maturity, and then started out to find his own fortune. In 1859 he settled in Oregon County, Mo., and one year later moved to Lawrence County. Ark. In 1861 he enlisted in the Confederate army, and after six months' active service was hardly wounded and discharged. He received his wound in the thigh, from a rifle ball, while engaged in a battle at Springfield. Mo., in 1861, and at that time was a member of Col. McBryant's division. Finding it impossible to fight any longer. he returned to Lawrence County. and, as time passed, and he was able to resume his farm work. he did so, and has been at that occupation ever since, with the exception of a short period, in which he did carpenter work. He sold out his farm and moved to Florida. in 1886, spending twelve months in that State. and. at the end of that time, returned to Lawrence County and bought the place upon which he now resides. He owns forty acres of fine land, and has about twenty-five acres under cultivation, with a comfortable house, barns and all necessary adjuncts. Mr. Thorn was first married, in Tennessee, to Miss Mary Bennett, who died in Arkansas. Two children are yet living by this wife and two deceased. His second marriage was in Randolph County, to Miss Rebecca Holt, who left five children at her death. He was married a third time to Mrs. Sarah Hatfield, a widow of Lawrence County. who is still living. Both Mr. and Mrs. Thorn are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. of which the former is a deacon, and are people who are held in the highest respect in their community.
George Thornburg. born in Havana, Mason County, Ill., January 25. 1847. moved to Smithville, Ark., in December. 1855. His educational facilities were meager. but used industriously. such as they were. He assisted J. N. Hillhouse for two sessions, and taught one session at New Hope. He began the study of law in 1867. with Col. Baber, and then in the law department of the Cumberland University, Lebanon. Tenn., in 1868. He was licensed to practice by Judge (afterward Governor) Baxter, and had charge of the circuit clerk's office from 1868 to 1870, during which time the county seat was moved to Clover Bend, and from there to Powhatan. He entered into mercantile business at Smithville, from 1870 to 1873, and in June, 1873, moved to Powhatan, where he began the practice of law in co-partnership with Col. Baber. This firm did a large and successful business until June, 1886, when Col. Thornburg withdrew to take charge of a newspaper at Walnut Ridge. He moved to Walnut Ridge, in July, 1886, and began the publication of the Telephone. The change from law to newspaper was not made from any pecuniary interest; but for the reason that journalism was more congenial to his taste. He was elected to the legislature as a Democrat, in 1870, but, after serving a month, his seat was contested, and the house being largely Republican, and politics being very bitter, he was ousted to give place to William B. Janes, who received less than one-fourth as many votes. He was re-elected to the legislature in 1872, and stood with the immortal minority in the house in 1873. In 1876 he was nominated by his county for the senate, but declined on account of business engagements. In 1880 he was forced by the demands of his party and friends to submit to an election to the legislature again, and was elected speaker for the house during the session of 1881. It is said of him, as it can be said of no other speaker of the Arkansas legislature, that none of his decisions were ever appealed. In 1884 he was again elected to the legislature. and was made chairman of the judiciary committee. In 1886 he was nominated by the State Wheel convention for secretary of State, but declined the nomination, because, as a Democrat. he could not accept any nomination that would antagonize the Democratic party. Since 1884 he has sought no political office, devoting his attention to his paper. He was appointed a colonel in the Arkansas militia, by Gov. Baxter, and again appointed by Gov. Garland. Col. Thornburg was made a Mason, in Smithville Lodge No. 29. in 1868. He served as Secretary of his lodge and Worshipful Master. He was made a Royal [p.826] Arch Mason, in 1870. in Pythagoras Chapter No. 34. held at Powhatan. This Chapter is now defunct. He was made a Sir Knight Mason in Hugh De Payne Commandery. at Little Rock. in 1871. He has been a delegate to every Grand Lodge and Grand Chapter from 1871 to the present time. He was Secretary of the Masonic Convention of 1873. which made the present constitution of the Grand Lodge. Elected Grand Orator of the Grand Lodge in 1874, in 1875 he made and de fended the famous minority report. which cut the Grand Lodge loose from supporting St. John's College. He was elected Grand Master of the Grand Lodge in 1878, and re-elected to the same position in 1879. In 1880 he was elected Deputy Grand Commander of Knights Templar. and elected Grand High Priest of the Grand Chapter. and in 1883 was elected Illustrious Grand Master of the Grand Council. He has delivered over twenty public addresses on Masonry, and is a permanent member of the committee on law of the Grand Lodge and Grand Chapter. He is now the special representative of the Grand Lodge of Georgia. the Grand Chapter of Illinois. and the Grand Orient of Spain. In July. 1886, he founded the Masonic Trowel, a paper devoted exclusively to Masonry. It has a large circulation throughout the State, and grows in favor with the craft. It has been adopted by the Grand Lodge as its official organ. Mr. Thornburg is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. South. and has been steward continuously since 1876. also Sunday school superintendent for sixteen years. He is the only layman in the Southern Methodist Church who is secretary of an annual conference, and he has the honor of being the author of the system of reports now used throughout the church. Prior to 1886 the church had no uniform plan or system of reporting. Mr. Thornburg arranged a system for the conference, of which he was secretary. This form was so complete and systematic that Bishop McTyeire urged its adoption by the general conference, and it is now the only form allowed to be used in the Methodist Episcopal Church. South. Mr. Thornburg is a strong temperance advocate, a supporter of the free school system and a conservative. but straight Democrat. In the newspaper fraternity be stands high. having been selected as orator the year before last. and vice president last year He has. perhaps, delivered more addresses on Masonic. Sunday school and miscellaneous occasions than any man in North Arkansas. In September, 1868. Col. Thornburg was married to Miss M. C. Self. a daughter of J. M. Self, a physician and Methodist local preacher. He has a pleasant home. is surrounded by an interesting family. and enjoys a quiet life with his wife, children and flowers.
Judge William A. Townsend, one of Arkansas' most respected citizens. is a native of Alabama, where he was born in Franklin County in the year 1853. He is a son of John W. and Mary L. Weatherford Townsend. the former of Illinois and the latter from Alabama. The elder Townsend was reared and received his education in Alabama. where he also practiced medicine, and was, in his day, a prominent physician of that State. About the year 1855 he moved to Arkansas and settled near Smithville. where he began the practice of law. He lost his wife a year later, and returned to Alabama. where he remained until 1863. He again came back to Arkansas, and located in Lawrence County. where he resided and was ordained a minister of the Baptist Church in 1870, serving until his death. in January. 1878. Judge W. A. Townsend is the second child in the family. He came to Arkansas when very young, and was reared in Lawrence County, where he was educated. He was taught principally at the home schools. and was an apt and attentive scholar, though the higher branches of education were out of his reach. on account of the poor facilities offered at the time. He afterward taught school himself for three years. but in 1878. bought out an established business in Smithville. and has been actively engaged in mercantile affairs since then. He carries one of the largest and most complete stocks of merchandise in Lawrence County. and has built up a reputation for fair dealing and honest goods second to none in the State. This fact has brought him a trade of $15,000 a year, which is still growing. In 1876 Mr. Townsend was elected [p.827] assessor, and served one term, and in 1878 he was elected sheriff and collector, and served one term. In 1884 he was elected county judge, and in 1888 was again chosen to fill that office. He also had charge of the postoffice at Smithville in 1878-79. Judge Townsend was married in Independence County October 31, 1880, to Miss Belle Toler, a daughter of J. B. Toler, and this marriage has given them three children: Neva. Roy and Mary, whose bright faces and childish voices are a great source of happiness to the parents. Judge Townsend belongs to the Masonic order, and is a Master Mason. He is held in high regard by the entire community, and is a man of irreproachable honor. While performing his judicial functions. he gained a reputation for the fairness of his decisions, and the justness with which he wielded the law irrespective of party, creed or color.
Francis M. Wayland, of the firm of James & Wayland. dealers in general merchandise, is another name that will be remembered for years to come as belonging to a public-spirited and progressive man of this community. He was born in Lawrence County October 7. 1846, and is a son of Rev. Jonathan Wayland, of Virginia, a noted preacher of that period. who came to Arkansas in 1815, and settled in what is now Lawrence County. with his father. Nevil Wayland. Grandfather Wayland died soon after his arrival in Arkansas, and Jonathan was thrown on his own resources; but though the prospects ahead of him at the time were very dark, he was never daunted in the least, and through the troubles and privations of his early life he grew to manhood with the proud consciousness of having overcome all obstacles that had been thrown in his path. He was married in Lawrence County. to Miss Amy A. Eddy. of Indiana, whose parents were among the pioneers of Arkansas, and located with his wife on a farm near Powhatan, where he resided until his death. He was a noted minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in that section. and his sermons were often the occasion for drawing hundreds of people from the surrounding country. His loving and faithful wife died about the year 1870, some fifteen years before his own death, leaving besides her husband, two sons and a daughter to mourn her. The eldest of these children was Francis M. Wayland, who remained with his father until he reached his majority. He received a good education at the common schools of Lawrence County, supplemented by a course of study at the Academy High School, of Iron County, Mo. When through with his schooling he commenced teaching in Lawrence County, and continued at it until induced by the offer of a lucrative position at Powhatan, to go to that city. In 1879 he entered into mercantile life on his own responsibility, and his enterprise, honesty in all transactions and untiring energy have built up for him a large and well established business. This firm carry one of the largest and best selected stocks of general merchandise in Lawrence County, besides dealing in lumber, and operating a cypress shingle mill, having a capacity of 80,000 per day. They do a business of $60,000 annually, with the different branches combined, and are well and favorably known throughout the entire county. In the month of October, 1868, Mr. Wayland was united in marriage to Miss Sarah E. Matthews, of Georgia, and this happy union has given them three children: Charles M., assisting in his father's business, Katie and Nettie. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. South, and Mr. Wayland is superintendent of the Sabbath school, a position he has held for the past five years. He is also a Royal Arch Mason, and is Warden of his lodge. Mr. Wayland is one of those men who can look back from his assured and substantial position in the world to that time when, as a young man struggling through life with nothing but a stout heart and an honest character to sustain him, he fought his way upward. like the hero of Longfellow's Excelsior, never stopping until he had reached the summit of his ambition. His career has been one that can be pointed out as an example for the younger generation to follow, in order to be placed upon as solid a foundation, and it is of such men the nation should be composed, in order to draw the admiration of the world upon us.
John P. Webb was born and raised on a farm in Coffee County, Tenn. His parents, John B. [p.828] and Mary (Pearson) Webb. were natives of the same State, who moved to Arkansas in the fall of 1858, and settled at a point seven miles west of Powhatan, where they continued to reside until the death of Mr. Webb's father in 1865. two years before the mother. Mr. Webb is the seventh of ten children, all of whom lived until their maturity, when four have since died. He remained on the farm with his parents until the disruption of the North and South, and gave up the plow and rake for the more deadly implements of war. In 1862 he enlisted with Newton's regiment of cavalry. and thereafter fought on several battlefields before the surrender. He took part in the battles of Helena and Alexandria on the Red River, and also at Little Rock. and was one of the followers of Gen. Price on his raids through Missouri. After the war had ended, he once more sought the peace of his home, and remained with his mother on the farm until his marriage, in the fall of 1866. He then located near the home place, where he resided until 1882. when he removed to Black River Bottom, near their present home. Here he put his energies into saw-milling for three years, and after that venture engaged in cotton ginning. He moved to his present home in 1887, and commenced farming and has also established a thriving business in general merchandise. Mr. Webb was married to Miss Asenath Denton, of Tennessee, who died in 1871 after a happy wedded life, leaving seven children to mourn a mother's loss. Since then three of them have died. He was married a second time to Miss Rebecca Johnson, a young lady also from the State of Tennessee, who is now the mother of three children. The names of those by his first wife are William F., Charles (deceased). Wiley J., John R., Chesley N., Mary (deceased) and Harvey (deceased). The children by his second marriage are Henry P., Matilda and Elisabeth. Mr. Webb and his wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church, of which Mr. Webb is a deacon. He has also been a member of Dry Creek Lodge No. 453, A. F. & A. M., for the past sixteen years, but was a member of Rock Care Lodge No. 347, this county, when Dry Creek Lodge was organized in 1886. Mr. Webb is a generous, public spirited citizen, and one of the foremost to assist in pushing his county to the front. He takes an interest in all public and private enterprises, and is one of this section's most valued citizens.
John H. S. Weir, a well-known resident of Dent Township was born in North Carolina in 1842. The parents of Mr. Weir moved west, and settled in Arkansas in 1845, locating at Old Jackson, December 24. From there they moved to a point in Black River Township, where they have resided since 1846. James A. Weir, the father, has been one of the foremost citizens of this county, and a leading spirit in its affairs. He is one of the best posted men in Northeastern Arkansas, and now, after a busy and useful life, is living quietly with his children. The mother died, May 23, 1885. a firm believer in the Seceder Church. Out of eight children six are living. The first four born were twins. Mr. Weir came to Arkansas with his parents when three years old, and has always remained in that State, excepting the time he spent in the late war. In 1862 he enlisted in Wells company, and soon afterward was discharged. He re-enlisted in R. C. Newton's Cavalry Regiment. of Little Rock, Ark., and served until 1865, when he was paroled in Drew County. He took part in the battles at Mark's Mill and Poison Springs, in this State, but was principally sent out on skirmish duty. After the war he returned home, and worked on the farm until 1867. when he accepted a position with William Jones, of Powhatan, who owned a general merchandise store, which was then sold to the firm of Stuart, Cravens & Balfour. On leaving the above business Mr. Weir entered school, where he studied diligently for ten months. At the end of his student days he met and married Miss Thirsey J. Moore, a daughter of Robert W. Moore, of Tennessee, who came to Arkansas in 1832, with his mother and stepfather. Mr. Moore was a representative citizen of this county in his day, and one of its most popular men. He died at the age of sixty-six years. When Mr. Weir first purchased his present place it was heavily covered with timber, but since that time he has put upwards of seventy-five acres under cultivation, all of which has been done by the labor of his own hands. His mother-in-law is still living, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, which she has attended ever since her girlhood. She was born near Huntsville, Ala., in the year 1819, and her first marriage was with Hezekiah Darter, of Virginia, by whom she had one child, Charlotte Mr. Weir and his wife have had seven children, two of them deceased. Their names are: Margaret E. (wife of Henry H. Rainwater), Robert S., Mary L., Burett S., Moses N., Clay C. and Laura B. They are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and are zealous workers. Mr. Weir has been one of the school directors for a number of years, and is an active leader in public and private enterprises.
George F. Weir, of Imboden, Lawrence County, was born in this county, in 1846. He is the son of James A. and Elisabeth (Sloan) Weir, who were among the earlier settlers of this State, locating here in the year 1845. Mr. Weir was born and reared on a farm, and remained at home until his twenty-fifth year, when he enlisted in the Confederate army in 1863, under Capt. Butler, and served until peace was established. He was one of the foremost in the raids through Missouri, under Gen. Price, and was engaged in some of the hottest work of that time. After the war was over he returned to his home, and has since followed the occupation of a farmer. He was married, in 1871, to Miss Martha J. Smith, but lost his wife in December, 1884; she had been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, for fifteen years. Six children were born to them–all of them living: Margaret R., James F., William H., George R., Julia E. and Lenora L. Mr. Weir's second marriage was with Mrs. Charlotte Nation. They have one child, a stepdaughter of Mr. Weir's, Ella V. Nation, and Mrs. Weir has one daughter married, Mrs. John Starr, residing in Dent Township. Mrs. Weir is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. Weir is a Democrat. He has upwards of 100 acres of land under cultivation, and can be counted as one of the successful men of this county.
Burett S. Weir, postmaster, of the firm of Weir & Matthews, is a native of Arkansas, and was born in Lawrence County, on the 21st day of December, 1856. He is the son of James A. and Sarah E. (Sloan) Weir, both of North Carolina, who moved west and settled in Arkansas in 1845, locating at Old Jackson, in what is now known as Randolph County. From there he moved seven miles south, now in Lawrence County, where Mr. Weir established a home for his family, and lived until the death of his wife, in 1885. Mr. Weir, the elder, served with distinction through the late war, holding the rank of first lieutenant, and took an active part in that portion of our country's history. After remaining with his father until he reached the age of twenty-eight years, Mr. Weir started upon a career of his own. He received the greater part of his education from the public schools, and is a self made man in the true sense of that phrase, being a strong representative of what pluck and perseverance will do. On the 7th of June, 1883, he was united in marriage to Miss Eudora Perry, daughter of William and Elisabeth Perry, and removed to Black Rock, where he occupied a position of trust in a general store. In 1885 he entered into the grocery business on his own account, and continued in that business until 1889, when the present firm of Weir & Matthews was organized. Mr. Weir has held several local positions, and was appointed postmaster of Black Rock on the 14th of December, 1888, but has had charge of all business connected with the postoffice since it was established in 1884. He is a member of the Knights of Honor and holds the office of Past Dictator.
Dr. John R. Wells, a successful and well-known physician and surgeon of Powhatan, comes from a family of Arkansas pioneers. He was born in Lawrence County, Ark., September 5, 1838, and is a son of G. W. Wells, of the same State, whose father was one of its earliest settlers, coming here in the year 1807, and locating at what is now known as Ravenden Junction, in Lawrence County. G. W. Wells grew to manhood, and was married, in what is now Lawrence County, his wife being Miss Nettie Stubblefield, of Cape Girardeau County, Mo., whose father C. S. Stubblefield, was [p.830] also one of the pioneers of this State, and represented Lawrence County at an early day. After his marriage Mr. Wells settled on a farm across the river, in this county, where he resided until his death, in 1840. He was a farmer and stock dealer, and shipped his stock to the Southern markets. His wife died in 1887, at the age of seventy-five years, after rearing her family with all the care of a gentle Christian mother. Dr. Wells grew to maturity on the farm at home, and received a good common school education. He subsequently attended college for two years, at Springfield, Tenn., and in 1857 began the study of medicine at Jacksonport, Ark., under the care of Drs. Kirkwood and Matlock, both noted physicians of that period. He took his first course of lectures at the Memphis Medical College, in 1858-59, and the following year completed his course at the University of Louisiana, one of the most celebrated schools of medicine in the South. He graduated from the latter place, in the spring of 1860, and came to Powhatan, where he commenced to practice his profession. Dr. Wells has kept unceasingly at his practice, from the time of obtaining his diploma, to the present day, excepting the period when he enlisted in the Confederate army during the war. He entered as a private, in the First Arkansas Regiment of Riflemen, but was soon after detailed as steward on the medical staff. In 1862 a new company was organized, of which he was made captain and assistant surgeon, and in that capacity served in Col. Baber's regiment until the close of the war. When the war was over, he returned home and resumed his practice, and has succeeded in building up a reputation in that section that is second to none. The Doctor was married, November 24, 1864, to Miss Nettie Stuart, of this county, a daughter of C. F. Stuart, and now has a family of five children: Laura G. W., John L., Ada, and Frank Stuart, besides three children, who died in infancy. Dr. Wells and his wife are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Doctor is a member of the Masonic order, being a Master Mason.
Frederick W. Westphal, the leading butcher of Walnut Ridge, was born in Pomvaigne, Germany, November 7, 1844. He learned the tanner's trade in his native country, and in 1869 came to Baltimore, Md. Mr. Westphal was desirous of seeing something of the country of his adoption, and shortly after his arrival at Baltimore, he went to Illinois, and thence to La Porte, Ind., where he settled down for awhile, and worked on a farm. He then came to Chicago and worked at his trade, and afterward moved to Effingham, Ill., where he remained three months. His next visit was made to St. Louis, in the spring of 1878, and from there he came to the then small village of Walnut Ridge. In the second year of his arrival, he bought 160 acres of land, and has since that time homesteaded 160 more. He has also purchased enough additional land to make in the aggregate 420 acres. His homestead is three miles due west of Walnut Ridge, and has on it a fine fruit orchard, and at least 125 acres under cultivation. In the fall of 1887 he started in the meat business, and has succeeded in building up a good trade. He is a member of the Knights and Ladies of Honor, and Odd Fellows, and also of the Protestant German Church. Mr. Westphal has always remained a bachelor, as the lady has not yet appeared to capture his heart. His mother resided with him until her death, January 5, 1887. He is a much respected citizen.
Samuel Williams was born in Lawrence County, in 1845, and was reared in the same county. He is the son of James and Sally (Rose) Williams, also natives of this State. Mr. Williams lost his mother when still very young, and his father died in the year 1883, leaving two children to survive them: Samuel Williams, and his sister Leah, the wife of George W. Goodwin, but now deceased. The father married again after the death of his first wife, his second bride being a sister to the first. This union gave them five children – three of them now dead, and those living are Margaret and Nancy, who are both married. Mr. Williams reached his maturity in this county, and, in fact, has resided here ever since. He is a man of liberal ideas, and has traveled extensively through the South, but, in the face of all his wanderings, still believes there is no place like home. He was [p.831] a gallant soldier during the war, and did some excellent work in Coleman's regiment, which, as the advance guard, always brought on the engagement. He escaped without injury, the closest call he ever had being at Kansas City, where his horse was shot from under him. He surrendered at Jacksonport, June, 1865, and then returned home, where he commenced farming and trading in stock. In 1872 he was married to Miss Sally Brandon, of Tennessee, who came to Arkansas, a girl of eight years, with her parents. Mr. Williams and his wife have had eight children, three of them now dead. Those living are: Rebecca, Ashley, Clay, Roxien, William. The children who have died are Addie, George, and James Lacy. He and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, and are strong adherents to its teachings. Mr. Williams has eighty acres of fine land under cultivation which is the work of his own hands, besides 180 acres of timbered land, in all 260 acres. He is a Democrat.
John E. Willmuth, elder of the Baptist Church at Hazel Grove, was born in Graves County, Ky., in the year 1840. He is the son of Edmund and Mary (Edwards) Willmuth, of Tennessee, who lived in that State until their marriage, and from there moved to Kentucky. Edmund Willmuth gave the greater portion of his attention to farming, but was also a carpenter by trade, and sometimes worked at shoemaking. He died when his son, John E. Willmuth, was a child, and his wife survived him but a few years after, consequently, young John knew but little of parental authority. This couple had ten children born to them, nine of them living until they had reached maturity, and four yet remaining. John E. continued on the homestead until his twenty-third year, and then married and located on a farm of his own. Since then he has always lived within a radius of three miles from his present home. In 1861 he enlisted in the Confederate army, becoming a member of Harrington's company, in McCarver's regiment, and served two months. His wife was Miss Lucinda Campbell, of Tennessee, a daughter of Alex. Campbell, a native of that State, and their marriage has been blessed with seven children, namely: William R., Sidney G., George W., Lawrence F., John W., Henry C. and Mary E. All of them are single, and reside with their parents, making one of the happiest homes in Arkansas. Elder Willmuth and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, and are among the most faithful workers in the fold. He has a splendid farm, and is the owner of a cotton-gin, built in 1887, that ginned some 269 bales of cotton the following year. He is a man of sound common sense, whose word is always considered as good as his bond, and possesses the qualities that go to make up a valued and influential citizen.
Updated 17 Nov 2012