Beebe Junior Agri College Graduation of 1932


(The following is a newspaper clipping from the scrapbook of Estella Rice of Beebe, dated 1932, courtesy of her niece Mary Reynolds of North Little Rock, a member of the White County Historical Society.)


College Closed Friday Night


The commencement program for the [Beebe] Junior Agricultural College was presented Friday night at the Grammar school auditorium to a large audience.  Following the imposing processional, led by Miss Imogene Westbrook and DeWitt Henry, the 41 graduates were seated in a semicircle on the stage, and the salutatory was given by Miss Marjorie Hawes.  Prof. J.T. McGill in a few well chosen remarks then introduced Judge John C. Ashley of Melbourne, who had been asked to give the address to the class.  His entire speech was enjoyed by everyone in the large audience….  He mainly stressed honesty, sincerity and perseverance… The diplomas were presented by Prof. McGill, assisted by Miss Fern Cowan, immediately after which Miss Cowan was presented with a beautiful arm bouquet of white and red roses.  The recessional was led by Miss Mary Havener and David Baldwin.  Following are the names of the graduates of the class of 1932:  Lorene Albert, Odelle Baldwin, Albertine Smoot Berry, L.D. Burns, Velma Corpier, Charley Fisher, Luther S. Gartrell Jr., J.T. Gilliam, Marjorie M. Hawes, George R. Hopps, Laverne Jenkins, Annabel Miller, Paul E. Miller, Al Northcutt, Geneva Powers, Mildred Rainey, William Reinhardt Jr., Dora E. Riggs, Walter E. Roberson, Violet M. Rogers, Robert Lee Warren, Owen Westbrook, Ruby Baker, Clyde Belew, Betha Bevill, Bluford Chaney, Leslie S. Cross, Pauline Freeman, Dennis Gilliam, Ina E. Haggard, Opal Hester, Homer E. Howard, Robert C. Krieg, Corrine Miller, Woodrow W. Nelson, Robert S. Olmstead, Marguerite Price, Robert A. Rainey, Estella Rice, Beulah Roberson, Kathleen Rogers, Helen Strayhorn and C.G. Riggins.