Vital Records of Mississippi County

to home page

Mississippi County Courthouse
200 W. Walnut St.
Blytheville, AR  72315
(870) 762-2411
Types of Records:  property tax, real estate tax, deeds, adoption and levy tax records.

Mississippi County Courthouse
200 West Hale
Osceola, AR  72370

Division of Vital Records
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR  72201
Call for costs  (870) 661-2336
They currently have birth and death records since February 1914, marriage records since 1917, and divorce records since 1923.  Some Little Rock and Fort Smith records are available from 1881.

According to the Eighth Edition of the Handy Book for Genealogists by Everton Publishers, the following records for Mississippi County are available:  County Clerk has marriage records from 1850 and probate from 1865.  Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and civil court records from 1866 and individual records from 1865.

Very few of the Mississippi County records have been microfilmed.

Marriage records are available in Mississippi County to before 1871, although the books they are in are deteriorating.  There is also an index for brides and for grooms.  Records before 1900 are located at the Osceola courthouse and those after 1900 are at the Blytheville courthouse. Marriages are also available on  microfilm  through the LDS church.