What is now Mississippi County once formed a part of Arkansas County, then of Phillips and next of Crittenden, and was finally erected into a separate county by the Territorial legislature November 1, 1833. It was named for the Mississippi River which forms the entire eastern boundary.

The City of Osceola was the original county seat. The County became a dual seat by Act 81 of 1901. This Act divided Mississippi County into Judicial Districts, the Osceola District and the Chickasawba District. The Blytheville Court House was first erected in 1902. In 1919, the present Blytheville Court House was erected.

Surrounding Counties
Adoptable - County Coordinator
Betsy Mills - ARGenWeb State Coordinator,
Jeff Kemp - ARGenWeb Asst. State Coordinator,
Gina Heffernan - ARGenWeb Archives Project Coordinator

To Adopt An Arkansas County  - please click here

To contribute to this web site please click here
site search by freefind advanced

You are our 115808 visitor! Since August 3, 1998

Any copyrighted material on these pages is used in "fair use", for the purpose of study, review or critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of copyright owner(s) All rights reserved. The information on these pages may be used for non-commercial educational use by individuals, genealogical societies and libraries, however, commercial use of this information is prohibited without prior permission.  This message must appear on all copied information. Links to sites that are not part of the USGenWeb Project are provided for your convenience and do not imply any endorsement of the sites or their contents by the USGenWeb Project or its members. Neither the USGenWeb Project nor its members are responsible for the contents of any "third party" site which you may access from a link on this page.
Last Edited 02/01/18